31 Reviews

Delicious! Loved the flavors. Omitted the salt (personal preference). Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews December 15, 2009

The whole gang scarfed these right up! I might have to double it next time so I can have some leftovers for work!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChewieJacuBeau August 13, 2009

These were terrific. I had a bit of a problem in that when I opened my tortilla package all the tortillas had a tear across them. Made for hard rolling, hence the not so pretty picture. However, once cooked they were great. Loved the salsa that goes with them too. Thanks Breezermom. Made for ZWT5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jackie #6 May 28, 2009

These were yummy! I did make a few changes: first, I just used warm tortillas--to reduce cooking time & calories a bit (I do this with all baked enchiladas); I divided the sauce (made w/ homemade stock) in two before adding the chiles and I added them only to 1 half, for the kids; I skipped the onions- taste preference; and lastly I cooked these in the microwave to make them quick. The whole family loved them! Thank you breezermom! Made for the Dining Daredevils & ZWT 5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mami J May 14, 2009

5 stars breezermom! This was really a great enchilada recipe. I used jalapeno-cheese wraps (they are so good) and I also added a can of hot enchilada sauce to your sour cream sauce to give it a little extra punch. Added to my cookbook for family dinners.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jayme D May 08, 2009

This recipe was really easy to put together,and tastes GREAT! I used homemade stock for the sauce,skipped the water,and used well drained preserved home-grown chillies.It was quite delicious..it had a nice depth of heat without being over spicy,and really creamy. I also used flour tortillas (what I had!). We really enjoyed this,Breezer,thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo April 23, 2009

The sauce for these is very very good and the recipe went together very easy, the critic in this house gave a grunt and nod while eating (which equates to a five star). I did adjust the filling by adding oregano and cayene pepper to the chicken. I thought the can in the pantry was jalapenos, but instead it was diced green chillis so I used those (next time I will be sure to have jalapenos on hand). I used flour tortillas as a personal preference and did not fry them just warmed them up over the stove flame and filled, then rolled. This is a good recipe for using up that Thanksgiving Turkey, or any leftover chicken. I fixed these enchiladas with Spanish Rice and a salad. I will fix this again! Thank you for posting. breezermom.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
:)Shirl(: April 10, 2009

Made these without using the onions. The sauce is WONDERFUL! I also did not top with the tomato mixture.I also added some chili powder to the chicken when I rolled the tortillas. ALso used 2 cups of chopped chicken. Great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Z,G,L's mom April 07, 2009

The sauce for theclear starsse enchiladas was wonderful! I did not use jalapenos, I used green chilis, but other than that I made the recipe as written. We really enjoyed these! Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katchick April 05, 2009

I bought a roaster chicken at Market Basket and brought it home, and decided to make this as I have been craving Mexican again! This was easy to prepare and I couldn't get enough! I used 1 can of canned chilies instead of the jalapenos, and whole wheat tortillas instead of the corn. We enjoyed them a lot and I was told my my friends picky hubby that I can make them again anytime :) So I will!!! Thank you for sharing this with us Breezermom! Linda

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda's Busy Kitchen January 02, 2009
Chicken Enchiladas With Sour Cream Sauce