Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Enchiladas With Sour Cream Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Enchiladas With Sour Cream Sauce

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on November 05, 2009

      This was a great lunch for me!!! I made 1/3 of recipe and used leftover store bought rotisserie chicken for the meat. Followed the recipe with the exception of using flour tortillas and when I topped the casserole, I used a mix of cheddar and monterey jack cheeses to add some color. I was tempted to pre-cook the onions, but didn't, and next time I definitely would, as they were still a little crunchy after baking, but that is the only thing I would change. Made for Stars Tag. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      Really enjoyed this and will definitely make again soon. I heated the tortillas in microwave (wrapped in paper towels that have been moistened) for about 30 seconds--saves time and calories. Great hit with husband too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2014

      This was really good. I used leftover chicken from dinner last night and followed the rest of the directions precisely. This was very quick and really easy. The canned jalapenos made this a little bit spicier than the kids can handle, so next time I will use fresh jalapenos because they seem to add less spice when I use them. This will definitely be something I make to use up leftover chicken often. Thank you for another great recipe breezermom! Made for PAC Spring 2014.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2014

      I loved these enchiladas! I did have a problem because I decided to double the recipe......the first pan was 9 x 13 and the 2nd a little larger. The first pan was wonderful but the 2nd one was too dry on top and not so good leftover. I've never been good at guessing measurements and I probably didn't leave enough sauce for the top of the enchiladas. I probably spread too much sauce in the bottom of the pan......I would recommend a very thin layer for anyone trying it out. I left out the jalapenos but did use some pepperjack cheese in the dish. I would highly recommend this dish but next time I'll just make one recipe. Thanks for posting. Made for Football Pool 2013.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2013

      Made this for my wife and mother-in-law. Came out very good. Next time I make this dish, I will season the chicken with Mexican spices prior to cooking the chicken. I added salt to the sauce. Really enhanced the flavor. I will also make more white sauce just so I have some for the leftovers. I covered the dish with aluminum foil after it was 3/4 through cooking to prevent the cheese from browning too much.This dish is good served as is or to enhance and experiment with experiment with. It is also good as a leftover. Thanks for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2012

      I enjoyed the simple clean taste of this enchilada. Aluminum foil was tented over the top of the baking dish, to prevent the drying out of the tortillas. Removed foil after the 20 minutes, topped cheese and returned to oven uncovered for 5 minutes. Topped with the salsa. Made for a very delicious evening meal. Made for Please Review My Recipe 2012

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      Oh my gosh! I expected this to be great from the reviews but it was even better than I had expected. I had leftover roast chicken that I used and followed diner's thought about pre-cooking the onions, mainly for DH, and that worked beautifully. The flavor is rich and delicious and served with a salad it made a wonderful meal. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2011

      For the sauce I used butter which gave a wonderful rich taste to the sauce. I'm used to enchiladas with red enchilada sauce. It was a nice change. Very yummy. I didn't fry the tortillas. Thanks Lynette :) Made for Photo tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2011

      This was great. I loved that there's no "cream of" anything in it. Very easy to put togethe and reasonably quick, so good weeknight fair. I made as directed, except used fat-free sour cream. DH and DD have "sensitive" pallets so I used green chili's in the sauce and the relish then added a dash ot hot sauce to my plate at the table. I will be making these often. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2010

      Loved it! I'd give it 5 stars but my wife out voted me. I used a small can of mild chilies instead of jalapeno peppers and sauteed the onions before adding. I only had 10 flour tortillas on hand and it was plenty. We will definitely be making this again! The tortillas starting getting burnt on the exposed edges - just watch it carefully(:

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      Delicious! Loved the flavors. Omitted the salt (personal preference). Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      The whole gang scarfed these right up! I might have to double it next time so I can have some leftovers for work!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      These were terrific. I had a bit of a problem in that when I opened my tortilla package all the tortillas had a tear across them. Made for hard rolling, hence the not so pretty picture. However, once cooked they were great. Loved the salsa that goes with them too. Thanks Breezermom. Made for ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      These were yummy! I did make a few changes: first, I just used warm tortillas--to reduce cooking time & calories a bit (I do this with all baked enchiladas); I divided the sauce (made w/ homemade stock) in two before adding the chiles and I added them only to 1 half, for the kids; I skipped the onions- taste preference; and lastly I cooked these in the microwave to make them quick. The whole family loved them! Thank you breezermom! Made for the Dining Daredevils & ZWT 5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2009

      5 stars breezermom! This was really a great enchilada recipe. I used jalapeno-cheese wraps (they are so good) and I also added a can of hot enchilada sauce to your sour cream sauce to give it a little extra punch. Added to my cookbook for family dinners.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2009

      This recipe was really easy to put together,and tastes GREAT! I used homemade stock for the sauce,skipped the water,and used well drained preserved home-grown chillies.It was quite delicious..it had a nice depth of heat without being over spicy,and really creamy. I also used flour tortillas (what I had!). We really enjoyed this,Breezer,thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2009

      The sauce for these is very very good and the recipe went together very easy, the critic in this house gave a grunt and nod while eating (which equates to a five star). I did adjust the filling by adding oregano and cayene pepper to the chicken. I thought the can in the pantry was jalapenos, but instead it was diced green chillis so I used those (next time I will be sure to have jalapenos on hand). I used flour tortillas as a personal preference and did not fry them just warmed them up over the stove flame and filled, then rolled. This is a good recipe for using up that Thanksgiving Turkey, or any leftover chicken. I fixed these enchiladas with Spanish Rice and a salad. I will fix this again! Thank you for posting. breezermom.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      Made these without using the onions. The sauce is WONDERFUL! I also did not top with the tomato mixture.I also added some chili powder to the chicken when I rolled the tortillas. ALso used 2 cups of chopped chicken. Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      The sauce for theclear starsse enchiladas was wonderful! I did not use jalapenos, I used green chilis, but other than that I made the recipe as written. We really enjoyed these! Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      I bought a roaster chicken at Market Basket and brought it home, and decided to make this as I have been craving Mexican again! This was easy to prepare and I couldn't get enough! I used 1 can of canned chilies instead of the jalapenos, and whole wheat tortillas instead of the corn. We enjoyed them a lot and I was told my my friends picky hubby that I can make them again anytime :) So I will!!! Thank you for sharing this with us Breezermom! Linda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Enchiladas With Sour Cream Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (346 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 516.1
     
    Calories from Fat 299
    58%
    Total Fat 33.3 g
    51%
    Saturated Fat 19.2 g
    96%
    Cholesterol 100.4 mg
    33%
    Sodium 1028.0 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.5 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 4.5 g
    18%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 23.4 g
    46%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites