31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a great lunch for me!!! I made 1/3 of recipe and used leftover store bought rotisserie chicken for the meat. Followed the recipe with the exception of using flour tortillas and when I topped the casserole, I used a mix of cheddar and monterey jack cheeses to add some color. I was tempted to pre-cook the onions, but didn't, and next time I definitely would, as they were still a little crunchy after baking, but that is the only thing I would change. Made for Stars Tag. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 November 05, 2009

Really enjoyed this and will definitely make again soon. I heated the tortillas in microwave (wrapped in paper towels that have been moistened) for about 30 seconds--saves time and calories. Great hit with husband too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GypsyAnn May 30, 2009

This was really good. I used leftover chicken from dinner last night and followed the rest of the directions precisely. This was very quick and really easy. The canned jalapenos made this a little bit spicier than the kids can handle, so next time I will use fresh jalapenos because they seem to add less spice when I use them. This will definitely be something I make to use up leftover chicken often. Thank you for another great recipe breezermom! Made for PAC Spring 2014.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElizabethKnicely April 29, 2014

I loved these enchiladas! I did have a problem because I decided to double the recipe......the first pan was 9 x 13 and the 2nd a little larger. The first pan was wonderful but the 2nd one was too dry on top and not so good leftover. I've never been good at guessing measurements and I probably didn't leave enough sauce for the top of the enchiladas. I probably spread too much sauce in the bottom of the pan......I would recommend a very thin layer for anyone trying it out. I left out the jalapenos but did use some pepperjack cheese in the dish. I would highly recommend this dish but next time I'll just make one recipe. Thanks for posting. Made for Football Pool 2013.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
linguinelisa January 01, 2014

Made this for my wife and mother-in-law. Came out very good. Next time I make this dish, I will season the chicken with Mexican spices prior to cooking the chicken. I added salt to the sauce. Really enhanced the flavor. I will also make more white sauce just so I have some for the leftovers. I covered the dish with aluminum foil after it was 3/4 through cooking to prevent the cheese from browning too much.This dish is good served as is or to enhance and experiment with experiment with. It is also good as a leftover. Thanks for sharing this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gooch7 July 08, 2013

I enjoyed the simple clean taste of this enchilada. Aluminum foil was tented over the top of the baking dish, to prevent the drying out of the tortillas. Removed foil after the 20 minutes, topped cheese and returned to oven uncovered for 5 minutes. Topped with the salsa. Made for a very delicious evening meal. Made for Please Review My Recipe 2012

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J May 24, 2012

Oh my gosh! I expected this to be great from the reviews but it was even better than I had expected. I had leftover roast chicken that I used and followed diner's thought about pre-cooking the onions, mainly for DH, and that worked beautifully. The flavor is rich and delicious and served with a salad it made a wonderful meal. :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia January 30, 2012

For the sauce I used butter which gave a wonderful rich taste to the sauce. I'm used to enchiladas with red enchilada sauce. It was a nice change. Very yummy. I didn't fry the tortillas. Thanks Lynette :) Made for Photo tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette November 07, 2011

This was great. I loved that there's no "cream of" anything in it. Very easy to put togethe and reasonably quick, so good weeknight fair. I made as directed, except used fat-free sour cream. DH and DD have "sensitive" pallets so I used green chili's in the sauce and the relish then added a dash ot hot sauce to my plate at the table. I will be making these often. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsSally July 26, 2011

Loved it! I'd give it 5 stars but my wife out voted me. I used a small can of mild chilies instead of jalapeno peppers and sauteed the onions before adding. I only had 10 flour tortillas on hand and it was plenty. We will definitely be making this again! The tortillas starting getting burnt on the exposed edges - just watch it carefully(:

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Busydaddy February 05, 2010
Chicken Enchiladas With Sour Cream Sauce