8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I loved it but my husband hated it...he likes the ones with the creamy fillings...I thought it had so much flavor and really didn't have any fat! I used flour tortillas though which I like much better than the corn ones!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikki S May 03, 2009

We really enjoyed these chicken enchiladas. These are very different than the enchiladas I usually make and were a nice change of pace. I reduced the cayenne pepper sauce to 1 tsp. so that my family would eat them and not be too spicy. Also, I added 1-2 tsp. of cumin to the sauce to give it a little more flavor. When rolling the enchiladas, I added some of the cheese with the chicken filling into each tortilla. The cinnamon is subtle, but adds its distinctive flavor to the sauce. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe. *Made for And the Secret Ingredient is... tag game*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bayhill January 12, 2009

I just made this, and while I thought that the chicken was delicious, I think I will change the sauce next time. I thought the cinnamon was too much, so I will probably use the rest of the can of tomato paste, mix it with 2 cups of the broth and add the cayenne and chili powder to that. I think that will make a more flavorful, less sweet sauce. I also used only about 1 1/2 cups of reduced-fat cheddar cheese to save fat and calories.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awestevez September 29, 2008

I love this recipe. My only complaint is that it can take a while to prepare. I usually cook a lot extra and freeze the chicken filing and sauce separately, then just heat up in a pot on the stove when we want it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Adam Swann January 11, 2008

Excellent recipe! I agree that the cinnamon makes the sauce. Very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RatInHat November 13, 2007

I have made this several times since seeing this on the Racheal Ray show and everyone absolutely loves it! The cinnamon might sound weird, but it totally is what makes the dish incredible and unique! This is one of my family's favorite dishes! I'm currently following the South Beach Diet and for phase 2 with a couple of substitutions this is a great recipe. One thing I notice that is different on this recipe then how Rachael did it is here it states corn tortillas, on her website it says flour and I always use flour(whole wheat), I don't think corn tortillas would compliment the dish very well I would definitely use flour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jolene#20fan June 23, 2007

I did cut the cheese down to 2 cups, but otherwise made this as instructed. It was very good, and the cinnamon was a nice addition--very subtle, because only a small amount is used. I disagree with the reviewer who said cinnamon does not belong in enchiladas as I have encountered cinnamon in red sauces in other Mexican/Southwestern recipes. Anyway, to me it tasted good. Recommended!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
echo echo October 07, 2006

I tried this recipe and it was decent but not what I expected. It was much too spicy and the cinnamon gave a weird sweet after taste that should not be in enchiladas. I also agree that the cheese was too much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eveurlove August 08, 2005
Chicken Enchiladas (Rachael Ray)