Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Enchiladas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Enchiladas

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on January 14, 2009

      Excellent recipe. I made as stated, except left out the salt, didn't have green onions, so I sauted a 1/2 cup of reg. onions, and left out the cilantro (don't care for it), and it was delicious. I used leftover chicken from Kittencals-Best-Blasted-Rapid-Roast-Whole-Chicken. There's just the two of us, but I made the whole recipe, we ate four and I froze the rest for when I have "the boys" over for dinner. DH's 2 friends that can reallllllllly eat. I'm sure they will love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2010

      I no longer have to travel to New Mexico for my favorite style of enchiladas! Tasty red sauce is hard to find in Texas restaurants. These really did hit the spot. The only change I would make is to use half the salt suggested (this comes from someone who can't get enough salt). I can't wait to make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2012

      OUTSTANDING enchiladas!!!! If you are on food.com looking for an excellent, delicious, on-point enchilada recipe, stop looking and make these. My boyfriend and I are huge fans of Mexican food, and we like it on the authentic side. None of those "mexican casserole" type dishes where they want you to throw in taco seasoning and some meat and call it Mexican. Ugh. Our fav enchiladas come from a taqueria downtown where we live, and my boyfriend says he prefers these over the taqueria. This recipe is so yummu, from the red sauce that is full of flavor and easy to make, to the simple ingredients added into the chicken mixture.. comes out perfect. I don't understand some of the other reviews, where some people literally take every ingredient and substitute it. How can you write a so/so or negative review when you change everything? I don't change one thing about this recipe and it comes out divine. Instructions are well written. Make these.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2010

      OHMYGOSH!! This is my new fave!! I have been looking for a decent chicken enchilada recipe forever that wasn't just soup and sour cream, chicken and chilis (ick). This was FABULOUS! Everyone loved them. The only substitutions I had to make was I ran out of sour cream..so half sour cream, half whipped cream cheese. To die for. I couldn't quit eating the filling. I tried to make up for that by not frying the tortillas, just warming in microwave, but they kept falling apart. Can't wait to have more left over chicken so I can make these again and do it exactly right. The sauce is perfect (no salt added due to other reviews) and I am stoked to try cheese and/or beef enchiladas now. Served w/#35956 Refried Beans. Yum!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      Made a half a batch of these and I did add some garlic and jalapenos to the chicken filling, had to use flour tortillas (didn't have corn) and then followed the rest of the directions...Very Very Good! Served with Salsa Salsa!#318416 by Chef#916598#916598 and sides of sliced avocado, olives and sour cream. Will make again...thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      This seems like a good base recipe. I didn't feel like going out shopping so I made some substitutions. Added extra chili powder because the sauce seemed bland and added cocoa powder and a little raw sugar. Didn't use any salt. Didn't use green chilis. I used chicken thighs instead of breasts and coated them with chili powder and baked them covered on 250 for about 45 minutes prior to shredding. I used flour tortillas instead of corn. I used pepper jack cheese. Turned out really good. Kids ate it up too (used cheddar for them). I would have used some red pepper flakes if they weren't eating.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2012

      Loved this filling. I made with gr. beef and it was wonderful. Will try with chicken soon.
      Served with gucamole and a salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2011

      Im going to revamp my review because I absolutley love this recipe. My neighbors absolutely concur. Try it and you should not be upset. Perfect..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2011

      YUM! These are the best I've made yet :) Even better than my own recipe! I added frozen sweet corn and omitted the green chillis because I had a small can of jalapeno salsa that I used in the filling - 1/2 cup - (so I also didn't add any of the enchilada sauce to the filling). These were soo good that DH and I ate all but the last 3! The cilantro and scallions really make this dish and the smaller amt of sour cream doesn't overwhelm the flavors. Thanks so much for the keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2010

      so good i like it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2010

    • on December 16, 2010

    • on May 28, 2010

    • on February 04, 2010

      These were REALLY good! Can't wait to make them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

      NOW... This is what I call 'Chicken Enchiladas' ! Its perfect and done correctly, Muy Bien ... I would NOT change a thing! Thanks!! <3 Muchas Gracias !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      This is the 2nd time i've made this and it still deserves 5 stars! The only change i made was to steam the tortillas in the microwave before rolling the enchiladas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2009

      YES! These were tasty goodness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2008

      Following the advice of other posters, I reduced the salt every way I could in this recipe, and they were so good we couldn't stop eating them! My friend begged for the recipe, and she went home thinking it was mine :) Thanks goes out to you for this recipe Shanie, and I have hidden it in with my favorites to have again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2008

      This has become one of my favorite meals. Instead of individual enchiladas (I'm lazy!), I make it into a casserole (8 x 12) using three layers of tortillas with the chicken mixture in between. I dip the bottom layer in sauce first (I don't fry the tortillas), then pour the remaining sauce over the top and sprinkle with the rest of the cheese. Then bake at 350 until bubbly and hot throughout. I've recently gone gluten-free so I substituted the wheat flour for a gluten free blend. The sauce became quite thick and the taste was slightly different but I used it anyway. I was pleasantly surprised at how great it tasted after cooking. Next time I will add more broth and seasoning to make a thinner sauce. Thanks for the great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2008

      Easy recipe that is a big hit everytime I make them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Enchiladas

    Serving Size: 1 (1669 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 186.6
     
    Calories from Fat 80
    42%
    Total Fat 8.9 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 4.1 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 33.6 mg
    11%
    Sodium 540.0 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.1 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 12.3 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes