77 Reviews

Just too good Nurse Di. We had a 3-family Mexican dinner. This was my contribution. Wow!! These enchiladas are to die for. Just like you said, the filling is very rich, creamy, and cheesy. Easy to make and very filling. Got rave reviews from all the guests. This made a lot and there were none left. This is a mildly seasoned dish which is good for some of us older folks and our sensitive stomachs. Thanks Nurse Di.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gladys58 October 26, 2002

I just made this today and it was soooo good and so simple! I added cheddar cheese to the topping and left out the chiles, simply because I couldn't find them, but it was still a wonderful recipe. Thanks!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookingMama34 July 17, 2002

My family and I did not like this at all. It is one big very mushy dish with very little taste other than undiluted chicken soup mixed with Sour cream. Too mushy, too bland, too much like regurgitated food and had to throw the whole thing down the garbage disposal. Yuk !

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rachael11 October 18, 2008

DISGUSTING. Way too gooey. I feel sick. All 5 kids hated it too. Unless you love (really love) gooey you can't even taste the chicken food stay away from this one!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
audie schmidt March 22, 2003

I love using cream of chicken soup in this recipe. It gives the enchiladas a delicious creamy sauce. However, I think the recipe is too bland. I always add black beans, cut up red pepper, hot sauce, and lots of spice. A great start to a recipe, but I think it needs a bit more kick to it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deniseminton October 19, 2010

I thought this was pretty good. I was worried about the reviews saying it was bland so I tasted the filling before rolling it up with the tortillas and added salt and peper accordingly. Also, I used pepper jack instead of Monterrey Jack for the topping, as recommended in the recipe, which kicks it up a notch. Lastly, I used corn tortillas rather than flour because I think they hold up better in a casserole like this. I would definitely make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PackMom May 19, 2008

Yummy! I flavored chicken a little and used fresh mushrooms. It tasted delicious but if I could use all whole foods to get to the same deliciousness, I would!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonChen January 28, 2015

Pretty yummy! I lightened it up by using fat free soup and low-fat sour cream and cheese. I also used less than half of the cheese than the recipe called for and used sharp cheddar. I added a little taco seasoning to the topping mixture. My two year old liked this too, but wasn't crazy over it. I kept it pretty mild since I knew he'd be eating it, but next time will make this just for the adults and will use pepper jack cheese to really spice this up! Thanks for sharing. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megs_ December 03, 2012

I followed the suggestions of another reviewer and added a can of black beans and spices (I used 1T cumin and 1T chili powder). I also didn't make extra sauce for the top. I just spooned a little of the filling over it and shredded some cheese. It was very good, we'll make it again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EB212 August 13, 2011

This is definitely not a fav in my household. It was so gooey and the flavors did not mix well at all. I felt so bad, but I had to dump the rest of it simply because neither my husband nor I would touch it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crystal Dawn 83 July 19, 2010
Chicken Enchiladas