197 Reviews

Good stuff! I made a double batch of this tonight. Ate them for dinner, and am freezing (and vacuum sealing) the rest for OAMC reserves. I followed the recipe as closely as I could, except I didn't have the green chilies. Thanks for the keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mike McCartney August 22, 2008

My first review ever! I am not very talented in the kitchen to say the least and I'm just starting to cook and I found this site. These enchiladas were easy to make and tasted GREAT!! I didn't the onion since I don't like the texture of them, but I used onion powder and it worked out great. Next time I'll try corn tortillas since they were a bit tough on the bottom (they might have not been as fresh as they should have been). Thank you!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Key Lime Latina August 21, 2008

My whole family loved this, including my 5.5 and my 2.5 year old sons! The only changes I made were using #14372 in place of the chili powder (which I didn't have on hand). That complmented this dish nicely, and I think I'll even end up adding a bit more of the essence next time around. I also omitted the chilies because I have small children, however I do plan on using 1 chopped up green pepper to replace it next time. This was super easy to make, and it's amazing how quick you can throw this together. Thanks so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kellyandie August 20, 2008

Very good and very easy. I used a roasted Rotisserie chicken. My family loved it! I will definitely make this again! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Neani August 14, 2008

Really, really good! I did make one change, though. I love the classic red enchilada sauce, so instead of pouring the soup mixture over the top, I spread a little on each tortilla before putting the chicken on. Then I put red sauce on the top instead of the soup. Turned out great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kitchen_mom August 13, 2008

Easy and delicious!!! Will definitely make these again in the future. Thanks for the recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KT'scooking July 29, 2008

Oh my gosh!!! These were so good. The were devoured before I could get a picture. Made them just as written. Good recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ycooks2 July 27, 2008

My 9 year old DD and I wanted bonding time in the kitchen and this is what we chose to make, along with http://www.recipezaar.com/117892 . It was gobbled up. I only give it four stars because to me the sauce was not balanced - too much cream of chicken vs. sour cream. However, DH says the sauce was the best part and insisted this be given 5 stars. DD agreed and there you have it. We doubled the recipe. We boiled the chicken (a whole chicken 5 lbs.) for an hour in a pot with carrots, celery, and onion before shredding it. It came out to exactly 4 cups which was great! DD added cheese (the Mexican mix preshredded cheese) to the insides of the enchiladas and we topped half of it with olives (after it came out of the oven). We will definitely make this again...and again...and again! Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shannyn July 27, 2008

My mother-in-law has been holding this recipe hostage from me for about ten years! This is one of the few items that she makes that brings every one to the table. Now I can make it any time we want it!!! I did add a little bit of garlic, salt, and pepper to the chicken while it was cooking. It was fantastic! Also, this is a great meal to make ahead and freeze. Follow the directions to step 8, put on the cheese, cover, and freeze. When ready to cook pull it out, bake at 375 for about 45-60 min until all the cheese is melted and gooey.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZLYDYBYRD July 26, 2008

This one deserves 6 stars!! Oh boy is it GOOD!!!! I cooked mine MUCH longer to make it really bubbley and gooey. I will DEFINITELY be making this again!! I also added some cheese inside each enchilada.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheeseburger in Paradise July 13, 2008
Chicken Enchiladas