192 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yummy is right Inez! Soft and savory with a very creamy topping is what makes this recipe special. I wanted something easy, quick to make, with no sacrifice on taste. Your chicken enchilada recipe was all of these and more. The chili powder was a nice splash of spice without overpowering the mildness of this comfort food. I made an additional pan for dinner the next day, and left the cheese off until just before baking (it took about 25 minutes in a 350 oven to heat through.) The flavors were deliciously marinaded together overnight, and it was wonderful! I used Sargento mexican cheese for the topping. It contains monterey jack, cheddar, queso quesadilla and asadero cheeses. I shredded the chicken instead of dicing just for a quicker prep time. I also substituted lower fat cream of chicken and sour cream for the "real stuff" and could not tell the difference! The outcome was a scrumptious dish that I will make again and again. I can't thank you enough Inez for posting this wonderful recipe!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*~Suzy~* January 31, 2003

I am always resistant to any recipe that calls for "a can of" anything, especially prepared soup, but I whipped this up the other night for family and it was a huge hit. Very good, going to make another batch tonight!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
theshewolf March 23, 2003

Excellent as is, but I made a couple of changes the second go around. For one, I didn't have cream of chicken soup, so I used cream of celery. I used corn tortillas instead of flour. I also had some Trader Joe's enchilada sauce (red) and added that across the top. It was a little different and very, very good.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki in AZ May 20, 2003

GREAT! My husband and i gobbled it down! I added a can of drained diced tomatoes to give it a salsa like taste. I would also recommend using a little cilantro and lime juice just for some more flavor. I thought more spice would have been nice but my hubby said it was good enough for him so the tabasco sauce is always a helpful friend in the end. I also used left over thanksgiving turkey and my husband had no clue--he thought it was just chicken and was so happy not to have more turkey leftovers, hahaha totally tricked him!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
217Kloe November 28, 2010

This was good, but I thought the sauce needed a bit more spice, so I added about 1/2 can of Rotel tomatoes and chilies. It was perfect and added that "bite" that we liked. I used left-over chicken which I shredded and seasoned with taco seasoning. I also used a small can of green chili sauce on top of the cream sauce. This recipe is very forgiving for any extra seasonings one chooses to use. I will make these again, we enjoyed them. Donna

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
donnie27 April 28, 2010

Made this tonight. I was out of cream of chicken so I had to use a recipe from this site to make a homemade version. I actually thought this was good but not great. I could have used more depth of flavor I think. My picky husband and son loved this however so I am giving it four stars. I will make again for them with the canned cream of chicken and see if I like it better.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheri January 27, 2010

Wonderful. I saw in the reviews that someone had added a layer of red enchilada sauce to the recipe. My husband likes red sauce, so I made Red Enchilada Sauce (#12877) and used a cup of it, too. I put a little red sauce in the pan to keep the enchiladas from sticking. Then I followed the recipe, putting a layer of red sauce under the cream sauce. Very tasty. Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefLizD January 10, 2010

Wow this is super simple to make and tastes wonderful. I did make a couple of minor changes using cream of celery soup, canned chicken I purchased at Sam's Club and I left out the green chili's (Grandaughter's request). It was all gone in one meal and it got rave reviews from all. Thanks for sharing your tasty recipe MizzNezz! The second time I made this I goofed up and added the chicken to the sauce (guess I had a senior moment). So I cut the shells in quarters and layed the first layer in the pan added some cheese and sauce and then did another layer of shells cheese and sauce and baked for awhile then sprinkled more cheese on top and finished baking until it was bubbly and a little browned. I think I actually liked it a little bit better Yum!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie Young August 20, 2008

Great Recipe, Also added some Additional Ingredients:
1/4 tsp Oregano, Cilantro, Paprika, Cayenne, Cumin. incl. Chili Powder.
Small can Tomato Paste.
Sauteed 3-4 cloves of Garlic, Half an onion.
4 (Inch long) JalapeƱo Peppers, diced.
Added half of Sour cream/Soup mixture to stuffing. Used 1/4 cream/soup to coat pan, remainder on tortilla tops, along with stuffing remainder.
Shredded 5 cheese (Mexican) Cheese

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
trclark84 January 17, 2011

I really liked these, but I thought it needed more sauce. Next time I may double the sauce part.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michelle1172 January 11, 2011
Chicken Enchiladas