Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Enchiladas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Enchiladas

    Average Rating:

    191 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 191

    Sort by:

    • on January 31, 2003

      Yummy is right Inez! Soft and savory with a very creamy topping is what makes this recipe special. I wanted something easy, quick to make, with no sacrifice on taste. Your chicken enchilada recipe was all of these and more. The chili powder was a nice splash of spice without overpowering the mildness of this comfort food. I made an additional pan for dinner the next day, and left the cheese off until just before baking (it took about 25 minutes in a 350 oven to heat through.) The flavors were deliciously marinaded together overnight, and it was wonderful! I used Sargento mexican cheese for the topping. It contains monterey jack, cheddar, queso quesadilla and asadero cheeses. I shredded the chicken instead of dicing just for a quicker prep time. I also substituted lower fat cream of chicken and sour cream for the "real stuff" and could not tell the difference! The outcome was a scrumptious dish that I will make again and again. I can't thank you enough Inez for posting this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2003

      I am always resistant to any recipe that calls for "a can of" anything, especially prepared soup, but I whipped this up the other night for family and it was a huge hit. Very good, going to make another batch tonight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2003

      Excellent as is, but I made a couple of changes the second go around. For one, I didn't have cream of chicken soup, so I used cream of celery. I used corn tortillas instead of flour. I also had some Trader Joe's enchilada sauce (red) and added that across the top. It was a little different and very, very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2010

      GREAT! My husband and i gobbled it down! I added a can of drained diced tomatoes to give it a salsa like taste. I would also recommend using a little cilantro and lime juice just for some more flavor. I thought more spice would have been nice but my hubby said it was good enough for him so the tabasco sauce is always a helpful friend in the end. I also used left over thanksgiving turkey and my husband had no clue--he thought it was just chicken and was so happy not to have more turkey leftovers, hahaha totally tricked him!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      This was good, but I thought the sauce needed a bit more spice, so I added about 1/2 can of Rotel tomatoes and chilies. It was perfect and added that "bite" that we liked. I used left-over chicken which I shredded and seasoned with taco seasoning. I also used a small can of green chili sauce on top of the cream sauce. This recipe is very forgiving for any extra seasonings one chooses to use. I will make these again, we enjoyed them. Donna

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      Wonderful. I saw in the reviews that someone had added a layer of red enchilada sauce to the recipe. My husband likes red sauce, so I made Red Enchilada Sauce (#12877) and used a cup of it, too. I put a little red sauce in the pan to keep the enchiladas from sticking. Then I followed the recipe, putting a layer of red sauce under the cream sauce. Very tasty. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2011

      Great Recipe, Also added some Additional Ingredients:
      1/4 tsp Oregano, Cilantro, Paprika, Cayenne, Cumin. incl. Chili Powder.
      Small can Tomato Paste.
      Sauteed 3-4 cloves of Garlic, Half an onion.
      4 (Inch long) JalapeƱo Peppers, diced.
      Added half of Sour cream/Soup mixture to stuffing. Used 1/4 cream/soup to coat pan, remainder on tortilla tops, along with stuffing remainder.
      Shredded 5 cheese (Mexican) Cheese

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2011

      I really liked these, but I thought it needed more sauce. Next time I may double the sauce part.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

      A nice change of pace. If you are looking for authentic enchiladas, you might not like these, but they were easy to make and tasted good, family enjoyed them. Also used a can of Rotel vs green chilis. Will make again next time I want creamy, fast enchiladas. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2010

      Made this tonight. I was out of cream of chicken so I had to use a recipe from this site to make a homemade version. I actually thought this was good but not great. I could have used more depth of flavor I think. My picky husband and son loved this however so I am giving it four stars. I will make again for them with the canned cream of chicken and see if I like it better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      Wow, these were the best I've ever made. I made my own cream of chicken soup since we can't get that where we live. I added the extra green chilies to the sour cream/chicken soup too. I also threw in sundried tomato to the chicken mixture. The taste was outstanding! Thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      Delicious! Love the creamy-ness of it and knowing that it isn't from a ton of cheese. We will definitely have this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      These were a huge hit at our house. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      Wow this is super simple to make and tastes wonderful. I did make a couple of minor changes using cream of celery soup, canned chicken I purchased at Sam's Club and I left out the green chili's (Grandaughter's request). It was all gone in one meal and it got rave reviews from all. Thanks for sharing your tasty recipe MizzNezz! The second time I made this I goofed up and added the chicken to the sauce (guess I had a senior moment). So I cut the shells in quarters and layed the first layer in the pan added some cheese and sauce and then did another layer of shells cheese and sauce and baked for awhile then sprinkled more cheese on top and finished baking until it was bubbly and a little browned. I think I actually liked it a little bit better Yum!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2006

      These chicken enchiladas were delicious!! I used 2 cans of soup and 1 cup of sour cream. (add 1/4 cup soup/sour cream mixture to the chicken and green chilies) I doubled the amount of chicken and also added 1/4 tsp. cumin and 1 clove minced garlic. Before baking I poured a can of enchilda sauce around the enchiladas and sprinkled the mexican cheese over top as suggested by a previous reviewer. Cut back on the chili powder if you don't like it too spicy!! I used reduced fat soup, sour cream and cheese.....Still delish!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2003

      A great quick & easy dish that I was able to make ahead of time, then just refrigerate, so supper is ready when we are! Because of the refrigeration, I had to increase the bake time a bit, but otherwise, I made no changes. Served this with #12877 Enchilada Sauce as DH likes everything extra saucy! Thanks, Inez!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2003

      I made this recipe for company tonight, and it was GREAT! Lots of compliments. I will definently make again. I added chopped mushrooms with the onions, and used one of those rotisserie chickens from the grocery store. YUM!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2003

      Yummmm!!!!!!!!!! Comfort food. I love these. You can lower the fat (without lessening the taste) by using margarine, lite sour cream (not fat free yuk!), low fat low sodium cream of chicken soup, and part skim cheddar cheese. I loved that I could find a recipe I could lower the fat and it still tastes awesome! I sprinkled some green onions on the top and we loved it! Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2014

      Great recipe. I like to substitute cream of celery soup as it seems to complement the green chili better than cream of chicken. I also omit the sour cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2013

      This is a very rich, delicious and quick dish! I added some taco mix in the filling to give it a little more flavor. It turned out great. Love the creamy yellow top!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Enchiladas

    Serving Size: 1 (319 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 614.2
     
    Calories from Fat 311
    50%
    Total Fat 34.6 g
    53%
    Saturated Fat 16.6 g
    83%
    Cholesterol 118.4 mg
    39%
    Sodium 1231.9 mg
    51%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.3 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 32.8 g
    65%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites