Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Enchilada Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Enchilada Casserole

    Average Rating:

    67 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 67

    Sort by:

    • on October 10, 2009

      This is a great mild casserole! I don't like cr. of mushroom soup so I used cr. of celery, diced up some roasted red bell peppers and about 1/2 a can of Green Giant Extra Sweet Corn drained and sometimes a few spoonsful of Herdez Salsa Verde to the soup mix. I'm thinking of trying to lightly fry the corn tortillas and drain them before layering in the casserole to enhance the flavor of the corn torillas. This is one of my favorite casseroles. Please try it with the green chiles! I'm not a heat person and green chiles are about flavor not heat so they contribute a lot to the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2003

      This recipe is almost identical to the one I have been using! The only difference is that the one that I have calls for 2 cups of cooked and chopped chicken and it also has 1 tbsp flour added to the sour cream. I love this recipe and it freezes so well! I have left out the green chilies to please my picky family, but I think they would be a wonderful addition. I have also substituted montery jack cheese for 1/2 of the required cheese with great results. It was great to see this recipe here--thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2010

      Would give this recipe 10 stars if I could. I have given this recipe out several times and everyone love it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      great recipe and easy. I used less chicken breast as i am not a big meat eater. I used all cream of mushroom soup and added chicken boullion. I didn't have a problem with it being mushy maybe those who did added too much of the broth.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      Great flavor (I'm not sure why other people think it's bland.) The only things I changed where I used chicken I cooked the day before, and homemade broth I added 8oz of cheddar and 8oz of monterey jack I tore up my tortillas and made four layers. This helped it not be as runny. I also used about 2oz of mild canned jalapenos deveined and chopped. I was feeding three people and I think we will get two more meals out of this!! Yummy thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2004

      This was wonderful! I used Corn Tortillas, and shredded the chicken in the food processor (made it really easy!). My whole family gobbled it up and told me this is a definite "make again"!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2003

      We made this recipe last nite, it made 2 casseroles, and both are almost gone! Excellent!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2013

      this is awesome, can make it leaner with more flavor, soups, fat free, sour cream, fat free, add everything plus, taco seasoning and diced jalpenos, add aliitle less what is your soup cans, tiny bit of broth, fiesta mexican cheese, so not so mushy, seriously, awesome....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2013

      Made this for a couples dinner party and it was a huge success. I didn't change anything in the recipe, and there was plenty of flavor. The spices made the house smell so go, no one could hardly wait to eat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2012

      My momma use to make something similar but this one beats her recipe. My wife is a picky eater and she just asked of I could make it again...and she hates leftovers! Definitely will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2012

      I made this dish for our Thanksgiving Potluck. I followed the instructions exactly how it was listed. This casserole was DELICIOUS!! It was gone in 15 minutes. I got so many compliments and everyone wanted the recipe! I sprayed some the cooking dish with some non-sticking spray just so the tortillas wouldn't get stuck to the dish. You will not be regret making this dish!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2012

      This is very similar to a recipe that I've been using since the mid-70s. I add a can of Rotel tomatoes instead of the green chilies. I also add 2-3 tablespoons of chili powder and Doritos or Tostito chips. This has always been a standard Mexican dish for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2012

      Get this stuff away from me. After cleaning up the dinner dishes I STILL ate more!! I used a 14 oz bag of fat free tortillas,which helped compensate for the 1&1/2 lbs of Mexican-Mix cheese I used. I added imitation bacon bits to the cream sauce,heck,I also added heavy cream because I was trying to use it up..Then I sliced a whole can of black olives up as if it weren't enough additions.. I was wondering what size pan to use, I decided on an 11 X 15 glass baking dish,sprayed the heck out of the bottom with no stick spray. I covered with foil,baked for 45mins at 350,till bubbly..let it set for 15 mins so we wouldnt be eating lava..it set up nice!!You cant go wrong with this..lots of leftovers after 4 Giant servings.(4 MORE Giant servings,oh yeah!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2012

      It had decent flavor, but we were not big fans...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2011

    • on November 03, 2010

      I made this for OAMC. While making it and mixing the soups and sour cream I was a bit unsure about how good it would taste and whether it would freeze and reheat well, but it actually went ok. I wrapped it very well with cling wrap and foil before freezing and partly defrosted it before baking it. I baked it covered with foil for about 45 mins (was still a bit frozen in the middle), then for about 10-15 mins uncovered to get the cheese nice and browned. I was surprised at how nice the flavour was, the way the chicken is cooked makes it tender and flavoursome. I can't get chopped canned chillies here, so I used jarred jalapenos. The tortillas were a bit mushy and lost in the sauce a bit, but they added a nice flavour. My fussy family didn't really enjoy it as much as I did though so I probably won't make it again, but worth a try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2010

      This had a nice flavor. It was a texture was a bit mushy and it didn't have enough flavor for my taste. The cream soups flavor was very dominate and the chicken was sort of loss. I paired my casserole with a salad and made for a nice couple of meals.

      I might try it again in the future but it won't be one of my go to meals.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      I made this recipe for Cinco de Mayo for a family dinner. I have one grandson who does not eat geen chilies and one who does not eat onions. so I made one casserole without them and one as written. The family enjoyed it very much and I will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2009

      This was recipe was decent. The sauce tasted pretty good, but the dish was pretty mushy overall.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      This did NOT freeze well. At all. The flavor was good, but the texture was horrible and mushy. I would try it again, but I would not freeze it for OAMC.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Enchilada Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (295 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 674.6
     
    Calories from Fat 405
    60%
    Total Fat 45.0 g
    69%
    Saturated Fat 22.7 g
    113%
    Cholesterol 141.3 mg
    47%
    Sodium 1924.2 mg
    80%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.1 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 33.9 g
    67%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites