69 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a great mild casserole! I don't like cr. of mushroom soup so I used cr. of celery, diced up some roasted red bell peppers and about 1/2 a can of Green Giant Extra Sweet Corn drained and sometimes a few spoonsful of Herdez Salsa Verde to the soup mix. I'm thinking of trying to lightly fry the corn tortillas and drain them before layering in the casserole to enhance the flavor of the corn torillas. This is one of my favorite casseroles. Please try it with the green chiles! I'm not a heat person and green chiles are about flavor not heat so they contribute a lot to the recipe!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dmac085 October 10, 2009

This recipe is almost identical to the one I have been using! The only difference is that the one that I have calls for 2 cups of cooked and chopped chicken and it also has 1 tbsp flour added to the sour cream. I love this recipe and it freezes so well! I have left out the green chilies to please my picky family, but I think they would be a wonderful addition. I have also substituted montery jack cheese for 1/2 of the required cheese with great results. It was great to see this recipe here--thanks for posting it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
* Pamela * July 06, 2003

Would give this recipe 10 stars if I could. I have given this recipe out several times and everyone love it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
842223 September 18, 2010

great recipe and easy. I used less chicken breast as i am not a big meat eater. I used all cream of mushroom soup and added chicken boullion. I didn't have a problem with it being mushy maybe those who did added too much of the broth.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muffinlady February 02, 2010

Great flavor (I'm not sure why other people think it's bland.) The only things I changed where I used chicken I cooked the day before, and homemade broth I added 8oz of cheddar and 8oz of monterey jack I tore up my tortillas and made four layers. This helped it not be as runny. I also used about 2oz of mild canned jalapenos deveined and chopped. I was feeding three people and I think we will get two more meals out of this!! Yummy thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ColiesKitchen April 25, 2009

This was wonderful! I used Corn Tortillas, and shredded the chicken in the food processor (made it really easy!). My whole family gobbled it up and told me this is a definite "make again"!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brian Baldwin March 31, 2004

We made this recipe last nite, it made 2 casseroles, and both are almost gone! Excellent!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tina Klein June 29, 2003

I have been making this for years, but after reading the comments and ingredients, I can see why some aren't a fan. The way I make it is a little different than this recipe. I think these changes will keep it form being mushy or tasteless. First, I don't use sour cream in the recipe at all, that can be used as a topping once done if you like. Next, I use cream of celery instead of cream of mushroom in addition to the cream of chicken and I add 1/2 cup of broth from the boiled chicken. And last but very important... I lightly fry the tortillas in a small frying pan in some oil. It makes them softer and easier to work with, plus it adds flavor. USE CORN I layer the tortillas in the bottom of casserole dish, add the wet ingredients, layer again with the fried tortillas, wet ingredients again, top ENTIRELY with cheese. USE THE GREEN CHILES PEOPLE!! They aren't hot in any way, just add tons of flavor. Get the Hatch Chilis if you can. I was raised in New Mexico and they're the best! Every time I make this for guests, it's gone is minutes and I always get asked of the recipe! It's a hit at pot luck. You might want to make 2! Enjoy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
akweatherley November 10, 2014

this is awesome, can make it leaner with more flavor, soups, fat free, sour cream, fat free, add everything plus, taco seasoning and diced jalpenos, add aliitle less what is your soup cans, tiny bit of broth, fiesta mexican cheese, so not so mushy, seriously, awesome....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ponytailtrails October 29, 2013
Chicken Enchilada Casserole