Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Enchilada Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Enchilada Casserole

    Average Rating:

    92 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 92

    Sort by:

    • on March 15, 2002

      To make this easier, I tear the tortillas and layer them in the dish with the sauce/chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2002

      This is a five star recipe but unless you know what you are doing, you can get into trouble. For instance, it calls for 1 cup onions but does not tell you that they should be sliced, diced, minced or whatever. It also calls for two cups of chicken or turkey but does not advise that this is already cooked and diced. That's my two cents worth. Keep up the good work Merv

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2001

      Made this with chicken, cant buy tins of green chillis here so I used fresh. Loved the flavours, and so did my picky teenager. Thanks for sharing. =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2003

      We're used to the typical Texmex or Mexican enchildas and this recipe is really different and delicious. It has great flavor! I used flour tortillas, but will probably use corn next time. I found that the fresh flour tortillas absorbed so much of the liquid they became too doughy. Evenso, they tasted great because of the wonderful sauce. We loved the filling, too. I will use spicy green chili peppers next time - but that is just a matter of our spicy taste preference. I highly recommend this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      I've finally found my go-to chicken enchilada recipe! Thanks! Changes I made: Added 1 poblano plus one jalapeno (incl all ribs and seeds) into the green pepper + onion mixture. I used low fat sour cream in the sauce as well as pepper jack cheese. I added fresh cilantro over the enchiladas upon serving. I liked the idea of garlic from other reviewers. Also - my flour tortillas were high fibre cilantro + pepper. The enchiladas had a lot of kick this way! Will absolutely make this many many times more - using high fibre tortillas and low fat ingredients plus extra peppers for kick.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2010

      This is a very good recipe. The sauce is what makes it so delicious. However, cut the salt by half or more. The other ingredients (like cheese or the cooked chicken) add salt. Also it needs a little heat, the poblano, as suggested by someone else, is still not enough kick. Very good though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2003

      Very tasty. Used flour tortillas will use corn plus will make spicier next time Pickie 15yr old would not try. Adults liked it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2003

      This was totaly great. I made this to take to work and so glad I did. I ended up working a 12 hour shift and I had this for lunch and dinner. Everyone that tryed it loved it. Only thing I did different was that I added no green peppers and I added a can of enchilada sauce to the top then added cheese on that. Eating what is left of it right now and it 7:02 in the morning. mmmmmm so good. I will make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2014

      I liked the mixture of 8 ozs Mexican cheese plus 4 ozs Monterey Jack. I used 2 cups of rotisserie chicken (dark and white). Followed the recipe and LOVE it. I like extra heat but my SO has GERD, so the green chilies did add the needed flavor with no heat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2014

    • on August 08, 2013

      Yummy enchilada. Loved the sauce with the chicken. I used 1/2 of 7 oz, can for the pepper. Easy and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2013

      I have made this recipe countless times this past DECADE.... THanks Karen from Colorado and food.com for featuring her today :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2013

      I used rotisserie chicken and it came out great. The only thing I would do different is make it a bit spicy, just because I love the heat. Great dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2013

      One of the best dinners I have ever cooked. I doubled the recipe and followed it exactly. I froze one tray and served the other for dinner. My family loved it. I have always been intimidated about making chicken enchiladas and this was a snap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2012

      Made this 1 week ago and it was fantastic. I am not a fan of Mexican foods but wanted to try something different. This was it. Only thing I did was add a few slices of chopped up Jalepenos from a jar to give it a kick. They were actually better the next day. I took extras to work and shared lunch with some co-workers. They all asked for the recipe !! I also used fresh chicken that I boiled and added some perdue ready chicken I had left over as well. This was SOOO delicious and will become a regular with me !!!!!! Thanks Karen !!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2012

      I had some leftover turkey from our holiday dinner and I chose this recipe to make something different with it. Very yummy, a bit rich, but really good. I served this with spanish rice and refried beans. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2012

      This was delicious. We're not into spicy/hot meals and we found this recipe to have a perfect combination of flavor and mildness from the peppers. I even at leftovers for breakfast the next morning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2012

      This was very tasty. I used corn tortillas instead of flour tortillas and omitted the ground coriander (didn't have any). My kids ate it without complaint, which makes it a winner in my book. It was better the first day as the sauce thickened after refrigeration. I made enchiladas but had filling left over so I spread it on top of the enchiladas and tore up some more tortillas to go with it, then poured sauce over it all. Next time, I'll just tear all the tortillas and mix it all together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2012

      I am from Texas, and sour cream enchiladas are a staple offering at many restaurants and I love them. I have never been able to find a recipe with a sour cream sauce that did not break apart into little curds, until now. This is the best sour cream sauce recipe I have tried, and makes a very good enchilada. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2012

      I made this recipe to use up some leftover turkey. I used a Mexican blend cheese and reduced fat sour cream because that is what I had on hand. Quite honestly, we are so used to reduced fat that often if we go out the whole fat version tastes odd to us. Even with the reduced fat sour cream, the sauce was still nice and creamy. DH gave it four stars after adding hot sauce otherwise the family gave it three stars (i.e. good)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Enchilada Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (302 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 748.4
     
    Calories from Fat 344
    46%
    Total Fat 38.2 g
    58%
    Saturated Fat 19.0 g
    95%
    Cholesterol 105.5 mg
    35%
    Sodium 1618.6 mg
    67%
    Total Carbohydrate 68.2 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 6.3 g
    25%
    Protein 32.1 g
    64%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes