Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Empanadas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Empanadas

    Average Rating:

    49 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 49

    Sort by:

    • on May 28, 2002

      Miss Annie, all I can say if yum!!!! I have been taste testing several appetizers for a shower I am throwing- Tested these on hubby & daughter and the said they were awesome. Really great flavor and very easy. This is truely one of the winners!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2003

      UPDATE -- I made a half recipe of these again today, and they came out tastier. This time I used just under a cup of shredded chicken, and only a half cup or less of Monterey Jack (no cheddar this time). I moistened the mix with about a tablespoon of green taco sauce (La Victoria brand), and gave it a generous dose of chili powder and some salt. I used one green onion (next time I;; try red onion), and about a tablespoon of finely chopped tomato. What especially made them good this time, though: I remembered to brush 'em with egg yolk and sprinkle on the salt and chili powder, which adds flavor and makes them crisp. With 1 pie crust, I got 13 appetizers using a 3" round cookie cutter. (Someone more deft with a rolling pin might get one more.) 12 min. at 400° was just right. Excellent this time! Thank you, Miss Annie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2009

      These are so good. I found Empanada circles in the frozen section of a latin market and they were very easy to use. they are called discos. I cut salt in half for the inside mixture and only used 1/2 tsp for the top. I will be making these again real soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2012

      Holy cow that was salty!!! Wow!!! I added almost a cup more chicken and it was still salty. I ended up not putting any additional salt on the outside and it was still over powering. For anyone attempting this I reccomend the following:
      1) If you are using canned green chiles, rinse them off (lots of salt in there!)
      2) Save the salt until last in the filling, taste it before you add any salt, and just slowly add it
      3) If you want salt on the outside just try to underseason the filling a little to compensate.

      I'll have to try this again and try to adjust it to suit my tastes a little bit. Beware! 3tsp is just waaaaay too much in my opinion. My gut told it was too much when I was following the recipe. I should have listened!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2011

      The filling was good but I did have a problem with it oozing out (probably my fault, I was in a hurry). I used a homemade pie crust so they turned out nice and flaky. I have to say the chili powder salt mixture seemed a lot for sprinkling on the outside so i cut it down and it still tasted way too salty. My kids had to scrape it off before they would eat it. Overall, it was ok, but I doubt I'll make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2011

      The topping (salt and chili powder) just ruined it. I was excited to find something that would work for leftover pie crust, but unfortunately, most of this went in the trash.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2011

    • on January 29, 2011

      Fantastic recipe. I followed the recipe except I cut down on the salt that went on top. These were a hit. We served with queso, salsa and sour cream. The family loved them. I did have trouble with the cheese oozing out, but we didn't care.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      I made these for a girls game night. that had a Latin theme. They were an amazing hit. I made them that afternoon so they were served at room temperature. I accidentally put 1 tsp of chili powder in the mix (just wasn't paying attention) so i sprinkled them very sparingly. They tasted wonderful. Using the frozen pie crusts made the prep much easier as well. This is now my "go to" recipe for appetizers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      I made these for lunch today and we loved them. I used a bowl for the cutter so not sure what size mine were but didn't matter to us. This made 9 and a tiny one to use up the leftover pie crust. I loved it. DS suggested to add cream cheese next time. I might try that, but don't need to, they were great as is. I did think they were a bit salty but that is an easy fix and I won 't use as much of the topping next time. Thank you so much for a great lunch for this summer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      I loved the idea, and we enjoyed them; but next time I make them I will use a different filling. My husband liked it, but it wasn't to my taste. I made them up in the evening to pack for lunch the next day and he ate several right out of the oven! I completely forgot to add the topping spices and wash, and I'm sure it would have made them even better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      Loved these! Definitely a go-to recipe to keep - thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      The pie crust makes these very savory, almost like chicken pot pie with a kick. I forgot to add the garlic, but didn't miss it. I had about a cup of leftover filling. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      A great base recipe. Very tasty and I can not wait to try other combination's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      Delicious! We dipped ours in queso...I used a very small amount of salt in the recipe and on top of the empanadas and they tasted great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      My BF thought these weren't going to be as good because it was a shortcut recipe (his GM made everything from scratch) but he LOVED these! My son did too. I gave it 4 stars just because doing it as the recipe said was a little too salty for my liking, but the boys ate them up. Will use again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      I cut back to 1/2 tsp. of salt and we loved them! DS and his friend had more than their fair share (I only got 1) and raved about them at the table. Guess what I'm making again soon so I can have more than 1??? You guessed it these Chicken Empanadas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      Yummy, but next time I'll go a little less on the salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      I was going to give these 4 stars because of the saltiness, but I think people should give these a try, so I kept it at 5. I have only made these once, and the tops had WAY too much salt, as others stated, even without using all of the salt called for. I will make these again, though, because they were still very delicious and flavorful, and simple to make. I used canned chicken, and that made it super easy. I will definitely cut way back on the salt, but other than that, this recipe is wonderful. BTW, does anyone know if you freeze them before or after baking? What's the best way to reheat them? Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Empanadas

    Serving Size: 1 (1053 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 327.0
     
    Calories from Fat 191
    58%
    Total Fat 21.2 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 7.1 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 75.9 mg
    25%
    Sodium 2373.8 mg
    98%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.8 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 8.4 g
    16%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chicken

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites