30 Reviews

This was amazing, It was the very best Chicken & Dumplings I have ever had. The whole family loved it. After reading all the reviews I decide to double the recipe, so we would have leftovers. I am so glad I did. This was great thank you for sharing. I will surely be making this again, and very soon.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sgarrison100 March 18, 2011

We really enjoyed this version of chicken and dumplings. I used the meat from a rotisserie chicken and I substituted chicken broth for the water. I added one additional can of soup (plus half the additional ingredients) as I had more chicken than the 2 cups. Also, I used jumbo biscuits so I divided them into 6 pieces each. DH loves the dumplings more than the chicken. : ) Made for the FYC tag game.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy's Pantry April 10, 2015

LOVE IT!! My modifications are to add 2 boxes Purdue Grilled chicken strips (comes to about 5c per the package), and to use only 1 cup of water. Then I added 1/2 bag of mixed veggies and some Bouquet Garni. This literally takes 5 minutes to dump everything together after school, then we can all go running to sports, errands and WHATEVER and come home to a yummy dinner. Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LillyZackMom March 22, 2011

My kids (15 & 17) circled the crock pot like vultures while waiting for it to finish. We loved it! There is a lot of liquid to this, but I took the top off like someone below recommended for the last 20 min. I used chicken broth as opposed to water & bouillon, & 2 cans of cream of chicken as we're not fans of cream of mushroom. I'm thinking next time I'll limit the broth to 1 and a half cans.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ajwild72 January 27, 2011

Ok, we had mixed reviews on this one. Some thought it was too chickeny(?), I guess because of the cream of chicken soup and I think we were looking for a thinner broth type dish. I thought it was terribly easy to make (which is always a plus) and quite tasty. I used the smaller size Pillsbury biscuits (not the Grands) and dumplings were cooked great. Personally for my taste, next time I'll add more dumplings, as I think that is the best part!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sassy in da South November 21, 2009

Delish! I had left over country gravy from our biscuits and gravy from the day before rather than the cans of cream chicken it was a hit my picky 4 year old ate it with no complaints and my husband who isnt fond of chicken and dumplings even asked to pack his some for work this morning with a grilled cheese i gave it four stars because I think the dumplings needed more cooking time they were still mushy after 1 hr so i cooked them 2 hrs and a half which made the chicken even more tender! mmmmm

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yvette~Monique January 22, 2014

We ALL enjoyed this, which is an almost impossible feat. This is how I remember my mom making her chicken & dumplings. I like that it's mainly just down home cooking without alot of different seasonings. I started late, so I cooked it on the stovetop, and then used Bisquik dumplings (my favorite) . Will DEFINITELY make again!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kellychris August 19, 2012

This came out amazing! I wasn't sure how it would turn out with the bicuits, but wow! Yummmm! DH had 2 heaping platefuls. I made just as directed, but added some dried thyme, oregeno, dill, garlic powder, sliced carrots, and peas. I also used a whole rotisserie chicken so it was was super easy. Will definately be making this again :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Pantry Elf February 15, 2011

This is as close to comfort food as one can get. It reminded of grandma's famous homecooking at its best. This is very delicious, filling, and a sure family pleaser. And with so little effort, to boot, which is a big plus in my book. Thanks for sharing this recipe, breezermom. Made for 2009 Spring Pick-A-Chef. Mmmmmmm!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NorthwestGal April 08, 2009

This was very good. Comfort food! I cut up uncooked chicken and let it cook in the slow cooker, which worked great. I also added some peas and carrots. The flavor is great and I love the biscuits. Mine actually browned and that was wonderful! The only reason I'm rating this lower is because mine came out more like a soup (which my husband does not like). I ended up mixing some more flour with water and adding it to the finished product. Thank you for posting a nice comfort food recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood October 09, 2014
Chicken & Dumplings Like Grandma's (Crock-Pot)