42 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderfully easy, very tasty! We increased the hot sauce a bit, and used celery leaves as I was out of celery seed. Served over potato gnocchi with steamed carrots on the side. I'm looking forward to trying this with pork chops, also. Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pinay0618 September 14, 2010

I was disappointed with this recipe because I didn't think the sauce had nearly enough flavor. I doubt I'll make it again, but if I do I'll have to add extra spices

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaMcG June 16, 2011

my kids and picky husband really enjoyed this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsM20 April 27, 2010

Amazingly delicious!! Lots of flavor without lots of heat! My DH and I really enjoyed these drumsticks; we had them over brown rice, with some lightly steamed asparagus on the side. Yum!! The only changes I made were to reduce the servings to 2, sub olive oil for the butter, and use low sodium (diced) canned tomatoes. I also didn't have any celery seed, so I used celery salt (and a bit less regular salt). We're now able to buy organic chicken drumsticks at our local grocery store, so I wanted to find a recipe that would do them proud--this is definitely it! Thanks so much for sharing it, echo echo!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
So Cal Gal March 31, 2010

This is my BF's most favorite meal, although in our house we just call it "Red Chicken." He has me make it at least once a week. Flavorful, warm, makes the house smell amazing. I do make a couple teensy changes. I use chicken broth instead of water, I find it gives a little more flavor. I double (at least) the garlic (because who doesn't love garlic). I also use 2 tsp chili powder and 1-2 tsp cayenne instead of a hot sauce as we like our spice SPICY. Add some sliced red onions on top during the last 15-20 mins so they're soft but not mushy. BAM. So good. I typically serve this over rice with green beans & crusty bread on the side (for mopping up the delicious red sauce).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brrtybird December 16, 2014

Spectacular! I added more garlic, skipped the hot sauce and diluted the sauce a little, and my family gobbled it up! It even tasted good on Mexican rice (odd combo day...) which surprised me. I used diced celery since I ran out of celery seed, and it tasted fine! We are definitely going to do this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dar Christiansen November 18, 2014

LOVED the taste and great over rice. but i would have made it with something other than chix drumsticks which are so stringy. Maybe with breast chunks or even thighs

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SiriZ December 20, 2013

Tender, juicy, and very flavorful. Great dish! Followed directions to the T except for the celery seed which i didn't have on hand so in my mind celery salt was next best thing. lol. Still tasted awesome.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Slick November 20, 2013

I made this tonight for my husband who loves spicy. I have to say that reading other reviews helped because one review said that it was kind of tasteless. I know I like very strong taste so what I did was I just increased the amount of vinegar, used hot chili powder instead and also used Frank's Red hot maybe like 10 drops, it was delish! I have to say if you don't like too sweet, maybe use only 1 tablespoon of brown sugar. Overall, it is a fantastic recipe with great cooking time and it was relatively easy too. Thanks a lot, will definitely make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hulika March 23, 2013

Delicious, and so easy to make. My husband loved it. I served it with rice and cabbage. I think I have a new pot luck meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gsecrease December 23, 2012
Chicken Drumsticks Pierre