26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Perfect! An easy curry that's worthy of the finest Indian restaurants. We didn't have cashews so I used almonds, which worked very well.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jim C. January 03, 2010

I have made this for several years now. It is by far the best creamy curry. The coconut milk is the ultimate to the recipe, I adjust according to the heat I want-more or less curry paste. You have to try this, I give this recipe to everyone who wants to cook a curry.!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
totzrn September 01, 2009

I was pretty free wheeling with this recipe - I doubled the curry powder (I used Madras curry) guesstimated on the other spices, was out of fresh ginger so I used the jar stuff and totally skipped the cilantro, as I was out of that too. Also, I didn't want to waste any coconut milk, so I just poured the whole can in (glad I did too.) I thought it could have even used a bit more curry powder, but it was fine with the amount I used. (It was pretty thick, so I added a tiny bit of water to get my desired consistency) I cut up the chicken breasts into bite size pieces and just placed them on top of the simmering sauce to cook with a lid on. They were done in no time, and were perfect - not dry and overcooked like they usually are. While hubby didn't have seconds (he usually doesn't with curry) I really had to restrain myself from them. I'll have seconds for lunch tomorrow and enjoy it just as much I'm sure. I really enjoyed this and will be making it again when I have fresh ginger and cilantro on hand. I'll triple the curry powder and stick with the whole can of coconut milk next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook In Southwest April 05, 2014

Easy and delicious! Just the right amount of spice and sooooo creamy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AvianLass May 26, 2013

Excellent! I used a little less curry for my husband and served with brown rice and warm naan. I will make this dish again. My husband loved it. He said it was the best chicken curry he ever tasted. He was standing over the range waiting on it to finish simmering...lured by the rich fragrance. YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookingCarol0325 January 16, 2013

Fantastic! I did use a few short cuts, such as using the ginger and garlic that comes in a jar and the cilantro that comes in a tube, cut down my chopping time and the food was still super tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RobinOHNCTXUK May 02, 2012

Oh my... yummy! I used yellow curry paste and added about 4 oz of greek yogurt. Other than that I followed your recipe exactly. This was so good. We ate it with Roti Paratha bread for dipping. Added to our favorites! I'm making your jalapeno poppers (which I've made so many times) tomorrow for the Super Bowl too :) Thanks for sharing so many great recipes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeidiSue February 04, 2012

this really is kick-azz good. had to let this be my first review. it really is perfect. Maybe just half the salt, half the curry paste, double the onion and garlic, and a litttle more cayenne, awesome this way !!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
westtexasgonzo September 16, 2011

This is awesome! We loved the flavor and texture the cashews added to it. Thanks for sharing~~We will be making again! :O) UPDATE: Used homegrown tomatoes in this tonight~~wow!! Next time I will use more than what is called for. Their flavor really popped in it! :O) I also used vegetarian Skallops instead of chicken, and it was delish!! Thanks again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SPrins August 26, 2010

This curry is incredible! You could serve this over a tire and people would still ask for more. I used seitan instead of chicken, but that's the only change I made. I will definitely make it again. Fat in this is through the roof but totally worth it. Thanks so much Kelbel!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma August 10, 2010
Chicken Curry With Cashews