Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Curry With Cashews Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Curry With Cashews

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on January 03, 2010

      Perfect! An easy curry that's worthy of the finest Indian restaurants. We didn't have cashews so I used almonds, which worked very well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      I have made this for several years now. It is by far the best creamy curry. The coconut milk is the ultimate to the recipe, I adjust according to the heat I want-more or less curry paste. You have to try this, I give this recipe to everyone who wants to cook a curry.!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2014

      I was pretty free wheeling with this recipe - I doubled the curry powder (I used Madras curry) guesstimated on the other spices, was out of fresh ginger so I used the jar stuff and totally skipped the cilantro, as I was out of that too. Also, I didn't want to waste any coconut milk, so I just poured the whole can in (glad I did too.) I thought it could have even used a bit more curry powder, but it was fine with the amount I used. (It was pretty thick, so I added a tiny bit of water to get my desired consistency) I cut up the chicken breasts into bite size pieces and just placed them on top of the simmering sauce to cook with a lid on. They were done in no time, and were perfect - not dry and overcooked like they usually are. While hubby didn't have seconds (he usually doesn't with curry) I really had to restrain myself from them. I'll have seconds for lunch tomorrow and enjoy it just as much I'm sure. I really enjoyed this and will be making it again when I have fresh ginger and cilantro on hand. I'll triple the curry powder and stick with the whole can of coconut milk next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2013

      Easy and delicious! Just the right amount of spice and sooooo creamy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2013

      Excellent! I used a little less curry for my husband and served with brown rice and warm naan. I will make this dish again. My husband loved it. He said it was the best chicken curry he ever tasted. He was standing over the range waiting on it to finish simmering...lured by the rich fragrance. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2012

      Fantastic! I did use a few short cuts, such as using the ginger and garlic that comes in a jar and the cilantro that comes in a tube, cut down my chopping time and the food was still super tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2012

      Oh my... yummy! I used yellow curry paste and added about 4 oz of greek yogurt. Other than that I followed your recipe exactly. This was so good. We ate it with Roti Paratha bread for dipping. Added to our favorites! I'm making your jalapeno poppers (which I've made so many times) tomorrow for the Super Bowl too :) Thanks for sharing so many great recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2011

      this really is kick-azz good. had to let this be my first review. it really is perfect. Maybe just half the salt, half the curry paste, double the onion and garlic, and a litttle more cayenne, awesome this way !!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2010

      This is awesome! We loved the flavor and texture the cashews added to it. Thanks for sharing~~We will be making again! :O) UPDATE: Used homegrown tomatoes in this tonight~~wow!! Next time I will use more than what is called for. Their flavor really popped in it! :O) I also used vegetarian Skallops instead of chicken, and it was delish!! Thanks again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2010

      This curry is incredible! You could serve this over a tire and people would still ask for more. I used seitan instead of chicken, but that's the only change I made. I will definitely make it again. Fat in this is through the roof but totally worth it. Thanks so much Kelbel!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      My favorite curry dish. I don't change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      Made a vegan version with seitan as the "chicken," Earth Balance as the butter, and Rotel tomatoes with cilantro. Wow. Stunningly flavorful curry, and super-duper simple. We're also on a no-saturated-fat plan here, so the coconut milk gave way to a little coconut extract, water, and corn starch. Next time, I'm going to try canned coconut water (from the Asian grocery store -- or Food4Less) with corn starch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      Amazing! I omitted the cayenne because my kids don't like spicy food, but I added some red pepper flakes to mine. I don't need to visit an Indian restaurant anymore, this hits the spot when I crave Indian food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2008

      I have a new favorite! This is sooooooo good. I followed the directions precisely and found that it wasn't too spicy. Leftovers taste even better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2008

      This was great. My husband loved it and even after dinner was trying to get the last bits of sauce out of the pan with a piece of naan! I don't use coconut milk, so I substituted rice milk sweetened with a bit of coconut extract. I also omitted the cashews, but even with those substitutions it was a great meal. Served with naan and curried cauliflower.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2007

      What a great chicken curry! I used only four breasts and about half the butter, but kept all the other ingredients he same for a rich, flavourful sauce. I loved the addition of the cashews to thicken the sauce. I may halve the coconut milk next time as well, just a personal preference. Served with curried chickpeas (Chickpea Curry (Garbanzos)) as a side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2007

      this was fantastic, and I loved the texture that the ground cashews brought to the sauce. I didn't think it was very spicy though, so next time I will kick it up with more heat! thanks for a great recipe --

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2007

      This curry is brilliant. I have it cooking right now. I have cooked this many times since I first found this recipe and each time a success. The 3 tablespoons of curry powder work and dont make the recipe extremely spicy - for my family anyway!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2007

      WOW. Yummy! Definitely the best curry dish I have tried. I made the recipe as written except I cut the salt in half, and the cayenne even more than half (because I'm a wuss about spicy stuff...)Served it over coconut rice, and it was absolutely wonderful. Thanks for a keeper, Kelbel.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2007

      Tried this the other night. It was OUTSTANDING!!! Good enough for a dinner party!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Curry With Cashews

    Serving Size: 1 (377 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 575.9
     
    Calories from Fat 377
    65%
    Total Fat 41.9 g
    64%
    Saturated Fat 21.8 g
    109%
    Cholesterol 145.0 mg
    48%
    Sodium 1465.2 mg
    61%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.4 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    17%
    Sugars 5.3 g
    21%
    Protein 34.3 g
    68%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes