Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Curry Soup with Coconut and Lime Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Curry Soup with Coconut and Lime

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on November 07, 2009

      Recipe was good but it felt like it was missing something, can't really figure out what it is though. Also, made it twice, second time we added another can of coconut milk which made it better, but it was still missing something.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2003

      Imade the soup with just one minor change; I used 1 1/2 cans of fat free reduced sodium chicken broth. My wife, who does not like curry dishes had two bowls. Need I say more?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2014

      Made this for dinner the other night and it was good, but we all thought it needed more salt. Easy fix, we will continue to make this, DD thought it would be good with shrimp in place of chicken too. thank you for sharing with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2013

      Added a bit of lemongrass paste and this was amazing. Might try it with Thai fragrant rice next time, instead of the usual rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2013

      What a quick and easy recipe!
      I love anything with curry and a great soup. There are times when a recipe state it's a quick one and end up being one that twice the stated time.
      One thing that I always do prior to preparing a new recipe is to read all the previous reviews. I followed quite a few suggestions by other reviewers. I increased the curry to 1 tablespoon, added 2 tablespoons of fish sauce, 1 tablespoon of garlic and 1/2 tablespoon of red pepper.
      It was so good that my only regret was not making extra!
      I will be making this recipe quite often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2012

      Awesome! It's easy, requires minimal ingredients that I usually have in the frig, and only took 12 minutes to make! I added 1/4 tsp cumin to give it more body and lime zest to bring out the lime zing. Thanks for this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2010

      I had placed the remainder of the chicken we had last night into the crock pot along with two 32oz Thai Coconut Curry Broth packs. After de-boning this AM, I found this recipe and added all but the broth & chicken as written. Added some carrots and peas as well to give it some color. Soup came out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      I made this last week (my first time making coconut curry) and it was absolutely delicious! I used lite coconut milk and low sodium chicken broth, both from Trader Joe's. I also used shrimp instead of chicken. I can't remember if I added more curry powder (I think I did), or if I added fresh garlic (I don't think I did, but just not sure). Will have to experiment next time to find out. In the meantime, this is definitely a keeper. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      We really like this! The only alterations I made were to use vege-chicken (FriChik) instead of "real" chicken. Thanks so much for sharing!! :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      I really wanted to like this, but it was just disappointing. It was too bland, even with changes. I used only 2 chicken breasts, as four seemed like a lot. I also used lemon instead of lime because that was all I could get, and I added a head of broccoli. I ended up using about 2 tbsp of curry powder, which gave it a nice color but it was still bland. I even added cumin like other viewers said, but the only thing that could save it was to add a LOT more lemon juice. Maybe I will make this again, but I would have to add a lot of things.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2009

      This is fantastic. I have made this following the original recipe and then made it a second time by adding an additional can of (lite) coconut milk. I doubled the amount of rice the second time and added a tablespoon of fish sauce (along with a sprinkling of red pepper flakes) and I would say my second attempt is what I'm actually giving 5 stars. Great depth of flavor and a little extra heat made this very special. Also, with the second attempt divided into 5 servings (and using the lite coconut milk) clocks in at 460 calories per serving and 12 grams of fat. Not a bad lunch at all! This was also very simple to make...will definitely put on regular rotation. I think this is better than my fave Thom Kha from the local Thai restaurant!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      This is super easy and delicious too. I didn't have any jalapenos so I used about 1 tablespoon of hot chile paste. Otherwise I followed it as stated. Really good with a nice bite to it. Would be great if you have a sore throat!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2009

      I absolutely adore Thai cuisine, so I was excited to come across this recipe. It really is a very easy, flavorful soup, and definitely a great change of pace from the usual chicken soup. I scaled this down to two servings; taking the cue from other reviewers who remarked that there wasn't enough sauce, I kept all of the other ingredients AS IS (including the rice), and simply reduced the amount of chicken by half. This worked out beautifully, yielding just the right ratio of liquid to meat. Other than that, the only changes I made were 1) NOT seeding the pepper (I wanted the heat). and 2) adding a teaspoon of minced garlic to the coconut milk mixture, since we love garlic in our house and it's such a common ingredient in Thai cooking anyway. Even with those changes, the soup still seemed to be missing that certain something that would make it taste truly Thai... I think a small amount of fish sauce would really work wonders for this soup and put it over the top! I may also cut the lime juice down by half, as it seemed to overpower the coconut and curry flavors. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      This was delicious & very easy. I followed the recipe as written. Next time I might double the sauce, as there was a lot of chicken, but not much sauce. I also may consider adding some curry paste, as the curry flavor did not quite come through as I'd hoped. I really enjoyed eating this over rice and will definitely make it again. My husband loved it though he thought it tasted Mexican instead of Thai. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      REALLY great recipe. I doubled the sauce as suggested by another review. I also had a sweet potato I needed to use so I cut it up and put it in the soup. For me, curry needs to be a little sweeter than with just unsweetened coconut milk, so I added a tablespoon of brown sugar. I put the chicken breasts in the crock pot before I went to work so this was super easy to thow together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      Delicious! We added some oyster mushrooms and some bamboo shoots and it was really yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      Excellent for a quick meal. I added some mushrooms and a little fish sauce just because I can't help myself LOL! I give this soup 5 stars and I am making it again tonight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2006

      This is wonderful soup! I used sliced jalapenos from the jar and it gave it a nice spicy kick. I also doubled the broth amount to stretch it out more and it was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2005

      Very similar to the chicken coconut soup at one of our fav Thai places. I used green curry paste so it was pretty warm. Next time (for a xmas eve soup party) we are going to experiment by adding some veggies (carrots,peapods, bamboo shoots?). Very light, great tasting soup! Easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2005

      This soup was excellent. My husband just gobbled it up. I used hot, hot curry powder - as we like very spicy dishes and also added some bamboo shouts just before serving. I ladled the soup over left-over rice mixed with left-over boiled potatoes. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Curry Soup with Coconut and Lime

    Serving Size: 1 (402 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 414.5
     
    Calories from Fat 225
    54%
    Total Fat 25.0 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 19.6 g
    98%
    Cholesterol 75.5 mg
    25%
    Sodium 182.7 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.1 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 30.5 g
    61%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes