169 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Lovely! This was hot enough for us :) Had to use sultanas as I didn't have raisins, but it was beautiful. I cooked it for a lot longer than 20 mins and just kept adding water to stop the sauce getting to thick. Will be making again :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
redcrystal September 24, 2012

This is a decent curry, especially for how quick and easy it is to make. It is better to double the amount of curry powder though, and even then the flavors aren't as strong as in your usual curry. Ultimately, I'm going to stick with my favorite curry recipes even though the cooking times are longer, but this recipe is a great option for people who are strapped for time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpgaymer September 17, 2012

This is certainly not the typical curry that I am used to but this is still great! I've never cooked curry before as it's very time consuming but after reading all the reviews here, I just have to give this recipe a try. DH who can't stand the smell of curry is also a fan of this dish and that is a major WOW! Thank you very much, Sue!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
7Seven August 09, 2012

Wow, what an awesome recipe! Comes together quickly and easily, and really does taste as good, if not better than anything we've had in a number of Indian restaurants! I also love how the ingredients are surprisingly basic and simple to prepare -- I've spent a lot more time on curries in the past.

I served this yummy curry with jasmine rice made with cumin seeds (cooked easily with the help of my rice cooker), some peas (from frozen), and some Trader Joe's naan. Husband ate so much that he looked like he would explode!

This recipe has immediately been elevated into our rotation of favorite go-to meals. Next time I will probably use about half the amount of cayenne and/or swap in ancho chili powder instead, because it was a bit too spicy for me to enjoy as much as I would like (though my husband thought the spiciness was perfect.)

Thanks for sharing such a mind-blowing recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lotusflwr August 07, 2012

This was the first Indian food I have ever made. It came out pretty good. If I were to make it again I would greatly increase the cayenne pepper, since I like spicy food. Also, there are different types of curry and I would like to try a more spicy one next time. I used dried apricots instead of raisins and they tasted great. Instead of rice I put the chicken over rice noodles.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZJAY June 17, 2012

Thank you Sue for adding such a great recipe. My husband is the curry making king in our house and he loved this one. He was surprised that I knew how to make such a great curry - he has no idea how quick it was to make! ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loopy Eights February 17, 2012

I tried it and it was delicious!! I made it exactly as is. I love the amount heat and will increase the amount of curry next time. I didn't top with yogurt or cilantro - personal taste. But it's definitely a keeper! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ITRIEDIT February 17, 2012

Wow, this is really good. I wasn't sure about a curry dish but its so good. I made just as written except used regular raisins (what I had on hand). We loved it, it was just the right amount of heat. Thank you for introducing me to a new flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour February 02, 2012
Chicken Curry in a Hurry