12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What a wonderful and so easy recipe to use. I have tryed the canned chicken in the past but this seems to be much better. I also used seasoned bread crumbs and this recipe turned out great. My brother would love to have these over and over..Plus +++ they are very good for freezing..yes we did it and all worked out great. Thank You so very much for new and better ideas for making my brother his chicken croquettes..Hugs

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Braunda August 26, 2007

Not bad, especially if you don't have a lot of chicken leftover. I think it could use more seasoning though. Maybe seasoned breadcrumbs and add some herbs to the chicken mixture.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shasha May 30, 2008

This was my first attempt at croquettes and I'm glad I chose this recipe, it's a winner! I used Seasoned Breadcrumbs for coating and they turned out nice and crispy. Made for Alphabet Soup Game. Thanks for posting Jimijoe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElaineAnn January 09, 2007

What I liked the most was the great crunchy crust it formed! I didn't chill but let the cream sauce cool and then added to chicken mixture (saved some time).In the South, we prefer spicier foods, so next time I'll add poultry seasoning and several dashes of hot sauce. I recommend serving this with a sauce to dip or drizzle over the croquettes...but don't lose that crunch...it was great! Thanks for sharing Jimijoe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Lady December 05, 2005

Absolutely the best recipe for croquettes I have made . I made this with chicken and made my own chicken gravy from scratch to put over the croquettes and DH and I thought we were in heaven. I used half&half milk and added a touch of poultry seasoning for a touch more flavor. I also made my own bread crumbs to roll them in. This is in my books as a keeper! Thanks for sharing this recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha D. April 18, 2005

This one can't be beat. A definite keeper in our house. Thank you! Margie

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margie Brock August 04, 2005

I was looking for something besides chicken salad to make w/ some left over chicken & this caught my eye. The only changes I made were, I used panko as the breading & I added chopped celery tops & poultry seasoning to the onions. I was wanting a Thanksgiving kind of taste. Made a veloute` sauce to go w/ the croquettes, but ended up liking just plain ole ketchup. I enjoyed the meal with a simple salad. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelley52 April 28, 2013

Okay the Red Sox are up 6-0 so I can take some time to review this. I used leftover chicken from Baked Chicken and used Seasoned Breadcrumbs as ElaineAnn suggested. Instead of using a fresh onion I rehydrated Dry Onion Flakes and I also rolled the Croquettes into balls instead of patties-this is how I've seen the prepackaged ones (I got 6 croquette balls:)). This recipe was so simple and came out perfect and yummy to boot! Thanks! GO RED SOX!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Shelby October 27, 2007

We really liked these. I used chicken for them this time and look forward to trying them with tuna or smal shrimp. I will add some mustard and fresh chopped parsley next time. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pets'R'us October 24, 2006

I used ground beef and made my own bread. Came out great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jaybill March 26, 2006
Chicken Croquettes