55 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made this tonight for dinner after I poached a skin-on, bone-in split chicken breast to use for the chicken. It made more than two cups. Quick and easy--the best kind of recipe. I didn't use jalapeno and only put in a scant 1/8 tsp of cayenne, but it still had a mild kick. It got the thumbs up from the kids and from me. Yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loves2Cook! May 20, 2013

I just made it after work. It was very tasty and didn't take very long to have warm satisfying soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
My Sweetie's Sweetheart March 21, 2013

This was a fantastic recipe. Even my husband (who doesn't like chowders)loved it. Definately a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise Garcia January 15, 2012

Just made this last night to use up some roasted chicken and it hit the spot. Creamy goodness all around. I pretty much made it as called for. The Cayenne added quite a kick so if someone doesn't like spicy maybe cut that down a little bit. Pretty much made enough for 4 full meal size servings for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OCMom1 December 12, 2011

Yummy ans sooooo easy! I omitted the jalapeno but tossed in a shot of tobasco instead. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweetslover November 20, 2011

I was looking for a good chowder recipe to use up some fresh sweet corn that I had taken off the ears, and I've got to say that this chowder is fantastic! I, too, used part 1/2 and 1/2 in place of the milk, just because I was getting low on milk. I didn't have jalapenos so I shook in a little of Frank's Hot Sauce. I also used leftover rotisserie chicken instead of raw. I took a cup and a half of the fresh sweet corn and poured in a little of the half&half, gave it a buzz with my stick blender and used it in place of the canned cream corn. I know it sounds like I made alot of changes to the recipe but I think they are minor and I'm sure it would be just as good if it were made exactly as written. Although I think the fresh sweet corn was a plus, that's not always convenient! I did follow the rest of the recipe exactly as written. DH loved it and he's not a soupy kind of guy. When I asked him how many stars he'd give it he said, "four!" before the words were out of my mouth! lol! Next time I'll try to have jalapenos on hand, and I think some fresh cilantro or parsley would work nicely too! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nougat September 09, 2011

Just made this soup! So Yummy! Didn't use jalapeno, but, cheyenne gives it just enough kick. Quick and had all the ingredients on hand. Didn't have cream corn though, so I put a can of corn in blender with juices. Turned out GREAT!! Thank You for the recipe, Derf.Don't know why people make bad comments on recipes and Totally change them. REALLY!! No Chicken:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cfmac_1 January 25, 2011

GREAT recipe! I followed as you wrote it..I did not have Jalapeno pepper so I just deleted it...I doubled the recipe and fed 10 for a friends get togehter..huge hit!! Thanks! I hate when people rate a recipe when they have completely changed it..I stuck to your recipe and it was excellent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
got2believe December 04, 2009

EXCELLENT! I tripled the batch and was a hit in the various parties we attended.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jina November 20, 2009

I added some green and red pepper to this recipe, since I left out the chicken, and it turned out WAY too sweet...something like vanilla pudding with veggies. Ick. Sadly, it went straight to the garbage disposal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kmm0630 October 25, 2009
Chicken Corn Chowder - Quick