Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Corn Chowder - Quick Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Corn Chowder - Quick

    Average Rating:

    55 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 55

    Sort by:

    • on July 03, 2002

      Tasty, quick and easy. 3 wonderful words when you haven't got a lot of time. I didnt have any peppers so used a shake of chili flakes. The added cream style corn gives this soup a nice creamy texture and smooth flavour. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      I love me a nice SPICY kick but not good for the kiddos. Its an AWESOME fast recipe!!! For those less heat tolerant, dont use the jalapeno or cayenne. I also used skim milk instead of 2% and the soup was still freaking fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      I made this for DD so I left out the jalapeno, but I'll have to try with it too. I used frozen corn and I mashed it for my DD's benefit. Thanks for sharing and I can't wait to try it with fresh corn.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      I was following the recipe, so I thought, until I realized I had added garlic and garlic salt to the chowder. There isn't any garlic in the recipe! I had a slight panic attack, but kept going, following the recipe's directions. In the end, even with my mistake, my family enjoyed the chowder. I will make this again. This time without the garlic.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2009

      This a terrific chowder. I used a little bit of hot sauce instead of the jalapeno pepper and I substituted half & half for 1/2 of the milk (1 1/2 cup skim milk and 1 1/2 cups half & half). I used 2 cups of shredded chicken (breast and thigh meat). The result was super delicious meal that was very easy to make. I served it with Southern Buttermilk Biscuits and will definitely make again ~ thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      This is an easy, comforting, hearty soup that is going to become one of my "soup staples". Terrific recipe! I used whole milk to give it a creamy mouth feel and was thrilled with the results.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      This is a good one! I was a little too heavy with the cayenne pepper so it was quite spicy, but that was my fault. This has a great flavor! I omitted the chicken and used 1/2 2% milk and 1/2 fat-free half & half. I'll definitely make this one again - thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      I love this recipe! Very quick and easy to make and tastes better than canned chicken corn chowder. I did a few things different..I used nonfat milk, omitted the jalapeno and instead put a few drops of tabasco sauce in and I added about a 1/2 cup cheddar cheese to thicken it up a little more. The flavor is so yummy and this is actually pretty healthy for you! Thanks for this wonderful recipe Derf!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2007

      Quite tasty. Came together really fast and easy. I too used tabasco instead of jalapeno, since I usually have some kicking around.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2014

      I made this yesterday evening and it was a HUGE hit! I did not have corn kernels, so I added the creamed corn and a tin of chopped white asparagus spears instead and it worked brilliantly too. I also used full-cream milk, but other than that I basically stuck to the recipe. Definitely a keeper for me. My husband and son were still raving about it this morning :-D I served it with a beer herbed & garlic bread which just finished it off. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2013

      Made this tonight for dinner after I poached a skin-on, bone-in split chicken breast to use for the chicken. It made more than two cups. Quick and easy--the best kind of recipe. I didn't use jalapeno and only put in a scant 1/8 tsp of cayenne, but it still had a mild kick. It got the thumbs up from the kids and from me. Yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2013

      I just made it after work. It was very tasty and didn't take very long to have warm satisfying soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2012

      This was a fantastic recipe. Even my husband (who doesn't like chowders)loved it. Definately a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2011

      Just made this last night to use up some roasted chicken and it hit the spot. Creamy goodness all around. I pretty much made it as called for. The Cayenne added quite a kick so if someone doesn't like spicy maybe cut that down a little bit. Pretty much made enough for 4 full meal size servings for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2011

      Yummy ans sooooo easy! I omitted the jalapeno but tossed in a shot of tobasco instead. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2011

      I was looking for a good chowder recipe to use up some fresh sweet corn that I had taken off the ears, and I've got to say that this chowder is fantastic! I, too, used part 1/2 and 1/2 in place of the milk, just because I was getting low on milk. I didn't have jalapenos so I shook in a little of Frank's Hot Sauce. I also used leftover rotisserie chicken instead of raw. I took a cup and a half of the fresh sweet corn and poured in a little of the half&half, gave it a buzz with my stick blender and used it in place of the canned cream corn. I know it sounds like I made alot of changes to the recipe but I think they are minor and I'm sure it would be just as good if it were made exactly as written. Although I think the fresh sweet corn was a plus, that's not always convenient! I did follow the rest of the recipe exactly as written. DH loved it and he's not a soupy kind of guy. When I asked him how many stars he'd give it he said, "four!" before the words were out of my mouth! lol! Next time I'll try to have jalapenos on hand, and I think some fresh cilantro or parsley would work nicely too! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2011

      Just made this soup! So Yummy! Didn't use jalapeno, but, cheyenne gives it just enough kick. Quick and had all the ingredients on hand. Didn't have cream corn though, so I put a can of corn in blender with juices. Turned out GREAT!! Thank You for the recipe, Derf.Don't know why people make bad comments on recipes and Totally change them. REALLY!! No Chicken:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2009

      GREAT recipe! I followed as you wrote it..I did not have Jalapeno pepper so I just deleted it...I doubled the recipe and fed 10 for a friends get togehter..huge hit!! Thanks! I hate when people rate a recipe when they have completely changed it..I stuck to your recipe and it was excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2009

      EXCELLENT! I tripled the batch and was a hit in the various parties we attended.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      I added some green and red pepper to this recipe, since I left out the chicken, and it turned out WAY too sweet...something like vanilla pudding with veggies. Ick. Sadly, it went straight to the garbage disposal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Corn Chowder - Quick

    Serving Size: 1 (248 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 189.8
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    33%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 4.1 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 19.9 mg
    6%
    Sodium 347.6 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.1 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 11.1 g
    44%
    Protein 6.8 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    boneless skinless chicken breasts

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes