Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Cordon Bleu Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Cordon Bleu

    Average Rating:

    164 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 164

    Sort by:

    • on February 13, 2003

      Wonderful meal. I have prepared this meal three different times with the same result, amazing. The only thing I changed after the first time was to reduce the butter by 1/3. The sauce is what puts it over the top. It is easy to make and the directions say it all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2011

      YUM - we enjoyed this recipe very much! The sauce is so good. I had a few mushrooms on hand that I needed to use up so I sauteed them and added to the sauce. I used the suggestion of folding the chicken over like a clam and that worked well, sealing with toothpicks. Thanks for sharing this on FB - it definitely got me to try it and I'm sure it will be made again and again...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2011

      My husband and kids love this! I have made it a couple times and the only thing I think I should be noted is how to seal the chicken. The first time I rolled the breast up like a spiral and had trouble with the inside not being cooked. So now I just fold it like a clam. MUCH easier and it looked prettier because the filling stayed inside.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2011

      Change the name to Deluxe Chicken Cordon Bleu, that cream sauce takes it through the roof, though for 4 chicken breasts (with an average weight of 300grams each) the cooking times were perfect though I did use 5 tablespoons of butter and 1 tablespoon of oil as I was worried about the butter burning with the cooking time. The other change I made was that I hate beating out chicken breasts (usually end with a mangled mess and when I roll chicken that isn't a mangled mess it is not much better - looks terrible) so I just slit the breast and stuff it with said ingrediants and it works well for me. I also added some paprika to the finished dish and poured some of the cream over the vegies (after I took the pic), that said a delicious different cordon bleu chicken from the usual bread crumbs but would only serve occassionly as it is so rich especially in the fats, also please note I used only 4 chicken breasts but used the full recipe and will cut back as even with putting the sauce over vegies I still had heaps left over, so for 4 would do 4 tablespoons of butter with 1/2 to 3/4 tablespoon of butter and only 1/2 to 3/4 cup or cream (maybe even using lightened cream or evaporated lightened cream to cut the fat content down - under consideration). Thank you By Bev for a great recipe and StacyMD187373 for the recommendation, made for I Recommend Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2011

      Very rich, but absolutely wonderful. I had to slice my chicken breasts horizontally to thin them (they were VERY thick before pounding); assembled, then dipped in egg and bread crumbs (I really think the bread crumbs add to the chicken), then browned the chicken and added the liquid. The finishing sauce really made the dish--I doubled it, and it broke my heart to throw away the little bit of leftover sauce! Thank you, thank you, thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2010

      Fantastic! It was pretty quick to make and the sauce was delicious. I even subbed skim milk for the cream and it still worked. I had a little trouble keeping the cheese inside the bundle, but since it went into the sauce, it really wasn't too big of a deal. I will make again; thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      This is really good. I've made it several times now. The main change I make is to use prosciutto and provolone instead of ham and Swiss. Now, if only I could master the art of folding the chicken so the bundles don't look like voodoo dolls or porcupines. Fortunately, the excellent flavor more than makes up for the lack of pretty presentation. :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      I have this recipe in one of my cookbooks and it is the BOMB! I don't change anything about it. I like to serve it with parmesan noodles. I am making it tonight for my son and daughter-in-law. Jared has been bugging me for months to make it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2003

      This is just a great recipe. I wouldn't change a thing which is rare for me. The sauce indeed puts it over the top. Quick, easy, no fuss dinner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2014

      Excellent, wouldn't change a thing. Go with the suggestion to fold like a clam & secure with toothpick; also slice the breasts horizontally so they're not so thick & cook through. I didn't have heavy cream, but used half & half with great results. I had a lot of sauce, so I boiled a pot Mostaccioli rigaiti (tubed shaped pasta with ridges) & topped with the extra sauce & stirred in some cooked, wilted baby spinach leaves.<br/>This is a perfect romantic dinner or dinner guests meal. We had dark chocolate frosted brownies for dessert. If you're going to go, go big! BTW, kids loved it all too, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2014

      I have a tough audience between my picky hubby and teenage son. HOWEVER, this is wonderful and it isn't complicated. I was able to make it on a work day and eat before 7:00. The sauce thickens to a nice gravy. Both my son and husband were very complimentary and gave 5 stars (quite unusual for this pair). Left overs were even better over butter noodles. The only change I made was exchanging broth for the wine. I suggest making a double batch for a family of four. It goes quickly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2013

      MMMMM! This is the bomb!!!! My husband and daughter both approve. I serve mine with rice on the side. The sauce goes well with the rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2013

      Loved this but didn't care much for the swiss cheese,it stood out too much.so the 2cnd time I used Muenster which we liked better,the taste was more balanced.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2013

      Wonderful, fantastic taste, I used more chicken stock since I don't like wine much. Interesting since it wasn't breaded, I liked how caramelized it got, added a lot of flavor. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2012

      I am not giving any stars because my chicken was so dry as to be almost inedible. So bummed because it looked so good, and the sauce was great! 30 mn. cooking time is much too long, even at a low simmer. Made for I RECOMMEND 2012

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2012

    • on August 23, 2012

      Great flavor. I cooked it in my electric dutch oven at 200 and it took the same amount of time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2012

      Great flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2012

    • on February 15, 2012

      Amazing! I made this last night for our family Valentine's Day dinner. Everyone loved it. I did cut down on the butter a bit. For white wine, I had a Riesling open, so I used that and it was yummy. I made some mashed potatoes that went perfect with the yummy sauce. I did double the sauce for that reason. Excellent recipe! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Cordon Bleu

    Serving Size: 1 (252 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 630.9
     
    Calories from Fat 427
    67%
    Total Fat 47.4 g
    73%
    Saturated Fat 25.2 g
    126%
    Cholesterol 203.4 mg
    67%
    Sodium 266.3 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.5 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 39.1 g
    78%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ham

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites