30 Reviews

Couldn't get the chicken to flatten as directed. I think it would be easier to just cut the side of the breast and stuff with ingredients. Seal with a toothpick, and coat as directed. Good taste thou.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RNTIS October 11, 2009

I had to change a few things. First, I used cube steak as I didn't have any chicken on hand. I didn't pound it as it was already quite thin. Next, I didn't have Swiss cheese so I used string cheese from my kid's lunchbox. I didn't have ham so I used spinach instead. Now, I did roll it up as per the recipe, that was great! Finally, I didn't have thyme so I skipped entirely. I decided to cook it on the stove top as my oven was broken. I paired it with tater tots (heated in the microwave) and beef jerky. Possibly the best Chicken Cordon Bleu I've ever had! Just kidding. Make recipe exactly as stated, and it's a wonderful dish! 5 stars, delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mimi Chicago April 03, 2016

This is the best Cordon Bleu recipe I've found. It was delicious. I followed your recipe to the letter and it came out great. Thanks so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rowwdy728 September 01, 2015

This really was as easy as advertised, though my cook time to get the internal temperature to 165 was quite a bit longer. When I flatten chicken breasts, I put them into a gallon ziploc, left unsealed, and whack away. The plastic is stronger than saran, and I seem to tear the meat less frequently. To reheat leftovers, I microwaved for just a minute, and then broiled to get the crumbs crusty again. Next time, I think I'll look for a way to add a bit more flavor, maybe with pricier cured meat or smoked aged cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HopeJohnJP November 20, 2013

So good!! I used thighs instead of breasts and as another reviewer suggested, drizzled butter over top before baking. Wonderful. Served with steamed broccoli and wild rice. My family gave this recipe 10 stars. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wealthave September 07, 2013

No gravy or sauce needed, a simple yet stunning meal served alongside steamed vegies! I used 2 eggs and 2 Tbsp of milk (instead of water). I also omitted the oil and poured into a skillet, I browned the chicken crust for 8 minutes (2 minutes each quarter turn), then transferred to the oven so cook thouroughly for 15-20 minutes. Can also use prosciutto, but thin sliced deli ham is terrific and much less spendy. We tried bacon too and it turned out too "breakfasty"

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dawn2701 May 31, 2012

Good flavor, took a bit of work to get it flattened and rolled up tho. My chicken breasts were really big, so it took about 35 minutes for mine to cook through. Will make again. YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RobinOHNCTXUK April 27, 2011

Quite tasty! I put it together a few hours before company came and then popped in the oven when the timing was right

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugaree January 05, 2010

Very delicious. Easy to prepare, too. When I want to make a special dinner, this recipe is on the list of possibilities. Used Sauce for Chicken Cordon Bleu, Sauce for Chicken Cordon Bleu. I love how crispy the panko makes the outside. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hecky Lardycakes April 12, 2009
Chicken Cordon Bleu