Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Cobbler Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Cobbler

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on June 04, 2010

      This was very easy to put together and cooked perfectly in the 30 minutes. I just made half a recipe for two of us and it was plenty. I had thought it would have a browned top but it turned out more like dumplings and did not brown. I used becel instead of butter, also used cooked brown rice, it worked just fine. We found it quite bland and colourless, for our tastes and if I were to make it again I would add some garlic and some other seasonings to kick it up a bit, with some peas and carrots for colour.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      This was really good. I used regular long grain slow cooking rice made with two chicken boullian cubes added to the cooking water and left over rottisserie chicken, mostly breast meat. I baked it uncovered for forty minutes because it just looked like it could use a little more. The standing time really seemed to make the liquid around the dish into a nice creamy gravy. D.H. really liked it and had two helpings. Myself, I couldn't stay out of it in spite of the salad I'd planned for my own supper. Tasty comfort food. Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      We just finished dinner and this was great. So easy and filling. Total comfort food. I did add 1 cup of mixed vegetables to make it a one dish meal. I will be making this again for sure. Thanks Mandagirl!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2013

      On 4/5/13 I had some leftover chicken I needed to use up, and went on a recipe search.I came across this one and decided to try it. After reading the review by Derf, I decided to add some garlic powder,oregano, salt, and pepper to the rice mixture.But I did have to add about 15 minutes for it to get even slightly browned. Even after adding the mentioned seasonings, both my SO and I thought it could use a bit more flavor.But thank you for posting an easy to make recipe. " Keep Smiling :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      I had some trouble with this recipe. I made it for a potluck I was attending and was running a little behind schedule. The recipe said to bake for 30 minutes, but after 30 minutes, it was still doughy and I had to go to be on time. (There was a meeting before the potluck). I had to leave without my cobbler and leave my DH to take care of it. He cooked it for 10 more minutes and then removed it. We didn't eat it until the next day, and it was a little thick, but very tasty. DH loved it and commented on the flavor. The next day he ate the leftovers for lunch AND dinner. That gives it 5 stars in my book. I also had some trouble with the recipe when it said spoon the chicken/rice mixture into center. My flour and milk mixture was all over the pan and the chicken mixture was runny with 2 cups of broth and tended to run all over the pan. All that said we will have this again because my DH LOVED it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2008

      This will certainly get a place on my monthly rotation! I was skeptical that it would turn out too runny but it magically turns into this fabulous, creamy pot pie dish! My entire family loved it! The only thing I will do differently next time, is just add half the melted butter to the bottom because it just sort of floated to the top and sat there but it still deserved 5 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

      This was a superb dish! Kinda reminds me of a bit of chicken pot pie AND chicken and dumplings, what could go wrong with those two together?! I also added poultry seasonings with some onion powder and black pepper to taste. The entire family enjoyed this one and will be a great comfort food during the fall/winter months. Thank you mandagirl for sharing, this is sure to become a regular at our table!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2007

      Pure comfort food. My first thought was that it would be quite bland, having no spice or seasoning. But I really liked the mild flavor. The casserole is quite liquidy upon removal from the oven, but it thickens up slightly when standing. I will definitely make this again. I may add poultry seasoning to the cobbler portion, and peas and carrots to the chicken portion. Note...my husband doesn't like rice, so I also tried this with ditali pasta, which is very small. It was still very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Cobbler

    Serving Size: 1 (234 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 464.7
     
    Calories from Fat 175
    37%
    Total Fat 19.4 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 10.2 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 91.5 mg
    30%
    Sodium 1320.5 mg
    55%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.1 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 26.4 g
    52%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites