Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Chow Mein or is It Chicken Chop Suey?? Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Chow Mein or is It Chicken Chop Suey??

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on September 13, 2009

      Delicious! I also added mushrooms, fresh sprouts instead of canned, some finely chopped fresh brocolli, garlic powder, ground ginger. And used Wondra in place of flour/cornstarch. Served over white rice, with the crispy noodles on top. Yum! Hubby loved it, too. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      I made this last night and it was outstanding; I changed a few things mostly just added more veggies and one small can of mushrooms and served it over white rice. no matter what you add to this recipe you can't go wrong.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      After trying several recipes, my boyfriend said I finally got it right with this one. I used 4 cup homemade chicken broth and added 1 can drained baby corn, 1 can drained straw mushrooms, 1 4 oz jar of pimiento, and 1 can drained bamboo shoots. Definitely use fresh bean sprouts! Served with rice cooked in chicken broth. Had to freeze the leftovers for another meal, or the boyfriend would have gobbled it all up!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2008

      I added slice of ginger root,soy sauce and 2 smashed garlic cloves to the poaching liquid for the chicken. It really bumped up the flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2008

      I made this last night for supper. I used boneless chicken breasts because that is what I had on hand and I didn't have the cabbage, I forgot to pick it up at the store and wasn't going back. I used about 1 1/2 cups of broth and I found that was still way too much. Next time alot less broth/water. But otherwise very quick and easy to make and the flavour was good. As well I prefer more crunch so as some have done I will add some carrots and fresh bean sprouts. But on the whole it turned out well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2006

      Well.... this was yummy... I added a few things and they worked out fine. I sauteed the onions and celery with some sliced mushrooms, carrots, cauliflower and chopped garlic. Then added the scallions and cabbage. I had poached the chicken so I used the stock from that which came to two cups and added a cup of water and a teaspoon of chicken bullion. I added that and the chicken, bean sprouts, chestnuts and a can of baby corn. (I guess I wanted to get a weeks worth of veggies in there lol) For the sauce I used 1/4 cup soy sauce and 1/4 cup Ketjap Manis Ketjap Manis by SilenCricket. It has molasses and soy sauce in it and I always keep some on hand. Anyway, it was excellent and I thank you for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2012

      I had a small head of cabbage and a good amount of bok choy left over from a previous recipe that needed using up. I chose this recipe because it most closely matched my ingredients. I put it together a little differently by using meat tenderizer on the chicken, cutting it into small bits and then stir-frying. Once it was nicely done and browned, I removed the chicken, added a bit more olive oil to my skillet and then added the cabbage, bok choy and onion and stir-fried until it was browned and tender-crisp. I dumped in a can of drained chop suey vegetables, a cup of canned chicken broth, along with the meat, and stirred it all up. For the sauce, I used the molasses, soy-sauce and 2 tablespoons of cornstarch and dissolved it in a small bit of cold water. After the sauce was thickened, I finished it with a very generous (my arm slipped) dose of garlic oil. It turned out fantastic!!!! I could not have been more pleased, it looked like a restaurant-quality dish. It tasted as delicious as it looked! Of course, I used chow mein noodles, because anything else would have been just wrong. Aroostook, I hope you don't mind the liberties I took. I'm sure your mother, as mine, would want all those veggies used up! I will definitely make this dish again! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2011

      Husband LOVED it. Said it reminded him of what he had as a kid - only MUCH better and MUCH fresher. Will make a again. Served over white rice - lots of juice, which made it kind of like a soup - which we liked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      This was excellent, will definately make again! My kids love it (They choose to go out for Chinese over Mc'D's anyday). I also added a can of baby corn. And somehow, if there are any leftovers, they taste better the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

      This is amazing! Just like I remember it when my mom used to make it when I was a kid. I used beef instead of chicken and it was great! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2010

      I'll make this again. Also thought the sauce was going to be a bit much but it was very good. Was called away after several hours of cooking and had to put it aside for a couple days. Boy that really brought the flavors together. Very Good! Will add a touch more cornstarch next time for a little thicker sauce

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2010

      Loved it! I too, left out the cabbage. However, I added fresh sprouts, mushrooms, garlic and fresh ginger (grated)! I pan fried chunk-ed chicken as this was faster and more convenient. This is so going to be my go to recipe for chow mein! I didn't want to use the sauce cause it seemed so dark and heavy but WOW it was great! Overall, this rocked and I'm keeping it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2010

      I used two cloves of garlic, crushed, with the onion. I also added a piece of fresh ginger and removed it before I added the sprouts. I used fresh sprouts. The sauce was good, but after I added fresh sprouts, they really took over and you couldn't taste the shoyu/sugar mixture, so next time I would use less. I also added a carrot for color. served on brown jasmine rice with crispy won ton noodles. My 1 year old LOVED this dish!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      Too much broth and too salty for my family

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      Me and my kids really enjoyed this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      This is a good one! Most of my kids enjoyed it....mostly because I added the baby corn as well as the other veges listed. I used fresh bean sprouts instead of canned. It was a bit salty for me, so next time I might try reduced sodium soy sauce. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2009

    • on August 07, 2009

      I made this last night and it tasted just as good as the Chinese place we order from and ti was simple to follow and make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2009

      The kids and I liked it. It reminded us of the chow mein from one of our favorite restaurants.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      Amazing recipe thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Chow Mein or is It Chicken Chop Suey??

    Serving Size: 1 (388 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 197.8
     
    Calories from Fat 33
    16%
    Total Fat 3.7 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 25.1 mg
    8%
    Sodium 1431.0 mg
    59%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.9 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    16%
    Sugars 12.6 g
    50%
    Protein 14.7 g
    29%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites