8 Reviews

This is exactly the chow mein recipe I was looking for. It was delicious and easy as pie to make. Great for when you don't want a complicated dinner. I served it on crunchy noodles and made some fried rice. I will definitely make this again. Next time I will use fresh bean sprouts as I didn't like the canned taste, and they are so readily available in my area. I also didn't have Accent, and it was still yummy. This is my first recipe/review on Zaar. So far so good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brian's Girl September 19, 2003

I don't like mushrooms so I left them out. This is a keeper. I also doubled the cornstarch. yum! Oh, and added salt/pepper and a clove of fresh minced garlic

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvtocook99 June 04, 2010

I substituted red pepper for the mushrooms and it was excellant. Rice and crispy asian noodles were a great texture combo. I doubled the cornstarch for better consistency.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tautgy August 19, 2009

I agree with Ginny Sue this recipe has great ingredients but it lacks flavor. Probably because I would never use Accent in any recipe due to my allergy as well. I added soya sauce as well but it still needs tweeking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chefwendel February 10, 2009

I liked the combination of ingredients in this recipe but knew it would be too bland for us without soy sauce or stir-fry sauce. So I made Basic Stir Fry Marinade by Penzeys and added it with the cornstarch mixture. I served this over steamed white rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Sue March 16, 2008

I made this tonight. It was good, but lacked flavor. I think it was because I didn't add Accent. (I am very allergic to msg) SoI added soy sauce and some chopped anaheim peppers to the stir fry. My husband ate three platefulls and really enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing ! Also, I served this with rice and chinese noodles. Update: just noticed I forgot the stars in my review. Hope everyone will realize it was enjoyed by all my family.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
donnie27 December 05, 2006

I like this recipe. I added to it a bit to my family's taste. First of all, I doubled it. I sauteed 4 cloves of finely minced garlic in sesame oil to sautee the vegies. I used about 3/4 pound of fresh bean sprouts because I don't like the canned. I had about 1/2 cup sugar snap peas from the garden, and I used about 1/2 of a red bell pepper for color. I used twice-plus the water-cornstarch mixtue to please my family's taste for thickness of the sauce. This is obviously a wonderful recipe that can be fiddled with to the cook's taste. Love it! Serve with Shortcut Sticky Rice # 105013. Nummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef PotPie August 08, 2005

This was wonderful. I did not add water chestnuts. I didn't have Accent either. However, my family was crazy about this recipe. Even my son who does'nt care too much for chow mein loved it. I have three men in my house so I tripled the recipe and it was still wonderful

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janet103 January 09, 2004
Chicken Chow Mein