Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Chow Mein Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Chow Mein

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on September 19, 2003

      This is exactly the chow mein recipe I was looking for. It was delicious and easy as pie to make. Great for when you don't want a complicated dinner. I served it on crunchy noodles and made some fried rice. I will definitely make this again. Next time I will use fresh bean sprouts as I didn't like the canned taste, and they are so readily available in my area. I also didn't have Accent, and it was still yummy. This is my first recipe/review on Zaar. So far so good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2010

      I don't like mushrooms so I left them out. This is a keeper. I also doubled the cornstarch. yum! Oh, and added salt/pepper and a clove of fresh minced garlic

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      I substituted red pepper for the mushrooms and it was excellant. Rice and crispy asian noodles were a great texture combo. I doubled the cornstarch for better consistency.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      I agree with Ginny Sue this recipe has great ingredients but it lacks flavor. Probably because I would never use Accent in any recipe due to my allergy as well. I added soya sauce as well but it still needs tweeking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      I liked the combination of ingredients in this recipe but knew it would be too bland for us without soy sauce or stir-fry sauce. So I made Basic Stir Fry Marinade by Penzeys and added it with the cornstarch mixture. I served this over steamed white rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2006

      I made this tonight. It was good, but lacked flavor. I think it was because I didn't add Accent. (I am very allergic to msg) SoI added soy sauce and some chopped anaheim peppers to the stir fry. My husband ate three platefulls and really enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing ! Also, I served this with rice and chinese noodles. Update: just noticed I forgot the stars in my review. Hope everyone will realize it was enjoyed by all my family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2005

      I like this recipe. I added to it a bit to my family's taste. First of all, I doubled it. I sauteed 4 cloves of finely minced garlic in sesame oil to sautee the vegies. I used about 3/4 pound of fresh bean sprouts because I don't like the canned. I had about 1/2 cup sugar snap peas from the garden, and I used about 1/2 of a red bell pepper for color. I used twice-plus the water-cornstarch mixtue to please my family's taste for thickness of the sauce. This is obviously a wonderful recipe that can be fiddled with to the cook's taste. Love it! Serve with Shortcut Sticky Rice # 105013. Nummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2004

      This was wonderful. I did not add water chestnuts. I didn't have Accent either. However, my family was crazy about this recipe. Even my son who does'nt care too much for chow mein loved it. I have three men in my house so I tripled the recipe and it was still wonderful

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Chow Mein

    Serving Size: 1 (220 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 151.0
     
    Calories from Fat 70
    46%
    Total Fat 7.7 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 364.4 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.0 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 7.8 g
    31%
    Protein 6.9 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chicken strips

    Accent seasoning

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes