Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Chipotle Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Chipotle

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on January 21, 2004

      Where should I begin? First it took me months to find a grocery store that sold chipotles, I finally found one 45 min away...I have never made or eaten anything w/chipotles so I was kinda surprised by the pungent smell (is it the pepper or the adobe?) I was a little hesitant about using it, but I continued...btw, I also used reduced fat cream cheese and 1%milk. I also cut the breasts in half lengthwise to maximize penetration of seasonings *tsd* I sprinkled a little cheddar on top as well. Anyways, I did not particulary care for the smokeyness? of the chipotle and would probably use regular jalepenos next time...BUT my DH absolutely loved and devoured his and said "You can make this ANY time!" I served w/yellow rice. Thanks mox!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2003

      This makes the most tender, juicy chicken. We loved it! I used 2 chipotle peppers, and some of the adobo from the can. And I threw in some cumin, too. After simmering the chicken, I sliced it to about 1/2 inch slices, put it in the pan, and poured the sauce over. And while blending the sauce in the blender, I also threw in the garlic that had simmered with the chicken. This can't be any easier, but the results are very good. Thanks mox!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2003

      Well, I cheated a bit .... I got to the market and they didn't have canned chipotles, but they did have a medium-heat chipotle salsa. I used that to taste (maybe 1/2 cup, 3/4 cup?) along w/a small can of diced green chiles. Delicious! I have some left over and I think I'll shred the chicken in the sauce, and eat it over pasta.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2003

      I used boneless, skinless thighs cause that's what I had. Wonderful. I am always looking for ways to use chipotles and this is a good one. I add more garlic and used 4 peppers and about a tablespoon of the adobo from the peppers. I served over rice. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2004

      Awesome Moxie! What an easy way to look like a gourmet chef in like 5 minutes! hehe Dh and I loved this dish, and will be making it again often....The chipotles just about burned my tongue off, but then I used the whole can, with the adobo--that stuff smells soooo good! Just like the smokey paprika I buy in Spain--dh's survived the heat. hehe Thank you so much for a fabulous, and easy recipe, Mox...YOU ROCK! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2003

      Excellent recipe, Dawn! I made the recipe as instructed and then added a green pepper to the onions and garlic. The trio tasted so good spread on top of the chicken. The smokey sauce was creamy and smooth with a nice depth. Visual appeal was lovely with the paprika. Certainly a dish to impress guests. Thanks for posting this keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2003

      Really simple recipe that tastes like you slaved in the kitchen for hours. I used 2 large chipolte's, and I also added the onions and garlic that simmered with the chicken, to the sauce. I cut the chicken into strips before I poured the sauce on. Really tasty, we both really enjoyed this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2003

      Hubby loves spicy food and he LOVED this!!!! The only Chipolte chili's I could find were in Adobe sauce and they worked fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2003

      Excellent! I used 3 large peppers and also used some of the adobo sauce. I can't wait to make it again with potatoes. This one's definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2003

      Oh my is this ever good! I made the recipe just as instructed only with the addition of an extra garlic glove or two. We really enjoyed this one. I served over rice with flour tortillas, avacado and fresh salsa. Yum! Thanks for a new family favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2003

      Absolutely fantastic! Creamy and delicious with a kick from the chipotles. I used four chipotles because we like a little bang and my family raved over this one. I also added a sprinkling of fresh parsley over the finished dish and served this over yellow rice. This is a keeper, moxie...thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2004

      my family all loved this but I did add about 8oz of cheddar to the cream cheese mixture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2004

      Moxie!!! :) OMGoodness, this is so delicious! We slowly added the chili's and tasted as we went along. We added the whole can including the sauce. We are crazy about this dish! As fabulous as it already is, next time I am going to make Mean Chef's Chipotles in Adobo Sauce - Tex Mex "Chipotle's in Adobo Sauce" instead of using canned. I can't imagine this dish getting any better, but ya never know! And you are right, this is virtually effortless to make. DH made a Caesar. It was really nice to 'cool the heat'. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2004

      My husband is a picky eater and he loved this recipe! Very creamy and tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2012

      Original review Feb 17 2005 Very quick,easy and delicious. I was surprised by the consistency of the sauce, I expected it to be juicier, but still the whole family liked it. I served it with rice and cornbread. Update Sept 12, 2012 - I have since made this dish many times and it always gets raves. I usually add extra milk to make it a little moister. I've also found it makes a great casserole by layering cooked rice, cooked chicked chopped up and then adding the sauce over the top and baking - it doesn't hurt to make extra sauce. I've used freshly cooked, leftover, store rotisserie and canned chicken, they all do the job just fine though the canned is a bit too salty for me. I've brought this to potlucks and everyone loves it, especially the guy who like things a little spicy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2011

      I loved it... mine could have used a little more spice, but I won't fault the recipe for that... I loves me some spice. I made this about two weeks ago, and it was a hit with the hubby (who usually shudders at the sight of cream cheese). i'm making it tonight with twice the spice, and I expect it will again not disappoint.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2008

      This was very good. I did do mine a little different. I didnt boil mine, just because it has more flavor if you saute it. I seared the chicken breasts on each side in olive oil and sauted the onions and garlic. I only cooked the chicken about half way, because if you cook the chicken all the way thru then put it back into the oven, it's going to overcook the chicken and make it dry. From there I followed the recipe. The sauce looks very thin when you make it but it sure does thicken up after its cooked. I did only add 2 chilies just because my bf is a wussy when it comes to hot stuff lol. Which he still thought it was too spicy with 2 in it lol. I thought it was nice and smooth with a little spice. Very good, thanks, this is a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2004

      We didn't care for this recipe at all. We do love the flavor of chipotles, just not this particular combo of ingredients. It was very very spicy, even with only adding two chipotles, but that wasn't the main problem. The dish just doesn't have any flavor other than spicy & creamy. I will say that the chicken is really moist and juicy. The only way I could save this recipe and get my family to eat it without throwing it away and was by modifying the recipe. I drained away most of the sauce and added some cumin and chili powder and a couple spoonfuls of salsa to the chicken. I then toasted up some flour tortillas and placed the chicken, some sliced avocado, fresh cilantro, a squeeze of lime and some shredded cojack cheese inside and then rolled up and served with some salsa for dipping. Served this with some spanish rice and that salvaged the dinner for us. I wouldn't be afraid to try this recipe, just keep in mind the ingredients in this dish will yield the taste you get exactly, which is very spicy, slightly smoky cream cheese.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2013

      This was delicious! I used 2 chipotles and a little of the adobo sauce. I didn't boil the chicken at all. I opted to sear the chicken in a saute pan with some onions, cumin, and garlic to get a nice flavor from that and then I finished off the cooking in the oven with the sauce. I used less salt in the sauce than called for. Served with mashed potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2013

      My husband loved the sauce to this. I was daring and did the 4 peppers. It was pretty spice. Served over white rice. I sauted the chicken, onions, and garlic. And then baked all of it in the oven at 350 degrees.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Chipotle

    Serving Size: 1 (334 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 393.3
     
    Calories from Fat 223
    56%
    Total Fat 24.8 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 13.0 g
    65%
    Cholesterol 146.5 mg
    48%
    Sodium 2950.5 mg
    122%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.2 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 31.3 g
    62%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites