Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Chimichangas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Chimichangas

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on March 04, 2003

      This was great! I used black beans rather than refried, to make it a bit healthier, and it went over wonderful! I doubled it, put it in the freezer, and we had it last week for dinner. I only reheated it for 30 minutes (because I had defrosted them) and it was great. Fast easy recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      At first I didn't think this would be that great but I was wrong! As simple as is seems, it was great! I traded the refried beans for black beans but I'm sure that didn't change it much. It was easy, tasted great and my boyfriend loved it! No toppings were needed and we both had seconds!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2004

      This is definately a keeper!! Everyone at the table agreed these were great!! The only change I made was that I used vegetarian refried beans. I wasn't sure about the size of the tortillas so I bought the really big (burrito) ones and a smaller one. First I tried the smaller one and they worked OK, but I decided to switch to the big ones and they worked a lot better. I actually got 11 out of the batch and froze 6 for a later date. Really easy and quick to put together. Thanks Sherri35!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2004

      Sorry to say I didn't get to try it - I had teenagers in the house who all went back for seconds, and all gave it a 5 star rating. It was very easy to prepare. The only change I made was to use Mexican 4 blend cheese instead of the Monterey Jack. Definately a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2004

      Sherri35,Thank you so much for this fast and simple to make recipe,it is a delicious meal,I love Mexican or Southwestern food better than any other and ths was sooooo good.Thanks,Darlene

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2011

      I have made this multiple times and just love the recipe. You can change it up so many different ways.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2011

      Made this for dinner last night. So tasty!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2010

      These were so Delicious! They tasted so much better than the ones you pay so much for at a Mexican restaurant! Next time we will be making them with my husbands homemade salsa! Thanks for such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      Just had your Chimichangas for dinner tonight. I cut the recipe in half because I didn't have enough tortillas. I cooked a turkey yesterday so I used that instead of chicken, couldn't tell the difference. I used Pepper Jack Cheese in 4 of them and Med. Chedder in 2. I ate one with Chedder first and it was good. Then I tried one with the Pepper Jack cheese, and it was Super Good! You had it right all along -- Pepper Jack is where it's at! I put mine on a cookie sheet, brushed with a little butter and baked at 400. They were crisp the way I like them and ready in about 20 minutes. I learned that from Miss Annie's "Oven-Fried Chicken Chimichangas" #28148 (I like hers very much also.) Thank you so much for such a good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      WOW!! These chimichangas are dynomite. I used a medium heat red salsa and followed the recipe to the tee; well, almost, I used a colby/jack cheese instead of the pepper jack only because that's what I had on hand. Having used a medium-heat salsa, it was plenty spicy. Next time I'll be sure to have the pepper jack, but will use a mild salsa with it. My whole family enjoyed these and have already aked for a repeat performance. This made enough so DH can take a couple to work for his lunch tomorrow. Thanks Sherri35 for sharing your super recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2009

      This really IS a great recipe. We have been craving good mexican food since we moved from Texas about 4 years ago!!! This fits the bill. I have already used this recipe twice in the last 2 weeks. Once with chicken and the other time with leftover pork roast - fantastic either way!! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      These were very tasty - and very easy to do. I used chicken from a store rotisserie. I made some rice on the side, but next time, I think I'll add the rice to the inside. Definitely a keeper! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

      I can't believe I haven't reviewed these before now as we've had them several times (and there aren't many recipes that I make over and over). Easy to make and delicious! I usually poach my chicken breasts over the weekend, or when I've got 30 minutes, and keep the shredded meat in the fridge until I make these. Makes putting them together even easier. Thank you so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      We enjoyed these. I made two versions, mild for the kids and spicy for my husband and me. I followed the directions as stated but added green onions. I cooked them on a foil lined cookie sheet and they got a bit crispy on the bottom, but nevertheless, they were still good. My son at his like a burrito and the rest of us used a fork :). DD(7) didn't care for it, too spicy for her. Next time I won't add the salsa into the chicken mixture, rather, I'll just put the salsa on the table and everyone can add it to their liking. Overall a good recipe and one that I will definitely make again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2007

      Really good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2007

      We enjoyed these. I used left over turkey that I shredded and home made salsa and a mexican cheese mix. Very quick and easy meal. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      My husband and I loved these. Great mexican flavor. I used ground turkey instead of chicken, and fat-free refried beans. They came out great! And they freeze really well. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2006

      These are really good! I left out the beans and they were fine--next time I may add some rice instead. I used Crock Pot Chicken Taco Meat for the chicken, and just mixed it with the salsa. We will be making these often. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2005

      These are so yummy! I used a pre-shredded taco blend cheese instead, and put them in the freezer. Now I just take one out, auto-defrost for about 6 minutes, then on high for one minute, turning halfway through. I also think that the taste has improved, with the extra time in the freezer allowing the flavors to blend more. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2005

      Made these over the weekend and everyone raved! Thanks for posting Sherri!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Chimichangas

    Serving Size: 1 (188 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 321.2
     
    Calories from Fat 120
    37%
    Total Fat 13.3 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 6.0 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 58.3 mg
    19%
    Sodium 820.6 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    9%
    Protein 24.7 g
    49%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    taco seasoning mix

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes