Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Chimi Chimies ( Chimichangas ) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Chimi Chimies ( Chimichangas )

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on November 15, 2013

      All of us thought this was very good. After reading the reviews, I decided to replace the tomato sauce with salsa. I thought it gave the kick that some of the other reviewers thought was missing. I used 2 tsp. cumin and I also sprayed them with Pam, as another reviewer suggested. For the chicken breast, I used chopped meat from a purchased rotisserie chicken. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2013

      These were really good.....we added a little extra cumin for personal taste, but apart from that didn't really stray from the recipe.<br/>The butter works well to crisp them up, but if you want to save a few calories, just spray them lightly with oil.<br/>A delightful family dinner, that is as versatile as it is delicious!<br/>Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2013

      What a yummy chimi...I cut the recipe in half...there's just the two of us...I added in some extra spices like others had suggested and I replace the green chili's with minced jalapeno...for the cheese I used a mixed Mexican shredded cheese...I did top them with some sour cream and salsa...quick and easy...loved the added butter for crispness...thanks for posting it...=)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2012

      I used pre-cooked chicken from my freezer and these went together quickly. The kids (ages 5 and 8) both really liked them. The adults felt they lacked a little zing, but I knew that going in, so we just added some hot sauce to ours. Thanks for a quick and easy dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2010

      This was quicka nd easy to get on the table once the chicken was cooked (did earlier in the day). I did add some cheese to the inside of the chimie as well as on top. I like how the tortillas crisp up in the oven so you don't miss the crispy shell you get with frying. Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      Made it again tonight with ground beef this time for a party of ladies. (had it all ready to go in the oven before they arrived.) Turned out Excellent. I did add the jalopenos, hot chili powder, plenty of ground cumin and garlic salt. I added 3/4 cup of beef broth and the 8 oz of tomoato sauce - along with a couple teaspoons of sugar. Cooked it down a bit and filled and rolled the tortillas. You cannot go wrong with this method. Very versatille recipe! 1st comment posted Nov 30,2009 - I first tried this recipe using rotissorie chicken - shredded into a frying pan with a little olive oil. I used jalopenos instead of the chilies, as well as some roasted pablano peppers, along with plenty of cumin and garlic salt. I also added about 1 cup of chicken broth and let it cook down, which made it very moist - We served it along side John's Southwest Corn and Zucchini (With a Kick), and my homemade salsa. The family loved it so much that I made it again in the same week with the ground beef!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      Looking for both easy and a Chimichanga that would have the teenager and his brother think they were at their favorite restaurant made this one a good find! Will be repeats but like one of the previous reviewers will add "extra tomato sauce, sour cream and spice to moisten and jazz things up a bit" Brushing the tortillas with melted butter is a bonus - it does makes for that deep fried taste. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2009

      Yummy! I put salsa, sour cream, diced tomatoes, cilantro, and sliced green onions on top. Nice and crispy. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      Delish! I love the melted cheese on it especially the taste of butter in the tortillas which I brushed inside and out. Served it with Chipotle Guacamole , jalapeno, salsa and later on ate them with refried beans, salsa (again!), sour cream, chopped tomatoes and black olives. Muchas gracias, ole! Made for ZWT5- Zaar Chow Hounds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      We liked these, but found the filling a bit dry and bland. The bland part might have been my fault for using mild green chilies b/c of the kiddos. Definitely worth making again, but i'll add a little extra tomato sauce, sour cream, and spice to moisten the filling and jazz things up a bit. Made for ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      Now I know why these have so many 5 stars, can we say......absolutely delicious! I choose to mix the cheese in with the mixture. I served with sour cream with a few drops of Tabasco sauce, because I just love these chimichangas spicy. This does make a lot so I wrapped a few in aluminum foil and froze them. Thank You and I will make again. Made for team "Cooks With Dirty Faces ZWT5"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      Awesome recipe. My family loved this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2009

      This was easy...I was going away for a few days so I made this for my boys and froze it. I added a touch of Cayenne pepper with the cumin. My boys told me that I could make it anytime again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

      I'm so glad these were baked, not fried. The ingredients were so simple, but the flavor was so good, just like going out to eat. My boyf loved them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2009

      Fantastic!!! I didn't have any chicken on hand, so I made it with ground beef (cooked the beef, onion, and garlic at the same time and skipped using any oil). The texture was fantastic! We put a little taco sauce on top along with everything else and chowed down. Thank you for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      This was an easy and tasty recipe for Chimichangas. The filling was flavorful and they crisped up nicely in the oven. I was glad to find a recipe that didn't call for deep-frying. Thank you Momaphet from a fellow Chic Chef. Made for Zaar World Tour 4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      This recipe is great! We have mexican food often, but I had never made chimichangas before so they were a nice change. We will definitely add them to our menu repertoire. I did add a tsp. of chilli powder, for a little more flavor. Thank you, these are yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2008

      *Made for PAC Spring 2008* These are terrific momaphet! I had 3 very large chicken breasts on hand and that worked out well. My filling was hot so 15 minutes was the perfect amount of time for how crispy we like them. This was a nice hearty lunch on a chilly, windy day. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2007

      I did a little improvising on your original as greenchili's are not a fav around here. But, anything else mexican they do love. I like the added bonus of basting the tortilla w/butter. The crispness was especially tasty. I had to bake it longer than 15 min. as I had prepared my mixture ahead of time and it was cold going into the tortilla. Thanks momaphet!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2007

      I loved this dish. I wasn't expecting them to taste that much like deep fried chimichangas. We like heat in this house, so I cooked the chicken in a crockpot with Mucho Gusto Taco Seasoning Mix to try and get the heat level up. It was perfect for me, but not for the chile heads I live with. I don't think I would make them any hotter though. They can add, DD and I can't take away. {grins} I think next time, I might add some cooked potato chunks, though - there was a lot of chicken! :) Thank you for a lovely dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Chimi Chimies ( Chimichangas )

    Serving Size: 1 (2644 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 655.0
     
    Calories from Fat 270
    41%
    Total Fat 30.0 g
    46%
    Saturated Fat 11.9 g
    59%
    Cholesterol 91.1 mg
    30%
    Sodium 998.2 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 61.3 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 33.2 g
    66%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes