22 Reviews

This was very simple and very good. I used 1 can of rotel because I didn't have just green chilies. I did drain it. I didnt boil my chicken i seasoned and cooked in a skillet with a litlle oil then shredded it. And followed the rest of the recipe. My kids loved it and they are very hard to please. Thank you so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous June 03, 2016

Excellent! I did deviate a bit, adding a touch of dried oregano to the tomato sauce. We went towards the heavy side on the cumin, but cut down on the green chiles and the sour cream (just personal taste). We did use the butter, but instead of baking, I melted a small amount of butter in a large non-stick frying pan and fried them. They turned out super crisp and a beautiful golden brown! Chimi's aren't one of my favorite TexMex items, but I can see making these again - DH loved them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jostlori September 01, 2015

All of us thought this was very good. After reading the reviews, I decided to replace the tomato sauce with salsa. I thought it gave the kick that some of the other reviewers thought was missing. I used 2 tsp. cumin and I also sprayed them with Pam, as another reviewer suggested. For the chicken breast, I used chopped meat from a purchased rotisserie chicken. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookn4mytwins November 15, 2013

These were really good.....we added a little extra cumin for personal taste, but apart from that didn't really stray from the recipe.<br/>The butter works well to crisp them up, but if you want to save a few calories, just spray them lightly with oil.<br/>A delightful family dinner, that is as versatile as it is delicious!<br/>Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo November 13, 2013

What a yummy chimi...I cut the recipe in half...there's just the two of us...I added in some extra spices like others had suggested and I replace the green chili's with minced jalapeno...for the cheese I used a mixed Mexican shredded cheese...I did top them with some sour cream and salsa...quick and easy...loved the added butter for crispness...thanks for posting it...=)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas October 03, 2013

I used pre-cooked chicken from my freezer and these went together quickly. The kids (ages 5 and 8) both really liked them. The adults felt they lacked a little zing, but I knew that going in, so we just added some hot sauce to ours. Thanks for a quick and easy dinner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmyMCGS January 09, 2012

This was quicka nd easy to get on the table once the chicken was cooked (did earlier in the day). I did add some cheese to the inside of the chimie as well as on top. I like how the tortillas crisp up in the oven so you don't miss the crispy shell you get with frying. Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH October 27, 2010

Made it again tonight with ground beef this time for a party of ladies. (had it all ready to go in the oven before they arrived.) Turned out Excellent. I did add the jalopenos, hot chili powder, plenty of ground cumin and garlic salt. I added 3/4 cup of beef broth and the 8 oz of tomoato sauce - along with a couple teaspoons of sugar. Cooked it down a bit and filled and rolled the tortillas. You cannot go wrong with this method. Very versatille recipe! 1st comment posted Nov 30,2009 - I first tried this recipe using rotissorie chicken - shredded into a frying pan with a little olive oil. I used jalopenos instead of the chilies, as well as some roasted pablano peppers, along with plenty of cumin and garlic salt. I also added about 1 cup of chicken broth and let it cook down, which made it very moist - We served it along side John's Southwest Corn and Zucchini (With a Kick), and my homemade salsa. The family loved it so much that I made it again in the same week with the ground beef!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Annie Z December 08, 2009

Looking for both easy and a Chimichanga that would have the teenager and his brother think they were at their favorite restaurant made this one a good find! Will be repeats but like one of the previous reviewers will add "extra tomato sauce, sour cream and spice to moisten and jazz things up a bit" Brushing the tortillas with melted butter is a bonus - it does makes for that deep fried taste. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry September 01, 2009

Yummy! I put salsa, sour cream, diced tomatoes, cilantro, and sliced green onions on top. Nice and crispy. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teddy's Mommy May 29, 2009
Chicken Chimi Chimies ( Chimichangas )