Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Chilaquiles Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Chilaquiles

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on January 18, 2002

      Recently made Quesadillas for the first time so this sounded really good. After I took this out of the oven I added to the top 1/2 sliced green bell pepper,1 chilli, one sliced tomato, a 1/2 cup sliced black olives and then put the sour cream on top. It was divine. Thanks for posting =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2002

      Great way to use up leftover roast beef, also. I will definitely make this again with other leftovers. By the way - the fried tortillas are very tasty just on their own, or dipped in salsa!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2002

      Really yummy! I added scallions on top and served with sour cream. This one is a keeper! I skipped cutting the tortillas into strips and frying them in oil. The first time I made it I did. The second time I made it I just sprayed PAM in the frying pan and lightly browned each tortilla for about 1 minute on each side. Then tore 2 of them into pieces and overlapped them to cover the bottom of the casserole dish. Then I put on the chicken and salsa mixture and then two more torn tortillas then sprinkled on the cheese. The pieces I tore were large - about 3 or 4 inches. So it turned out to be a lot easier doing it that way and less fat by not cooking the strips in oil with almost no difference in taste. Overall a great recipe. Freezes well too :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2002

      Kids devoured it! This one's a keeper. Och, this was right tasty. We had guacamole and tostados alang wae it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2003

      zoyie 2/28/03 a real keeper. added chopped tomatos & sliced black olives and sour cream after taking out of the oven. use leftover beef roast, i am sure it will be just as deliciou with the chicken, will have again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2002

    • on March 05, 2002

      Must beeee delicious... well done with this fantastic idea!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2002

      I wasn't able to eat this myself because of my diet, but my kids adore Mexican food, so I made it for them. They absolutely loved it and made sure that I printed it for my recipe book.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2003

      My family enjoyed this meal. It was easy, I fried the tortilla strips in cooking spray...mkae it alittle better......I only used 3 tortilla 'cuz I had huge ones and that was plenty. I will make this again, but tweek-it to fit my family's taste more. Note: The tortilla strips on the bottom didnt stay crisp, some got soggy...do soemthing different to fix this??

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2003

      This was a delicious way to use up leftover chicken - kind of a Mexican lasagna! I like to follow a recipe exactly - the first time at least - and this was no exception. I too found frying the strips tedious & would adapt Squeaky104's method next time. I would also top with a Cheddar/Monterey Jack combo. Thanx for another good one Mr. Miller!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2013

      I used flour tortillas, left over turkey and mozzarella cheese. The fried tortillas were good just by themselves and will fry up any left over tortillas that are getting old. Since I was going to eat this as a finger food I added some sour cream into the turkey mixture. <br/>This dish was easy to prepare and tasted good. Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      This was really good but I changed/added some ingredients. I cooked the chicken breast with prepackaged taco seasoning and shredded it, then added it back to the pot and threw in a small can (4oz) of green/tomatilla sauce medium heat. I deep fried corn tortillas, put them at the bottom, layered with mixed cheddar and mozzarella cheese, added a layer of black beans, the shredded meat mixture, and more cheese. Baked it until cheese was melted through (15 min) and served garnished with sour cream and pico. Served also with a side salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2007

      This was ok but I think it would have been better if I had seasoned the chicken with cumin or taco seasoning. Made it just as directed and used monterey jack cheese, it just wasn't anything special for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2004

      very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2003

      I love Chilaquilas from the restaurant down the street, this is a fabulous recipe to imitate them. You are right about using up the leftover chicken, it's a great and tasty alternative to our usual chicken salads. We used a green tomatillo sauce instead of a regular salsa, wonderful! I might try this with pork. Thanks Miller!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2003

      Very good! My son (10) & husband, not Mexican food fans, really liked it. I made 2, one for home & one for a get-together as my pot-luck dish. The one I took to the get-together wasn't heated up enough & wasn't a big hit. MAKE SURE YOU SERVE THIS PIPING HOT. Also, I changed the at-home casserole. Instead of salsa, I used one can 14.5 oz. Del Monte diced tomatoes with basil, garlic & oregano. I pureed this in my food processor. Son & hub not big fans of salsa. I also added a can of very-well-drained Green Giant corn kernels. The pot-luck casserole was made according to recipe without corn & with salsa. Also, I used mozzarella for both; next time I would use shredded taco seasoned cheese or monterey jack. The at-home casserole, IMHO, was MUCH better! Delicious! I do like Mexican style food. I used plenty of sour cream & guacamole (along with salsa) on my serving. Not enough leftovers for me! Another comment: frying up the tortilla strips was tedious & time-consuming.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2002

      Made this recipre this weekend and thought it was really good. Quick and easy to make but still full of flavor. Made with a very chunky salsa so I didn't have to add anything extra.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2002

      Just made this one and it was an instant hit with my family...my husband wanted more to take to work and let his employee taste it...but it went fast with the kids...:) I will recommend this recipe to anybody...so quick and yet sooo good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Chilaquiles

    Serving Size: 1 (272 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 792.8
     
    Calories from Fat 373
    47%
    Total Fat 41.4 g
    63%
    Saturated Fat 12.4 g
    62%
    Cholesterol 33.5 mg
    11%
    Sodium 1557.1 mg
    64%
    Total Carbohydrate 82.3 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 5.7 g
    23%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 22.8 g
    45%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chicken

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites