Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Calle Ocho Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Calle Ocho

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on May 12, 2013

      DH enjoyed this a lot, but this didn't wow me: it struck me as a "US Family Style" recipe that gave a nod to Mexican spices but was extremely mild. I had plenty of sauce, but perhaps that was due to the 28-oz can of Marzano plum tomatoes in tomato puree I used instead of tasteless hothouse tomatoes. I think this would be more appetizing with yellow rice. I liked how fast this came together. Made for Please Review My Recipe tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2011

      I liked this, but no one else in my house did. I really do not know why. I doubled the recipe, so I cooked the chicken in 2 batches. I had plenty of liquid in mine (despite the review that Teresa S gave) but that might have been because my pan was more crowded. Because I expected less sauce, I made Microwave Risotto with this. It would have been better with plain rice, which I would serve next time (at least if I doubled the recipe again).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2011

      This came out out really nice! We had some tomatoes to use up and this was a great way to do it. I ended up cooking the onions for about 10 mins and also added a little white wine as Chef Jayeff suggested, just for more liquid. Thanks for posting this yummy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2011

      We had such high hopes for this recipe. Both DH and I thought it was not only lacking in flavor but it was totally on the dry side. I would suggest serving it with a flavor rice on the side, instead of over plain rice. There wasn't any leftover liquid to sauce the top of the rice. This was quick and easy to prepare. Just not to our liking. Thanks for letting us try your recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2011

      Extremely easy! Flavorful and healthy filling for burritos or topping for a taco salad. The method of only cooking the chicken halfway at first keeps it very moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2011

      Nice quick and easy recipe that makes the most of the pantry. Used s/b thighs rather than breasts (personal preference), canned diced tomatoes (time of year precludes finding decent fresh ones where we live), and served it over brown rice. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2011

      This is truly delicious. It has a bright, intense flavor, and a wonderful fragrance from the cumin. The heat level was just right for our family. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2010

      Such a simple yet flavorful dish. I wouldn't change a thing. Perfect with garden fresh tomatoes. Served it with Portuguese Style Sauteed Potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2010

      So easy, with just a few ingredients needed to pack a punch! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2009

      Delicious! Turned out that I didn't buy enough tomatoes, so I threw in a can of diced tomatoes. Really nice and light and healthy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      This was quite good. Like other reviewers, it sort of "snuck up" on me, as when I tasted to add salt/pepper I thought "this is gonna be OK"...only to have my entire family (myself included!) devour the whole pan in record time. I used 1 lb of b/s chicken thighs and I'm glad I did; these flavors really worked with the richer meat. I also used 1/8 t red pepper flakes on DS's behalf (sniff!) but the flavor was still remarkable. Served over homemade Mexican rice with roasted veggies on the side. Thanks for posting; I will definitely make this again. Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2009

      I thought this would be bland, but boy was I wrong! The flavors blend wonderfully, and my husband says that it is tasty enough to cover the bland brown rice that I served with it! Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      Truly a 5 star recipe by my criteria. It uses a few ingredients to their very best in a simple method. Each item plays beautifully off the others and I so pleased that I tagged this for photo Tag before Toni found it *wink*. It was perfect served on chicken garlic rice. I'll be making this many times over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      Easy, light, healthy and delicious. I used 4 campari tomatoes for each of the tomatoes listed; a choice made from personal preference and availability. The spice combination really works well here and gives the fresh sauce a smoky and spicy quality. In the winter I would happily use canned instead and think the results would be quite good. I served mine with garlic mashed potatoes and steamed asparagus. Thanks for a great mid week meal. Made for 123 Hit Wonders.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2009

      Fantastic recipe. I subbed cayenne powder for the red pepper flakes and added white wine. Good stuff!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Calle Ocho

    Serving Size: 1 (309 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 211.9
     
    Calories from Fat 47
    22%
    Total Fat 5.2 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 90.8 mg
    30%
    Sodium 173.7 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.7 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 31.8 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites