15 Reviews

DH enjoyed this a lot, but this didn't wow me: it struck me as a "US Family Style" recipe that gave a nod to Mexican spices but was extremely mild. I had plenty of sauce, but perhaps that was due to the 28-oz can of Marzano plum tomatoes in tomato puree I used instead of tasteless hothouse tomatoes. I think this would be more appetizing with yellow rice. I liked how fast this came together. Made for Please Review My Recipe tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL May 12, 2013

I liked this, but no one else in my house did. I really do not know why. I doubled the recipe, so I cooked the chicken in 2 batches. I had plenty of liquid in mine (despite the review that Teresa S gave) but that might have been because my pan was more crowded. Because I expected less sauce, I made Microwave Risotto with this. It would have been better with plain rice, which I would serve next time (at least if I doubled the recipe again).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch August 10, 2011

This came out out really nice! We had some tomatoes to use up and this was a great way to do it. I ended up cooking the onions for about 10 mins and also added a little white wine as Chef Jayeff suggested, just for more liquid. Thanks for posting this yummy recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview May 16, 2011

We had such high hopes for this recipe. Both DH and I thought it was not only lacking in flavor but it was totally on the dry side. I would suggest serving it with a flavor rice on the side, instead of over plain rice. There wasn't any leftover liquid to sauce the top of the rice. This was quick and easy to prepare. Just not to our liking. Thanks for letting us try your recipe. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas May 15, 2011

Extremely easy! Flavorful and healthy filling for burritos or topping for a taco salad. The method of only cooking the chicken halfway at first keeps it very moist.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLKeysJen April 22, 2011

Nice quick and easy recipe that makes the most of the pantry. Used s/b thighs rather than breasts (personal preference), canned diced tomatoes (time of year precludes finding decent fresh ones where we live), and served it over brown rice. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
l'ecole January 22, 2011

This is truly delicious. It has a bright, intense flavor, and a wonderful fragrance from the cumin. The heat level was just right for our family. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocolatl January 19, 2011

Such a simple yet flavorful dish. I wouldn't change a thing. Perfect with garden fresh tomatoes. Served it with Portuguese Style Sauteed Potatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swissms September 25, 2010

So easy, with just a few ingredients needed to pack a punch! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews February 12, 2010

Delicious! Turned out that I didn't buy enough tomatoes, so I threw in a can of diced tomatoes. Really nice and light and healthy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tarayakki June 28, 2009
Chicken Calle Ocho