16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow! This smelled heavenly while cooking and tasted delicious. I too, enjoyed the peppers' still slightly crisp, but not too crunchy texture. I served it with angel hair pasta, a green salad and garlic bread to soak up the sauce. Great recipe. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gapeach March 13, 2004

I made this last evening and it was very good. I was quite skeptical of the tomato soup. But, it really worked with all the other ingredients and resulted in a tasty sauce. Putting the green peppers in last adds a nice texture to the dish. Thank you Michelle for this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy in Florida August 22, 2003

The soup really does work and is the secret to the flavour. For the red wine, I used a Cab sav. Our family found this chicken cacciatore very tasty and so easy to make. I served it with gluten free corn pasta and green salad. Everyone commented on the crisp texture and crunch of the green pepper. This was far better than stewing the peppers to death which I have done in the past. Michelle, you have a real YUMMO Cacciatore here. I hope that more people try this recipe. Thank you for sharing your recipe with us.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chrissyo March 29, 2003

Really easy and really tasty. I had to use frozen pepper strips, but it still came out fine. I served it over thick spaghetti.<br/><br/>I, like Amy in Florida, was sceptical about the tomato soup, but it worked out well. <br/><br/>I used Adobo with Pepper to flavour the flour.<br/><br/>I cook with a lot of oregano, basil and marjoram and always have them on hand. I like the idea of the red pepper flakes that Hobbitt99 suggested.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spottedcrow September 30, 2014

This was really good. Based on previous reviews, I used a spice mix in the flour mix, and I added additional veggies as we love more variety of veggies in our cacciatore. Definitely replacing our previous cacciatore recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CrazyLadyMe July 01, 2011

We found this to be too bland for our tastes. Hey, you don't know til you try it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
padreaming February 07, 2011

This was really good!! A new favorite for sure. Thanks for the recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Azdaizey August 20, 2008

This is the first time I've tried chicken cacciatore so I cannot tell how authentic it is. But the dish is very good and very easy to make. Served with angel hair pasta. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Unsubscribe Me Now August 18, 2008

This was excellent. I was a little worried about not using canned tomatoes because I thought it might not have enough tomato taste, but the sauce cooked up nice and thick and flavourful. I used Cabernet Sauvignon, I think this gave a really nice smoothness to the sauce. I had no mushrooms or green pepper, but will use them next time and maybe a few black olives. I used 2 whole chicken breasts and 5 legs, cooked at 325F in my cast iron casserole for 3 hours, the meat was tender and juicy. Great recipe, I'll make this again and recommend it to friends.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Helen1 April 02, 2008

This was a little too sweet for my palate. I think next time I'll use half tomato soup and half canned tomatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tedwards867 March 14, 2008
Chicken Cacciatore