17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These burritos were delicious! Made just as the recipe tells only difference I omitted the tomatoes. Our family doesn't do tomatoes. Thanks bratty 1

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RecipeNut May 23, 2002

These burritos were WONDERFUL!!! Unfortunately, I didn't have any fresh cilantro, so I had to use dried. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and they came out perfect. I served with corn and Spanish rice. My dad and I both LOVED it!! (Although between the two of us, it only made 2 servings/lol) Next time I'll double it, so we can have some leftovers:) Definitely a keeper here!! Thank you, bratty 1! ~Manda

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manda September 12, 2002

Bratty! These are fabulous! Very easy to prepare. I simmered 2 boneless chicken breasts with about 5 cloves of slightly crushed garlic and 1/2 an onion, and then shredded. The sauce was very easy to prepare--I sauteed the whites of the green onions with 1 TBSP of dried cilantro, because I had no fresh. The sauce wouldn't thicken after adding the sour cream/flour mixture and the cheese, so I mixed a little cornstarch and water and threw that in. All was good. I added about 3/4 to 1 tsp of ground cumin and about 1/2 tsp of chili powder to the chicken/sauce mixture. These were really easy to roll up, and the flavor was fantastic. My husband said they were better than his favorite restaurant burritos. He had to have seconds. Thanks for such a great recipe bratty!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ciao October 22, 2003

made this tonight for my picky in-laws and walked away a hero!! This tastes better than the ingredients sound, IMO...a delicious dish that could be served at any Mexican Restaurant! Wonderful! DH gave 9.8 out of 10 :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~*~flour*power~*~ June 02, 2011

These are amazing! They are very authentic and very satisfying. My husband requests them all the time, so I keep the ingredients on hand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
haleysincolorado December 15, 2010

This received RAVE reviews from the entire family (this includes 2 VERY picky eaters). I was asked if this would become a regular in the dinner rotation. Thanks Bratty for an excellent recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather Gilliam February 09, 2010

Wow, this was awesome! It took me a bit longer than stated, but I think the time will be right on after I make it a few times. Directions actually say to add the cilantro twice, so I added a little both times. DH loved it, I will use often and I think try the seafood idea posted in review too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dawnab June 10, 2009

I used green olives as it gives such a nice flavor. We ate these like they were going out of style! I had with a Mexican themed dinner and they were eaten with pleasure! Thanks for sharing Bratty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tony Rules The Kitchen... Sally Watches! September 04, 2008

I also found this recipe in the Better Homes cookbook several years back. IT IS VERRRY GOOD. I have also made seafood burritos with the same recipe. I use 12 oz of immitation crab meat chopped up along with 2 small cans of the tiny shrimp, in place of the chicken. I also buy the chopped tomatoes w/green chiles in a can. The chiles give it a little kick.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jill L. "Margaritta Lover" August 27, 2008

Wow this is a great recipe! The only thing I omitted was the olives as my husband doesn't care for them and I added some red enchilada sauce on the top before baking. Next time I make these I might add Mexican rice and/or black beans. Thanks for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AndreaTheDragon July 06, 2008
Chicken Burritos