11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Sounds really good, but I leave off the rice and add diced potatoes and baby lima beans to the stew. Serve with crackers or cornbread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
litmiss November 13, 2008

This was good. It was a surprise how it tasted.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scrapgirl44 June 27, 2007

This was so easy!! Wow so good!!! It makes plenty so I loved the fact that I had enough to freeze for another meal!! The flavors come together so well together. Kids love it aswell!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
johnelekrise March 20, 2007

I've used this recipe many times. It is a wonderful one! :)I might add hot sauce next time as well as some of the other reviewers. I always use chicken breasts instead of whole chicken.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetsLady February 05, 2007

This was great. I also did not add any sugar and it still had some sweetness to it. Served with yellow rice. I added some hot sauce as well since I can not eat anything without it. I will post pic later. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thomasjj93 s January 22, 2006

All I can say is yummy!!! Hubby and I both loved this recipe. It was very simple and easy to do which I love. The only thing I did differently was I bought chicken stock and boiled 3 boneless, skinless chicken breast in it. When cooked all the way through I shredded and threw in the pot. I also left out vinegar and celery salt. Definite keeper!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
georgia-peach January 05, 2006

I liked this dish. I was going to make it, but I was feeling sick so my mom made it for me. She mixed cooked rice together with it, although I think I'd prefer the rice on the side. The only dislike I have is that it was a little too liquid-y and not like a stew, but it might be because she didn't mix in enough rice, however the taste was very yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karamia July 04, 2005

I also saw this episode and thought it looked good. I boiled the whole chicken with celery, carrots, onion, parsley, whole peppercorns, thyme, garlic cloves, fresh parsley and one chicken boullion cube (knorr). I then strained it through a fine mesh strainer. I figured I might as well make a big batch of chicken broth to save for another use. I used whole canned tomatoes which I crushed by hand instead of the ones that are already pureed. I added an extra box of corn and some mild cherry peppers seeded and diced. Served over white rice with sour cream and shredded cheddar. Everyone liked it. I'll make this one again. Might cut down on sugar though. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MichelleIU25 April 21, 2005
Chicken Brunswick Stew (Paula Deen)