65 Reviews

This is a lovely little repice. Quite delicious. However I recommend you cook the chicken breasts slowly and don't add the honey glaze until the last 4 to 5 minutes of cooking as it burns very quickly. Keping that in mind, Please try this quick and easy recipe. :)

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christine Fisher November 08, 2000

Made this recipe last night. It came out very well. It was a little on the sweet side..but then again I could not find red pepper flakes and substituted ground red pepper. next time I will add more of the red pepper, and more garlic. I was afraid to use too much! Hubby is just getting used to me cooking things with a little kick! Will definitely make again! Made extra sauce to put over steamed rice, and served with fresh spinach.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lilladyc February 24, 2002

Great, easy to make. We had all the ingredients on hand. Keep in mind it's a glaze, so it's thin and clear. Tasty, sweet and spicy. Made it with white rice and veggies.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ohcarie January 30, 2011

So sorry to ruin the star rating, but this was just okay for us. It wasn't too spicy or too sweet - we just didn't like the combination of flavors with the chicken. It was certainly not bad! It just wasn't one of our favorites and probably will not be made again in our house. Thanks anyway for sharing the recipe! :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
princessbride029 October 06, 2010

This was a delicious recipe but a bit on the spicy side (which is surprising, as I love spicy food!). I had 8 chicken breasts, which is double what is called for, and I wanted to take other reviewers' advice and make double the sauce, so I ended up quadrupling the sauce recipe. The only thing I should not have quadrupled was the red pepper flakes. Next time I make this, I'll halve the amount of red pepper flakes. All other modifications I made ended up turning out very well: using olive oil instead of vegetable oil, orange juice in lieu of frozen OJ concentrate, halving the margarine amount, and using 3 cloves of garlic instead of just 1. The flavor of this recipe is great, and I'll definitely be making it again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. McB July 02, 2010

Very good recipe, the only thing i can faulter is the use of veg oil, i dont think this is necessary. I didnt have orange juice concentrate so i used the juice from an orange, which worked just as well. I also added a teaspoon of cornstarch to add a bit more thickness to the sauce, making it more of a glase.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
student-chef February 22, 2010

Very tasty chicken, although VERY spicey!!! I decided that next time I will cut the crushed red pepper back to just 1/4 tsp. It was quick, easy and will be yummy when it doesn't burn our mouth.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mel in OKC area Oklahoma May 15, 2008

great recipe, but would double or triple the sauce so as to get it nice and goey like my husband likes.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly McPherson January 08, 2004

This was soooo delish!! I had fresh oranges so squeezed the juice from one whole orange and used a small amount of fresh zest! Next time will make even more liquid as this was so yummy. Would be great served on a bed of rice!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ramsey_penegar January 11, 2012
Chicken Breasts with Spicy Honey Orange Glaze