Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Onion Jam Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Onion Jam

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on April 27, 2002

      Very unique recipe and very flavorful. Hubby thought it was a bit to sweet, but if you like sweet and sour chicken you will love this. I used 1/3 tsp of Ginger, 1/4 tsp. pepper, 1/2 tsp of paprika and a dash of salt in the flour. The ginger gives it great flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2002

      I was looking for something different to serve guests. This guest in particular is a good chef herself so I wanted to impress her. This was a winner. First of all everyone loved it including the kids. The guests were trying to guess the ingredients. It was great. I did cut the chicken into thin long strips instead of chunks. I also served it reheated and the flavor only intensified. Great job Mirj and balsamic vinegar is a definate favorite of mine so it was nice not to just use it in salad dressing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2002

      This is the best tasting chicken receipe I've EVER had the privilage tasting and easy to make. Just Fabulos.. We have made it over and over. This is a weekley meal in my house (and good for you too). A MUST TRY!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2002

      as usual anothr great rcipe from mirj!! i added garlic(three minced cloves) the flavor wash great and left our taste buds sreaming for more! this will be made many times in our house!! thanks mirj

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2002

      Mirjam, I made this the other night, and it sure IS a winner! I'll most definately be making this again!! I served it with Basmati rice and it was just DEEEEEE-VINE!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2002

      This was really a good recipe, my husband liked it a lot .. next time I will add a bit of salt to the flour .. thanks for a great recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2002

      My husband and I liked this dish quite a lot! Very easy to make, using a minimal amount of oil! It didn't take long to get this done which I find to be a plus. It had a suprising taste, not as tart as I expected, the onions were mellow and tangy with a sweetness that mildly resembled sweet and sour dishes. I'm not sure that it's a dish that all younger kids will like as well, even though it has a sweet taste; my daughter didn't seem too thrilled with it. Overall, was a very good recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2002

      Yummee!! Made it tonight , hubby near licked the plate clean a definite winner and low fat too!! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2004

      This dish is really good. I served it to my in-laws when I had them over for dinner and a few days later my father-in-law called and asked for the recipe! Keep inventing, Mirj, it seems we all benefit!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2003

      I love this recipe, it's one of my favourites. A big hit with Husband too. Works well with rice or potatoes so room for variety.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2007

      This was quite good. I used 1 large and 1 med-large size boneless/skinless chicken breast but kept the rest of the ingredients the same amount. I used 1/2 of a white onion and 1 Walla Walla sweet onion because that's what I had on hand. I used just under 1/2 tsp of paprika, ground ginger, and salt (as suggested by other reviewers), and 1 tsp of black pepper. After the sauce began to reduce, it didn't really get jammy, but I added the brown sugar anyway. I got sidetracked and didn't make the rice to be done at the same time as the main dish was, so after I tossed the chicken with the sauce and let it heat up, I turned the heat off and left the pan on the warm burner. About 15 minutes later, the sauce had become more jam-like in consistency. The onions were tender, but still had crunch and the sauce was very good imo. When I added the onions I also added garlic, as other reviewers suggested. I used 1 tsp of jarred minced. The chicken had a great flavor, the coating reminiscent of sweet and sour chicken and went great with the sauce. The chicken was very tender. I cooked everything on med-high heat from frying the chicken to the onions, and finishing the dish. Bf thought this was pretty good as well, but thought it was missing something. He thought maybe mushrooms would be nice. Maybe they would. There was a bit left over, I will snag it for my lunch tomorrow. :D Thanks again, Mirj for sharing a great recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

      this was just sooo nice....next time i'll be making double amounts of the onion jam though as everyone wanted more of it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2006

      Really tasty and easy to make. The hardest part was fighting back the tears from chopping the onions!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2006

      Very nice dish. Next time, I think I'd increase the amount of sugar just a tad. Wife and daughter were impressed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2005

      I made this last night for an impromptu dinner party--Fantastic!! I used a teaspoon each of ginger and paprika and 1/2 teaspoon pepper. Next time I make it (and that will be very soon )I will up the pepper to 1 teaspoon and add some garlic. It did take a while to turn 'jammy' but I was being cautious with the heat. The chicken was meltingly soft...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Onion Jam

    Serving Size: 1 (206 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 294.2
     
    Calories from Fat 105
    35%
    Total Fat 11.6 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 3.3 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 80.0 mg
    26%
    Sodium 85.1 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.3 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 10.7 g
    43%
    Protein 27.2 g
    54%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites