Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Breast Lombardy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Breast Lombardy

    Average Rating:

    68 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 68

    Sort by:

    • on January 27, 2003

      This dish definitely deserves more stars - I love the mix of flavors - a nice dish for a week night or a special dinner. Used mozzarella this time, but would like to try with the fontina next. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2004

      I found this recipe years ago in Southern Living and use it often. It's one of my favorite dishes. My family doesn't like mushrooms, so i go easy with them on their chicken, and then go heavier with them on mine, and have them as myh side dish. i didn't have Marsala, and just used a good, dry red wine.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2003

      This was great. I only cooked half of what the recipe said, and then people wished there were leftovers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2014

      Wow! This dish is so rich and wonderful. I should have doubled the sauce but with only one chicken breast I thought the single sauce would be adequate. Lots more mushrooms too! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2014

      This was excellent! My hubby said to give it 10 stars. I did add a tiny bit of flour to thicken the sauce slightly and served with rice. This is definitely going on the regular schedule. Thanks for posting this

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2011

      Our favorite chicken recipe! Instead of pounding the chicken flat we filet it into 1/4 to 1/2 inch slices. We always try to make twice as much as we need, because it is just as good used as left-overs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2010

      This great dish is in our regular rotation. My dh and I don't really care too much for mushrooms, but still love this dish. Easy to make and it does really come out like it came from you favorite Italian restaurant. My 2 and 5 year olds like it too I just serve butterred noodles on the side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      Simply outstanding! I made a few minor changes. I used a pinot noir that pairs well with chicken instead of marsala. I added one thinly sliced yellow onion to the mushroom saute. I also added one Tbs flour to the wine/stock mixture and used 2/3 cup of stock instead of 1/3 because the breasts we used were rather large. Very, very good fork tender chicken and a delicious sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2009

      i hesitate to write a review of a recipe that proved unsatisfactory for me....the originating chef thought that the recipe was worthy; who am i to insult them...i never hesitate with an outstanding entry like this...even if i did nothing different and only followed the prescribed steps, the further identification by sheer repetition of positive reinforcement marks for future Zaar readers that this is a must-try... one further note - the wine and broth will thicken without additives if given time and heat in step 12...furthermore, the baking will also thicken the liquid, which should be transferred from the baking dish at plating.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      This tastes like it would be served at a very nice restaurant. I have made this twice and it is wonderful! There are only 3 of us, so I use 3 breasts. I salt and peppered the chicken on both sides before dredging in flour. I used more mushrooms (crimini), since we love them. I doubled the sauce with a little cornstarch to thicken. I also added a little chopped fresh thyme to the sauce. Rosemary would also be a good option, but I would definately use fresh herbs on this recipe. I served this with mashed potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2009

      My partner and I have chicken once a week, so we are always on the look out for new and interesting recipes. The results of this recipe were outstanding! I doubled the sauce ingredients and thickened with a cornstarch/water slurry so we'd have extra to pour over our chicken and Mashed Cauliflower Comfort Food. Also, for ease of clean up for my partner, I made this entirely on the stove top. A wonderful and easy winter meal! Thanks much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      This is such a great recipe! We made it with two breasts and halved the remaining ingredients. GREAT! I have been asked to make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      Very, very good! My DS and I really enjoyed this. I used half the chicken called for as it's just my son and I, but kept the sauce quantity as posted. I wish I had doubled the sauce - it was just absolutely delicious!! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      HOLY COW! That's all we have to say about this. My husband dubbed this THE BEST chicken dish EVER. I thought it was good too (a 5 star) but I'm not as in love with chicken marsala as my DH is and this dish really is marsala taken up a great big notch. I used 5 thin chicken breasts and doubled the sauce (as previous reviewers stated) and was glad I did. There was not enough to coat a side of pasta even with the doubled sauce (and halved chicken) but it allowed for a nice amount of sauce on the chicken...which was delicious! I used fontina cheese and a GREAT quality marsala. I also added 5 cloves minced garlic to the mushroom saute process. EXCELLENT recipe! Thanks for posting this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      I've been making this since 1982! I gave away my SL 82 cookbook, what was I thinking, called mother-in-law, thankfully she doesn't get rid of anything! We love this, it's a family favorite. I always double the sauce and double the mushrooms. It's very good. I fillet my chicken breasts instead of pounding it goes very fast. I serve with bread - everyone loves to sop up the yummy sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2008

      Really good. Very similar to Marsala. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      I chose to make this recipe because I had a large amount of mushrooms that needed to be eaten. I followed other reviewers advice and doubled the sauce, thickened it with a little flour, and added more mushrooms. I also cut down the chicken portion to 2 breasts which I butterflied since I don't own a meat mallet or rolling pin, creating 4 very filling servings. It wasn't a bad recipe, I've just had better. This was the first time I had ever used marsala wine and the taste simply wasn't for me. No fault of the recipe. I might try it again sometime omitting the wine and just having a nice chicken gravy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      We followed the recipe exactly and agree it is a very good dish. I was a little surprised it got 5 stars across the board. I made this dish for 5 friends and nobody commented on it but they finished their plates. If I made it again I think I would double the amount of mushrooms as well as marsala wine and chicken broth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      Man oh man was this good! I could have this twice a week! Flavors are incredible and love the addition of the cheeses. Great dish for company when you want the "Wow" factor! This is it! Thanks for posting it for us Cher!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      Simply delicious! It was hard for me not to overstuff myself. I used only mazzarella and whatever wine I had. I'll definitely make this again, and again, and again. Thanks, Just Cher!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Breast Lombardy

    Serving Size: 1 (247 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 388.6
     
    Calories from Fat 171
    44%
    Total Fat 19.0 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 10.6 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 121.0 mg
    40%
    Sodium 435.1 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.6 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 31.0 g
    62%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites