Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Breast Baked in a Bag with Mushrooms, Butter, White Wine and Thyme Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Breast Baked in a Bag with Mushrooms, Butter, White Wine and Thyme

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on September 28, 2011

      I've made this recipe many times and learned that if you are using large, thick chicken breasts you may have to continue baking for an additional 20-30 minutes. As mentioned by a couple of cooks, I mix everything in the bowl except the wine and butter. Place mixed ingredients in the packet and then pour in the the wine and place in the pats of butter. I have added parnips, chopped applewood bacon, procuitto or serrano ham thinly sliced. Butter beans and fresh sage worked very well for me too! Also, rather than tearing two equal pieces of foil, simply pull out the length of two shoeboxes and fold in half...it saves an extra seam. Thank you Terese!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2012

      Cooked this for the first timelast night - a great success. Great to find a new recipe for chicken breast! I would add more potatoes next time as 2 isn't enough for two people. Also I think the addition of finely chopped onions would be nice. I'd also like more sauce so will probably add more wine next time!
      A lovely tasty dinner - easy to do (thanks to others for the tip to put in the veg/chicken first and then add the wine/olive oil - will try that next time as it was a bit sloppy!!)
      Highly recommended.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2011

      This was delicious and extremely quick and easy to make. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

      ive made this in the past without the wine as i am a muslim.ive made it with chicken and then i tried it with fish. its absolutely delicious with either. everyone should try this, its so easy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2008

      This was a great recipe because it was so easy! It was kind of hard to transfer the wine sauce into the foil and the taste was also very light. Next time I'm going to try making some cuts on the chicken so the sauce goes into the meat more (the chicken breasts I used were pretty thick, about more than 1/2 inch), and I will probably put more garlic as well!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2006

      Loved this recipe, it was so easy and enjoyable to prepare and the result was superb. I'll be trying it with red wine and bacon next time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2006

      Super-Super recipe! This is an excellent concept - so easy to prepare, outstanding in presentation and makes for a great dinner party dish as you can prepare this early in the day and place in the fridge until evening when you are ready to serve, allowing more time spent with your dinner guests then working in the kitchen! I'm anxious to try other variations!! My next attempt will be a coq au vin'ish theme - using, in addition to the ingredients listed: pearl onions, some sliced or cubed bacon, bay and of course a dry red wine in place of the white - I can't wait to see how it will turn out! Also worth mentioning - this recipe would be an excellent recipe for the beginner cook looking to host their first dinner party! Lovely recipe, thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2006

      WOW was I impressed by this recipe. I used Chardonnay and added extra garlic and we loved it. Have added this to my recipe book- thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2004

      This was easy and the chicken came out so tender and moist. Next time I will throw the ingredients in the bag and pour the wine in instead of combining in a bowl, as it was difficult to transfer to the foil. I also think the wine overpowered everything, I would use 1/4 -1/2 cup. I had to use shitake mushrooms because I couldn't get porcini and the texture of these was odd. I wonder if they should have been dehydrated first.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2003

      This was extremely quick and yummy. Will definitely do this one again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2002

      This is a wonderful do ahead recipe. I made the envelope and completed the recipe, sealed the envelope, refrigerated it and popped it in the oven just befor dinner. I used mixed dried mushrooms and they were wonderful (Oyster, chanterell, porcini etc). The wine was a homemade Apple and this gave a very smooth mellow flavor to the chicken. This recipe produced a tasty, moist poached chicken. Definately a keeper. Thanks Theresa

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2013

      This was wonderful. We had to add another 15 mins cooking time due to the size of our meat. Flavours were lovely. We did use shitake mushrooms instead since I'm still learning to like mushrooms. Thanks for a wonderful dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Breast Baked in a Bag with Mushrooms, Butter, White Wine and Thyme

    Serving Size: 1 (737 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 605.4
     
    Calories from Fat 222
    36%
    Total Fat 24.6 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 12.4 g
    62%
    Cholesterol 196.8 mg
    65%
    Sodium 450.3 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.7 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    17%
    Sugars 8.1 g
    32%
    Protein 61.7 g
    123%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dried porcini mushrooms

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes