Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Braised with 40 Cloves of Garlic Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Braised with 40 Cloves of Garlic

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on May 29, 2002

      This recipe gets a Five star for simplicity with flavour. It was an easy "worry free" dish to cook. I chopped the onion and parsley and assembled the other ingredients while I was browning the chicken thighs. Tossed it all together and into the oven. Then sipped wine and relaxed. The kitchen smelt so comforting. My daughter arrived home hopped out of the car and said, "Please let that be my dinner". When I told the family we were having chicken braised with 40 CLOVES OF GARLIC, they were shocked but moaned with delight when I unveiled the chicken at the dinner table. There was the golden chicken swimming in bed of garlic, onion and cooking juices. Don't let the 40 cloves put you off. The braising caramelises the garlic to a soft clove of delightful flavour with a hint of cinnamon and spice. One step that I did do differently was that I microwaved the bulbs of garlic skin and all for 30 seconds and squeezed the cloves of garlic out of their skins. However, next time I will be peeling the garlic and parboiling them. It will be interesting to see if that changes the flavour of the dish. This is worth trying. It will be an addition to our family recipes. Footnote: The vampires wont be visiting my home tonight. *wicked smile*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2013

      Made this for dinner tonight. I've experimented with other versions of this dish over the years. This recipe topped them all. So simple and incredibly delicious. Had to use dried parsley and fresh tarragon because thats what I had on hand. Mopped up the rich saucy broth with crusty bread. Thanks for re-uniting me with an old favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2009

      This dish smells great when it's cooking. I just dropped in a cinnamon stick instead of using ground cinnamon. The 40 cloves of garlic don't really need to be parboiled. I just peeled them and dropped them in. By the time the dish is done, the garlic can be mashed against the side of the pot. The cognac can be substituted for other types of spirits like whisky or whatever you like. I didn't have any vermouth and skipped that. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2008

      I love this recipe, and I've been making it for years. I was glad to find it posted here so I didn't have to post it! My notes: I never parboil the garlic, just peel it. I always take the skin off the chicken, or the finished dish is a little too greasy for me. I usually skip the tarragon, an herb I don't care for. The clerk at my local liquor store suggested subbing brandy for the cognac, so that's what I do. Last but not least, this works beautifully in the crockpot as well, just be sure you still seal the top with foil AND the pot's lid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2007

      This was pretty good. It wasn't as garlicky as expected. I did parboil the garlic like suggested. I will try it again with more garlic. Very easy to prepare. The smell was wonderful while cooking! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2006

      I didn't like this recipe. I used boneless chicken brest instead of thighs but thtat didn't matter, it was juicy. The part I didn't like wazs the flavor. I don't know if it was the tarragon or the congac. I was hopint it would be more garlicly and less other aromatics. Kinda disappointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2005

      Fantastic! I couldn't stop eating whole cloves of garlic with chicken. Great the next day over noodles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2002

      Very easy to prepare and tasty but garlic could have been softer to add more flavor. Next time I might parboil the garlic for 10 minutes to soften the garlic to enhance the flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Braised with 40 Cloves of Garlic

    Serving Size: 1 (244 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 271.6
     
    Calories from Fat 114
    42%
    Total Fat 12.7 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 89.3 mg
    29%
    Sodium 96.9 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.3 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 27.6 g
    55%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites