38 Reviews

[31 Jan. 2011... oops... I forgot to put my stars on my original review Jan. 28. --Katy] OMG--How did I forget to give this recipe a thumbs-up? I've been making this recipe for my family for several years now, and we *love* it.

Like some of the other reviewers, I use skinless, boneless breast. I cut the chicken into more-or-less bite-size pieces, and rather than rolling the chicken in the sauce and then putting it in the baking pan/dish (I use ceramic or Pyrex), I just pour part of the sauce directly into the baking dish and "swish" the chicken pieces around in it until they're coated with the sauce. (I don't grease the baking dish--there's enough butter in the recipe that I've never had any trouble with major sticking or clean-up.)

When I'm making it ahead to freeze, I do *not* cook it first--the reheated chicken is too dry for us. I just toss the chicken pieces together with some of the sauce, dump it into a freezer container, and put a layer of plastic wrap directly on top of the mixture in the container and pat it down to remove air pockets. Then I put the remaining sauce in a small plastic bag and put that on top of the chicken/sauce mixture before putting a lid on the container. (The extra sauce in the bag is what goes on the chicken halfway through the cooking time.) All I have to do is thaw it, put aside the sauce packet, dump the chicken mixture in the baking dish, and go from there. Easy-peasy!

We serve this with basmati rice, peas, and naan bread. A very simple weeknight dinner.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katydidit January 31, 2011

Really good!!!! And Simple! I made the marinade in the morning and added it to some boneless thighs. Popped it in the oven when I got home from work. Served with some white rice!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 May 17, 2010

Loved this! It smelled wonderful, looked beautiful, and tasted great. Even the picky eaters in my family ate it up! I did not have any onion powder or season salt, but I doubled the curry and chili powder - fantastic!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dionna1999 July 29, 2013

This one is a favorite in my house. Even my picky eaters love it. The is great over rice. I use b/s chicken breast. The time is shorter.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TooLittleThyme December 25, 2010

It was very yummy. I added some carrots and leaks and served over rice. I think I will add more curry next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sassyfras February 03, 2013

This has been one of my family's staples for a few years now. I have made a few changes in my OAMC technique though. I prepare the sauce and pour it over the chicken into freezer bags. On busy days, I empty the contents into my crockpot so it is done by supper time. Easy & something different in our rotation. Thanks for posting this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VegasLaurie October 19, 2012

What a delicious chicken dish! In my house we absolutely love Indian food but usually only make it on the weekends because it is time intensive. This made for a wonderful weeknight dinner.
I used boneless, skinless thighs and prepared it for OAMC and froze it. I did not cook the chicken beforehand. I made the sauce, let it cool and then poured it into a ziploc freezer bag. I froze the bagged sauce along with the chicken. When it was time to cook, I poured some of the sauce over the chicken and mopped it around. As the chicken cooked I used the rest of the sauce for basting.
I served it with a basic Indian pulao and my kids loved it! We will definitely be making it again. Thanks for posting Pamela!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hedgiehog March 30, 2012

Loved the subtle flavors in this and it was so easy to make. I made one protion for dinner last night and froze another for later. Loved it with rice! Made for I Recommend Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jean July 13, 2011

LOVED it! I made it EXACTLY like the recipe and served it over white rice! Made it for friends and they loved it too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommypam3 November 02, 2009

We didn't care for this one. It wasn't bad, just not to our taste. I found it to be WAY too sweet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
French Canadian Chef September 29, 2009
Chicken Bombay (Oamc)