15 Reviews

OOPS! I goofed but this dish turned out wonderfully anyway. I added white wine VINEGAR instead of white wine. Actgually, the meal had a nice little bite and we all enjoyed the sweet and sour sauce. Next time, I won't brown the chicken at such high heat - it dried it out a little. But, this was wonderfully flavorful.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha Mazz June 27, 2010

This turned out absolutely delish! I basically doubled the recipe (I never cook just for 2) using already ground spices, using 1t each of ground cumin and coriander, and 1/4t ground cardamom. I also used boneless chicken thighs instead of breasts. Definetly a keeper. Froze the balance for another wonderful dinner in the future.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brennmi August 31, 2008

This is a wonderful dish! I did make some changes however. When using cardamon pods, you break them open and roast the seeds. Also, I saute'd the onions and then added the roasted/ground spices and remaining dry spices then I added the chicken (You lose some of the flavors when you add the spices to cooked chicken). Oh, I did not add the white wine either. My Hubby is from South India and really like the flavors. It's one I'll def. make again! Thanks for sharing this!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sansdawn October 21, 2010

Excellent, although the prep time given seems completely unrealistic to me. One great time-saver is using Sri Lanka (a.k.a. Ceylon) curry powder: the spices are already roasted and mixed, so you can just toss it in! If you can't find it in a store you can order it online--it's a delicious, dark alternative to regular curry powder.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jim C. December 12, 2009

Made this for company...was a big hit! I didn't have the seeds either so we just used ground cardamon & coriander. It turned out very nice - we will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dizzy lizzie September 22, 2009

This was excellent! Loved it. Followed the recipe and wouldn't change a thing. Thank You, I will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daisygrl64 February 13, 2009

This recipe had nice flavor and was easy to prepare. I followed the ingredient list and directions as posted with no modifications. I thought the dish needed quite a bit of salt, but you did say, "to taste." The fresh cilantro makes the dish. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny December 07, 2008

Delicious & easy. Like CHef #358821, I doubled the recipe and used ground spices. I also added 1/2 a diced fresh jalapeno for 4 servings. I really enjoyed this and will likely make it again. I only simmered mine for 45 minutes and it was thick and tasty. Next time I may use canned tomatoes as the fresh ones really mixed into the sauce. Great flavors!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElleFirebrand September 15, 2008

Very nice! Spicy but not hot. I doubled the recipe and made it in the crock pot - I used a 14 oz can of diced tomatoes instead of fresh. I also added a couple of sweet potatoes I needed to use up, which went well with the mix. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. August 10, 2008

I gave five stars because I didn't use all the same ingredients. However, mine really came out to more of a four. I've been experimenting with using all pantry ingredients or things that I would normally have in my home. That said, here's what I did. I toasted about 1/2 t each ground cumin, ground coriander and ground cardamom until I could smell it and set it aside. (I was too lazy to bother grinding the whole spice) I thoroughly drained a can of white chicken meat and sauteed this in a little vegetable oil to brown the chunks. I followed the instructions after this until I got to the coconut milk. I used 1 T dry coconut milk powder with 1/3 C warm water for the coconut milk. I didn't have fresh cilantro on hand, but I did have fresh basil, so I used that. I hate when people change up my recipe and give it a bad review. I'll bet this was a 5 without all the changes I made.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
charlie #5 July 25, 2008
Chicken Bhuna Masala - a Chicken Curry