15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

have made this several times, and it's a favorite among all who have tried it. Can't keep it in the house!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
somerd98 October 19, 2012

We really liked the smoky flavor to it. As I was making it I was not sure if we would like it. I was pleasantly surprised. I left out the jalapeno because we can't handle hot. I used Delmonte Fresh Cut corn so it stayed crisp.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margie99 January 04, 2012

Great chowder! I used Tyson Grilled Chicken Strips, added more bacon and left the seeds in the jalapeno. This recipe will definitely be made many times this winter! Thanks for sharing, Nimz. ***Made for PRMR***

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rickoholic83 November 21, 2011

This was wonderful! The Rotisserie chicken worked perfectly, I highly recommend using one. It was not dry at all. Also, I added about 1/2 tsp of seasoned salt. We served with corn bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lindsey.k.bell December 03, 2009

This is a great '7-can' soup recipe. the liquid is so good we could eat that alone with a French crusty bread (which we did) :) I made this exactly as directed using all yellow corn and a store bought rotisserie chicken. We ate the wings and some breast meat before adding it to the soup and it was moist and flavorful. Yet in the soup, the chicken was very dry. Made again, we might sub some diced potatoes for the chicken as the broth is outstanding with lots of bacon and corn flavor. Thanks for sharing the recipe. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu November 08, 2009

Very tasty my whole family loved this. I did use a mild yellow pepper from the garden and chopped tommates instead of rotel because thats what I had for the cheese I had extra sharp chedder and a small amount of mozzarella that I had on hand. Interestly I had some chopped chicken left over from Smoked crockpot Chicken and it gave the soup an added smoke flavour definitly will make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrs mack October 03, 2009

Your recipe makes for A GREAT TASTING CHOWDER, & one well worth making over & over again! I didn't, however, include the jalapeno pepper, but did include several tablespoons of milder green chilies! I also switched from the suggested cheese to shredded Colby Jack! Many thanks for a wonderful chowder! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike January 26, 2009

Although not a pretty soup, the taste is great! I had to make some substitutions based on availability. I used 5 slices bacon, because I like bacon. I used home made chicken broth and frozen corn instead of canned corn (I did have creamed canned corn.) I added extra broth to make up for the lost liquid in the canned corn. (The recipe did not say to drain the canned corn.) I used a different brand of tomatoes with chiles (Hatch) because that's what I had. I also used regular chicken soup, for the same reason. I also used Monterey Jack cheese, instead of the recommended cheese. It melts better and isn't stringy, so I think it was actually an improvement on the recipe. I garnished with chopped cilantro and crushed plain tortilla chips. It was really truly great. I'm saving this one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook In Southwest December 10, 2008

This soup was good and easy to put together. My family aren't soup eaters but I always make a pot of soup on Sunday to use for my lunches during the week. Well everyone ate my soup and I only have enough left for one lunch this week! I didn't add the jalapeno as I don't care for things too hot and I only had yellow corn so used that instead of the white/yellow mix. I followed the rest of the recipe except I forgot to add the milk. It was still very good. Everyone enjoyed it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol February 24, 2008

Wonderful soup. I had family come in on short notice so I made this for everyone and they loved it. I only changed 2 things. I cooked more bacon so it could be added as a topping. I also used evaproated skim milk instead of 2%. What a simple recipe that tasted home made. Thanks for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jodee January 02, 2008
Chicken, Bacon and Corn Chowder