Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken, Bacon and Corn Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken, Bacon and Corn Chowder

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on October 19, 2012

      have made this several times, and it's a favorite among all who have tried it. Can't keep it in the house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2012

      We really liked the smoky flavor to it. As I was making it I was not sure if we would like it. I was pleasantly surprised. I left out the jalapeno because we can't handle hot. I used Delmonte Fresh Cut corn so it stayed crisp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2011

      Great chowder! I used Tyson Grilled Chicken Strips, added more bacon and left the seeds in the jalapeno. This recipe will definitely be made many times this winter! Thanks for sharing, Nimz. ***Made for PRMR***

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      This was wonderful! The Rotisserie chicken worked perfectly, I highly recommend using one. It was not dry at all. Also, I added about 1/2 tsp of seasoned salt. We served with corn bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      This is a great '7-can' soup recipe. the liquid is so good we could eat that alone with a French crusty bread (which we did) :) I made this exactly as directed using all yellow corn and a store bought rotisserie chicken. We ate the wings and some breast meat before adding it to the soup and it was moist and flavorful. Yet in the soup, the chicken was very dry. Made again, we might sub some diced potatoes for the chicken as the broth is outstanding with lots of bacon and corn flavor. Thanks for sharing the recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      Very tasty my whole family loved this. I did use a mild yellow pepper from the garden and chopped tommates instead of rotel because thats what I had for the cheese I had extra sharp chedder and a small amount of mozzarella that I had on hand. Interestly I had some chopped chicken left over from Smoked crockpot Chicken and it gave the soup an added smoke flavour definitly will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      Your recipe makes for A GREAT TASTING CHOWDER, & one well worth making over & over again! I didn't, however, include the jalapeno pepper, but did include several tablespoons of milder green chilies! I also switched from the suggested cheese to shredded Colby Jack! Many thanks for a wonderful chowder! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      Although not a pretty soup, the taste is great! I had to make some substitutions based on availability. I used 5 slices bacon, because I like bacon. I used home made chicken broth and frozen corn instead of canned corn (I did have creamed canned corn.) I added extra broth to make up for the lost liquid in the canned corn. (The recipe did not say to drain the canned corn.) I used a different brand of tomatoes with chiles (Hatch) because that's what I had. I also used regular chicken soup, for the same reason. I also used Monterey Jack cheese, instead of the recommended cheese. It melts better and isn't stringy, so I think it was actually an improvement on the recipe. I garnished with chopped cilantro and crushed plain tortilla chips. It was really truly great. I'm saving this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      This soup was good and easy to put together. My family aren't soup eaters but I always make a pot of soup on Sunday to use for my lunches during the week. Well everyone ate my soup and I only have enough left for one lunch this week! I didn't add the jalapeno as I don't care for things too hot and I only had yellow corn so used that instead of the white/yellow mix. I followed the rest of the recipe except I forgot to add the milk. It was still very good. Everyone enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      Wonderful soup. I had family come in on short notice so I made this for everyone and they loved it. I only changed 2 things. I cooked more bacon so it could be added as a topping. I also used evaproated skim milk instead of 2%. What a simple recipe that tasted home made. Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      Awsome recipe!!! Most definately going into my personal records. I used leftover turkey from Christmas and cubed up some ham. I opted out of the Jalapeno's and subsituted herb tomatoes for the Rotel as we don't have it here. Sprinkled some Cayenne pepper and white pepper to give it a mild kick. EXCELLENT Soup/Chowder!!!! I only wished I had some fresh bread to go along with it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2007

      This was excellent and so easy to do! My husband snubbed his nose at the thought of soup for dinner but after a few bites and a 2nd bowl he said it was delicious! I also did full fat. I used the Foster Farms Grilled Chicken strips instead of the rotisserie chicken!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      I could eat myself silly with this one. I also did the full-fat version, and left out the jalapeno to turn down the heat a little - it still had plenty of zing from the Rotel. A new favorite for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      this is wonderful Nimz! I went the full-fat option, we do not have Rotel here so I used diced tomatoes and added in some green chilies, increased the garlic to 3 tablespoons, added in 3 teaspoons crushed chili flakes and used 2 onions,I also added in some whipped cream and reduced the milk slightly, this soup if fantastic and I look forward to making again, thanks for sharing hon!...Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2007

      This soup is spectacular! I can't wait to make this for my soup night crowd. It has just the right amount of spiciness without being too hot. It also has great texture---from the crunch of the corn to the creaminess of the cheese. I sauteed the bacon in the Dutch oven and drained the grease so I could deglaze the pan and pull up all the bacon flavor. I also just whisked the broth and the soup in the soup pot rather in a separate bowl because I wanted to save on cleanup. I think this soup is perfect as is but I also think it would be good garnished with cheddar cheese, additional bacon, and/or green onions. I think substituting 1 chipotle chili for the jalapeno would also be a great variation. Bottom line-THIS SOUP ROCKS! Thanks Nimz.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken, Bacon and Corn Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (345 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 377.5
     
    Calories from Fat 120
    31%
    Total Fat 13.4 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 5.6 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 73.5 mg
    24%
    Sodium 949.7 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.0 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 10.7 g
    43%
    Protein 27.4 g
    54%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    low-fat cream of chicken soup

    mozzarella-provolone cheese blend

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites