Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken and Yam Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken and Yam Soup

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on January 13, 2013

      Very nice! I just love lima beans. Thanks, loof! Made for PRMR tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2011

      This was excellent. I thought the sweet potatoes would taste to sweet but it was just perfect. Did'nt taste the sweetness in potatoes thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2010

      This hit the spot on the first cooler, windy eveing at the end of summer. We don't care for yams so I substituted regular potatoes as well as parsnips and added a bit extra of all veggies. I reduced the amount of chicken by half and used only chicken broth (no water). I used lima beans. All in all the soup is great with lots of flavour and lots of goodies for your health. I will be making this again for sure. It is great for using left over chicken, turkey or veggies.Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      Will admit that I changed this recipe, perhaps a lot, but I not very big on lima beans so used the canneloni beans suggested in the intro! I also substituted a can of cream of chicken soup for the 2 cups of water, making the soups more creamy, no less! I particularly liked the sweet potatoes here, & although I didn't peel them, I did dice & chop them ino about 1/2-inch chunks! Still, we loved your soup, & I'll be making this again, I know! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      Very good and filling soup which we enjoyed! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      I halved the recipe and used some leftover turkey. I left out the turkey in my cup and loved the soup! I know my DH will enjoy this too. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      I really wanted to try this soup for dinner but knew I would be getting home too late to prepare it. In a moment of adventure I decided to try it as a crock pot recipe. Added the onions, celery, red peppers, yams and garlic together and tossed as the bottom layer. Placed two boneless skinless chicken breasts on top with a layer of limas above that. Swirled the thyme into the broth, skipping the water, and poured it on and let the crock do it's thing, cooking at low for 8 hours. Once cooked, I diced the tender chicken and returned it too the pot. This proved to be a little too long and I would suggest about 6 hours and adding the lima beans, defrosted of course, in the last hour. Despite my miscalculation on the time, dinner was delicious and just the right balance of being light but substantial. The flavor went together quite well and with a tomato salad a great all meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      Five big stars for this simple and delicious soup! I used only one chicken breast and kept everything else the same - all three of us enjoyed this for dinner tonight, including the 13 year old! Makes 4 huge servings and would probably serve 6 if served with crackers or bread. Lots and lots of veggies to fill you up - great recipe, will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken and Yam Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (600 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 447.9
     
    Calories from Fat 69
    15%
    Total Fat 7.7 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 56.6 mg
    18%
    Sodium 1217.7 mg
    50%
    Total Carbohydrate 61.7 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 11.1 g
    44%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 32.0 g
    64%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites