Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken and Wild Rice Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on March 10, 2010

      Great recipe - I used cheddar cheese instead of velvetta and frozen carrots - but followed the recipe otherwise. I fed 4 adults and had a little left over. It is a hearty soup and a good spin on chicken soup. Definitely will make it again. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      GREAT for a cold winter day! I've made this recipe a few times, and I always use the 1/2 broth, 1/2 water and it comes out great. I use all wild rice too, then add some garlic salt, onion powder and a bit of chicken bouillon. We eat organic here, so I found a recipe for "homemade velveeta"--I just make 1/3 recipe of that to use for this soup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      This was good, we enjoyed and will make again. Makes a lot of soup and is a good use for leftover roast chicken. I used sweet onion, left out the broccoli, used 6 cups of homemade broth & 2 of water, substituted processed cheese with 1/3 cup shredded cheddar and 4 ounces of cream cheese. Also used leftover cooked basmati rice instead of Uncle Bens. Was good but I didn't put in enough salt & pepper, also tasted like it needed a little "something else". Maybe it would have been better with the seasoning mix from Uncle Ben's rice, not sure! Thanks though, was definitely tasty and a keeper for me!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2014

      Yum, yum, yum!! We'd definitely like to add our 5 stars to this one. Followed recipe exactly, except we used 4 cups chicken broth and 2 cups water (6 total) instead of the 8 listed. I think we would have been fine with 5 cups as well as our soup wasn't overly thick. This was a great recipe and one we can't wait to make again. Thanks luvmybge!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

      fantastic! followed recipe word for word using chicken broth. serving was perfect for my family of 5. recipe was quick, EZ & inexpensive. delicious! great w/beer bread Beer Bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

      We had some leftover turkey from one we had barbecued, so I used that instead of chicken. Also, we like the texture of rice that is not instant or fast, so I had a box of Uncle Ben's original long grain and wild rice blend that I used. It had to cook twenty-five minutes instead of five, but it was delicious. I started off using less than eight cups of water and broth, but ended up putting it all in because it was quite thick. It is a full meal in itself! We added quite a bit of pepper. And we used cheddar because we don't care for Velveeta. Thank you for such a yummy soup recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      We enjoyed this soup. Not too difficult to make. I thought it could use some seasoning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      This is an easy soup to pull together. I used chicken broth, instead of the water. I thought it was very good. The reason I gave it four stars, instead of more...was because you made no mention of seasonings in the recipe. I added salt, pepper and garlic. Otherwise I think it would have been a bit blah tasting. I will make this again. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      I followed the directions to a tee, but changed up the amount of the ingredients. I used 4 chicken breasts, 2 (32oz) boxes swanson chicken broth, 2 cups shredded carrots, 1 med. onion, 8 stalks celery, 2 Tbsp butter to saute, 1 lb velveeta, 2 cans cream of chicken soup and 2 boxes fast cooking long grain and wild rice. It turned out spectacular. Even my picky 7 year old cleaned her bowl. Thanks for a wonderful soup recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2008

      Simple to make and delicious. Going to be a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      My husband was not a fan of this soup. We actually found it to be thin. Maybe less liquid would help.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      I help run a small coffee shop and lunch counter, we serve a soup of the day every day, this is the new Thursday soup. We had rave reviews and everyone loved it. I used all chicken broth and a little extra cheese. We are from the south and velveeta is a food group here. Great Recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      I made this for my boyfriend, who was down with a cold, and we both loved it. I followed the recipe to the word and wouldn't change a thing next time (I'd even use Velveeta again, which I've never bought in my life!) Thanks for this yummy, easy soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      Excellent comfort soup..everyone loved it Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2006

      DUH! I expected this soup to be thicker...and it says it was adapted by luvmybge because her family didn't care for thicker soup. I thought this soup was a great as is (it is more "brothy") I used all broth when I made it.I think this is a soup that you can choose a stage for..meaning you could eat it without the cr of chicken and velveeta and it would be a true chick and rice broth soup, then add the other for something alittle more creamy (but still liquidy) by adding the soup and the velveeta, or if you want a thicker soup, you'd have to either thicken it or cut back on the liquid to the original recipe...whcn you need that comfort food soup. I also thought next time I will add more rice. It seemed a little sparse to me on the rice. But that's just my tweaking. Thanks for posting! A definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2006

      Excellent and tasty soup. Pretty easy to make and good when you need a fast meal. I did not put in as much cheese as it called for. I think it would also be good without the cream of chicken soup and cheese, if you use chicken broth and water for the liquid. Really enjoyed it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2006

      Was great. I doubled the recipe. What a treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2006

      very easy, tasty! Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2005

      A bowl of this soup and some homemade french bread is as close to a perfect meal on a winter night as you can get. I used cheddar cheese instead of velveeta and I added extra water. Next time I think I'll just leave the cheese out altogether, because it was just fine without it. I'll also double the recipe next time to make sure I have yummy leftovers for lunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2004

      This soup was awesome! My kids even ate it, and they are picky eaters--especially with anything green floating around in it! I accidentally bought another can of broth instead of the cream of chicken soup, so I added that and some milk to it. I also added a little extra cheese. It was quick and easy to prepare. Thanks, luvmybge!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (3333 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 128.3
     
    Calories from Fat 64
    50%
    Total Fat 7.2 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 29.2 mg
    9%
    Sodium 470.8 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.9 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.6 g
    10%
    Protein 10.2 g
    20%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    long grain and wild rice blend

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites