23 Reviews

Great recipe - I used cheddar cheese instead of velvetta and frozen carrots - but followed the recipe otherwise. I fed 4 adults and had a little left over. It is a hearty soup and a good spin on chicken soup. Definitely will make it again. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
clh8873 March 10, 2010

GREAT for a cold winter day! I've made this recipe a few times, and I always use the 1/2 broth, 1/2 water and it comes out great. I use all wild rice too, then add some garlic salt, onion powder and a bit of chicken bouillon. We eat organic here, so I found a recipe for "homemade velveeta"--I just make 1/3 recipe of that to use for this soup.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MinnMom January 19, 2010

This was good, we enjoyed and will make again. Makes a lot of soup and is a good use for leftover roast chicken. I used sweet onion, left out the broccoli, used 6 cups of homemade broth & 2 of water, substituted processed cheese with 1/3 cup shredded cheddar and 4 ounces of cream cheese. Also used leftover cooked basmati rice instead of Uncle Bens. Was good but I didn't put in enough salt & pepper, also tasted like it needed a little "something else". Maybe it would have been better with the seasoning mix from Uncle Ben's rice, not sure! Thanks though, was definitely tasty and a keeper for me!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blue Skies May 13, 2009

Yum, yum, yum!! We'd definitely like to add our 5 stars to this one. Followed recipe exactly, except we used 4 cups chicken broth and 2 cups water (6 total) instead of the 8 listed. I think we would have been fine with 5 cups as well as our soup wasn't overly thick. This was a great recipe and one we can't wait to make again. Thanks luvmybge!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kohtzy March 11, 2014

fantastic! followed recipe word for word using chicken broth. serving was perfect for my family of 5. recipe was quick, EZ & inexpensive. delicious! great w/beer bread Beer Bread!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tallie in Pacific NW January 21, 2010

We had some leftover turkey from one we had barbecued, so I used that instead of chicken. Also, we like the texture of rice that is not instant or fast, so I had a box of Uncle Ben's original long grain and wild rice blend that I used. It had to cook twenty-five minutes instead of five, but it was delicious. I started off using less than eight cups of water and broth, but ended up putting it all in because it was quite thick. It is a full meal in itself! We added quite a bit of pepper. And we used cheddar because we don't care for Velveeta. Thank you for such a yummy soup recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisherself March 14, 2009

We enjoyed this soup. Not too difficult to make. I thought it could use some seasoning.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
punkarooni January 11, 2009

This is an easy soup to pull together. I used chicken broth, instead of the water. I thought it was very good. The reason I gave it four stars, instead of more...was because you made no mention of seasonings in the recipe. I added salt, pepper and garlic. Otherwise I think it would have been a bit blah tasting. I will make this again. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jill L. "Margaritta Lover" September 22, 2008

I followed the directions to a tee, but changed up the amount of the ingredients. I used 4 chicken breasts, 2 (32oz) boxes swanson chicken broth, 2 cups shredded carrots, 1 med. onion, 8 stalks celery, 2 Tbsp butter to saute, 1 lb velveeta, 2 cans cream of chicken soup and 2 boxes fast cooking long grain and wild rice. It turned out spectacular. Even my picky 7 year old cleaned her bowl. Thanks for a wonderful soup recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.Chance March 19, 2008

Simple to make and delicious. Going to be a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pegbass March 15, 2008
Chicken and Wild Rice Soup