10 Reviews

I tried this delicious recipe tonight for dinner and everything worked well. The only thing I might add in the future would be some vidalia onions. I will serve it on rice next time. Very good and very healthy...thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lynnda July 09, 2007

Loved it! Thanks for the recommendation of cutting back on the soy sauce and adding a bit of water. I had to leave out the green peppers and onions but added chopped mushrooms and squash. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KDSASmith April 11, 2007

I would not make this recipe again. While I enjoyed the chicken and walnut combination, there are problems with the sauce. I cut back on the soy sauce to 3 T. like most reviewers advised, but that didn't solve the problem completely. There is only about 1/3 cup sauce in the entire recipe, and it became very thick and strong-tasting. I'd advise comparing other sauces to see if there is a better ratio of ingredients.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin'Diva March 08, 2007

Good sauce. I kind of cheated. I swung by our local Chineese take out and picked up some Vegetable Chow Mein and Rice. Then I used the recipe to make the sauce with chicken and walnuts. Put it all together and quite a tasty dish. Also, I used light soy sauce which worked out perfect. So if you are looking for a good sauce then this is a good recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
memphisvb January 23, 2007

Great easy recipe! I'm glad I looked at other reviews and cut back on the soy sauce,as I'm not too crazy about all that sodium.I added some diagonal sliced celery to the veggies.Pea pods would be good also. Thanks Kimke!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
redwine January 21, 2007

Haven"t tried making it< but it does sound good !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tamkanatrafiq January 19, 2007

Thanks for all the tips on this recipe, I cut the soy sauce to 2T. & used 4T. water to make up for it. And didn't use any salt. Turned out very good. If you want more soy you can always add it at the table. Better to have less than too much a ruin the entire dish. Very easy to make & nice presentation. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carol G. February 19, 2005

I made this dish and we enjoyed it very much. I didn't add the salt, and also cut back on the soy sauce I used only 3 T. Thanks for the warning Geema, because it is plenty salty and the soy sauce didn't over-power the other flavors! I loved the texture the walnuts add. Both my boys (8 & 9) asked for seconds. My husband is a chinese food addict and he said he never had it before, and would like it again. I served it over Lo Mein noodles. My only complaint was that there weren't any leftovers for lunch the next day!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorri Nichols June 15, 2003

Kimke! So glad I gave this a try, it was just what I was hungry for. The seasings were perfect and it was an easy recipe! I had to cut down on onions because I'm allergic to them but they added such a nice flavor. I'm going to make this again today! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
windywood June 15, 2003

My DH and I had a difficult time eating this dish because it was so salty from the soy sauce, and we really couldn't taste the other flavors very well. I am not usually sensitive to salt either, and generally use it liberally. I think this dish would have been better with half the amount of soy. The combination of the pepper, chicken and walnuts was really wonderful, the method easy,and I fully intend to make this again with much less soy sauce. I'll return for an updated review when I do.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Geema May 22, 2003
Chicken and Walnuts