16 Reviews

This recipe is a "5 Stars Plus" rated meal. If I could add a few more stars I would! I love Chinese Congee/Jook/Chok and this recipe is one of the best I have ever had. It is creamy, smooth, tasty but not over powering with seasonings. Plus the chicken was tender as well. It is the perfect meal for a cold winters day here in the Northeastern part of the USA. Great Recipe... from a special Singapore cook!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Skipper/Sy February 24, 2003

I've made this several times already. I usually halve the recipe because the original is quite large. Our family can't take spicy well, so I only put one teaspoon of white pepper instead of a tablespoon. For this recipe, white pepper is definitely better than black pepper.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
audwinst February 20, 2004

Oh, yuuuummmm! I had no idea what Congee (Chok) was and now I'm a fan. It came together just as directed and was so flavorful. Can't wait to make it again, I think I can do an even better job, now that I know what's what.I'm sure I can make it even creamier by more closely following the instructions-stir, stir, stir. I was fairly certain that I'm too wimpy to deal with that much pepper so I cut it in half and that was just about right for me. Congee reminds me a lot of etoufee gravy, just a bit thicker.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea October 01, 2003

If dried scallops is something either expensive or difficult to find in your area. You can substitute it with chicken bones. What it does is sweeten the porridge. Gives it more flavour. Do remove the bones before serving though :).

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenManiac May 20, 2003

Thank goodness I found this recipe because I wanted to make a congee buffet for a party and this recipe turned out spectacularly well! A chef who was invited told me it was the best congee he ever ate, and in this country, authentic congee restaurants are all over the place so that's really saying something :) My mother in law was sceptical at first but after they tried it, my whole family loves it. Thank you so much for sharing the recipe! Oh and a tip - we make a bean and pork paste side dish and people just add it to the congee and it's the perfect addition even though the dish is super tasty on its own!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anna.price2008 August 15, 2015

My family loves this recipe. I couldn't find the dried scallops and so after marinating, I deboned the thighs and added the bones when I poured the rice into the pot. I didn't need to add an additional 2 cups boiling water when I added the chicken because there was enough water to cook the chicken since it was now boneless. I wonder if it would be better to shred the chicken instead of serving it in large chunks? Also, my family prefers using black instead of white pepper because it gave a kick to the dish. I also served this with diced century eggs which I've seen served at hotel breakfast buffets.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sueisabel December 10, 2009

I've made this a few times now, good recipe! I don't use the broccoli or carrot though as I'm used to having it quite plain. Even my boyfriend liked it, and he's a picky eater!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dramacydal July 10, 2008

I liked it, but my husband didn't..thus leaving me with congee to last for a week for me alone to eat. He even said cooking the chicken for 15 mins isn't enough to cook it and said it was undone even if I cooked it for more than that time stated. So we compromised and rated it into 3.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pneuma November 24, 2007

Best congee I've ever made. I was a bit frustrated by how "non-specific" some of the ingredients were (a slice of ginger? how big a slice? 1"? 3"? 1/4"?) and a tablespoon of white pepper seemed AWFULLY much, but I confess, it's delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SheCooksToConquer October 02, 2007
Chicken and Vegetables Congee (Chok)