Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken and Vegetables Congee (Chok) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken and Vegetables Congee (Chok)

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on February 24, 2003

      This recipe is a "5 Stars Plus" rated meal. If I could add a few more stars I would! I love Chinese Congee/Jook/Chok and this recipe is one of the best I have ever had. It is creamy, smooth, tasty but not over powering with seasonings. Plus the chicken was tender as well. It is the perfect meal for a cold winters day here in the Northeastern part of the USA. Great Recipe... from a special Singapore cook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2004

      I've made this several times already. I usually halve the recipe because the original is quite large. Our family can't take spicy well, so I only put one teaspoon of white pepper instead of a tablespoon. For this recipe, white pepper is definitely better than black pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2003

      Oh, yuuuummmm! I had no idea what Congee (Chok) was and now I'm a fan. It came together just as directed and was so flavorful. Can't wait to make it again, I think I can do an even better job, now that I know what's what.I'm sure I can make it even creamier by more closely following the instructions-stir, stir, stir. I was fairly certain that I'm too wimpy to deal with that much pepper so I cut it in half and that was just about right for me. Congee reminds me a lot of etoufee gravy, just a bit thicker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2003

      If dried scallops is something either expensive or difficult to find in your area. You can substitute it with chicken bones. What it does is sweeten the porridge. Gives it more flavour. Do remove the bones before serving though :).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2012

    • on December 10, 2009

      My family loves this recipe. I couldn't find the dried scallops and so after marinating, I deboned the thighs and added the bones when I poured the rice into the pot. I didn't need to add an additional 2 cups boiling water when I added the chicken because there was enough water to cook the chicken since it was now boneless. I wonder if it would be better to shred the chicken instead of serving it in large chunks? Also, my family prefers using black instead of white pepper because it gave a kick to the dish. I also served this with diced century eggs which I've seen served at hotel breakfast buffets.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      I've made this a few times now, good recipe! I don't use the broccoli or carrot though as I'm used to having it quite plain. Even my boyfriend liked it, and he's a picky eater!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      I liked it, but my husband didn't..thus leaving me with congee to last for a week for me alone to eat. He even said cooking the chicken for 15 mins isn't enough to cook it and said it was undone even if I cooked it for more than that time stated. So we compromised and rated it into 3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      Best congee I've ever made. I was a bit frustrated by how "non-specific" some of the ingredients were (a slice of ginger? how big a slice? 1"? 3"? 1/4"?) and a tablespoon of white pepper seemed AWFULLY much, but I confess, it's delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2007

      a pretty authentic asian meal that's not too heavy but tastes good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2007

      This was my first time making congee, because I had some dental work done and couldn't eat anything hard because it hurt so much. I used chicken breast instead of thigh, I also put a bag of mixed veggies into it for a bit more color. And I like my stuff a little spicy so I added grated ginger into my bowl. My 1 year5 month old son gobbled it up too. This is a light and filling meal, good for dieting too. Thank you for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2006

      Great recipe and quite straight forward to follow. Had a heck of a time trying to find dried scallops so I had to make it without the seafood aspect :( None-the-less, it turned out quite well. Also, pay no attention to the number of servings off under Nutrition Facts. I had two servings last night and barely made a dent in what had to be at least two gallons of congee. I could probably sustain myself for a week on nothing but what this recipe yielded. I spoke w/ a friend from Taiwan and he said that this stuff stays good for a while. Traditionally I only keep foods for 3 days, any chance that you could give an estimate on how long this lasts? Especially since it's such a high yield recipe. Oh and she's not kidding when she says to stir it frequently. The rice sticks to the bottom of the pot VERY easily. Only make this if you can devote your full attention to it as it's cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2006

      I made this soup last night and it is outstanding. The recipe is easy to follow and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2006

      This congee is spectacularly tasty and the directions are very easy to follow. I tried congee for the first time at Sydney Airport, when I couldn't find anything else I could eat for breakfast. This version is far superior - I'm looking forward to congee for breakfast this week! Thanks KitchenManiac for sharing this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2005

      I've never had Congee (Chok). I'm glad I have now. This tastes great. My 15 month old gobbled it up. A great comfort food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken and Vegetables Congee (Chok)

    Serving Size: 1 (606 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 474.7
     
    Calories from Fat 171
    36%
    Total Fat 19.0 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 5.1 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 149.4 mg
    49%
    Sodium 556.0 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.3 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 25.2 g
    50%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dried scallops

    Chinese wine

    low-sodium worcestershire sauce

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes