12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great casserole! I used fresh spinach that I blanched for a few minutes and garlic salt, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. The bacon adds a nice flavor boost and the goes well with the chicken and spinach. This is packed with flavor and the cruncy French fried onions add nice texture.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missyb33 October 13, 2002

This is fantastic! Reheated well in the microwave. I left the bacon out. Even the finicky eater in the office loved it. Thanks for a great recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riffraff August 21, 2002

i made this and my husband loved it! we are always loo9king for ways to "hide" the vegtables from the kids. great dish!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jeana February 12, 2002

Sorry, but we didn't much care for this. I'll eat the leftovers since I hate to waste food, but don't think husband will eat again. Just seemed a bit bland. Sorry, but won't be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 August 05, 2010

Yummy recipe! I don't normally change things but I did this time... I used Hormel bacon bits instead of the bacon, fresh spinach, I added mushrooms like another reviewer and I used rotini (corkscrew pasta) instead of elbow because I had it. The biggest change though was instead of pre-cooking my pasta and chicken I just cooked it for an hour. I probably should have covered it the whole time while baking but I did the last half. (After 30 minutes I took it out and stirred it and then covered it). Much less work than pre-cooking the pasta and chicken.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenn1357911 July 08, 2009

Oh my, was this good! I had every intention of following the recipe but had to make some last minute changes to work with what I had on hand. I used fresh spinach instead of frozen, cream of chicken soup instead of cream of mushroom, and since I only had about 1/4 cup of sour cream I added about 4 oz of softened cream cheese. I had some last minute guests show up while I was preparing dinner so I had to figure out how to make the meal stretch. I had a little extra pasta but no more chicken so I added a 4 oz. can of mushroom and a 14 oz. can of diced tomatoes. This was so creamy and flavorful. This got rave reviews and I will be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RayMakMama March 16, 2009

Yum! Used fresh spinach instead of frozen, and just blended the mixture to get the 'dip' consistency. i didnt have bacon but next time will def use bacon. Will also add mushrooms and fresh basil next time. Might also try using cream of chicken soup insead of mushroom. very nice n easy recipe that can be varied to suit taste. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yummy Maz October 19, 2008

Made this for my sister's family and us for dinner...everyone went for seconds. Followed the recipe exactly...thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saxonct March 02, 2008

I was shocked to see all 3 of my kids chowing down on this, and my husband. It was pretty good. I made a few changes; I didnt use any bacon, and I didnt layer. I just threw everything together to save a little time. I didnt measure the sour cream, either. I just plopped some in with a spatula until it looked good. I only used a half pkg of spinach, bc thats what I had. I will probably make this again. It was easy to make, and tasted yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paige_kirk January 17, 2008

This was a good recipe and easy to make. I only used about 1/2 C of sour cream. Next time, I'll use more and less pasta....mine wasn't too creamy. Great way to use spinach! thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy Fielding October 13, 2007
Chicken and Spinach Pasta Casserole