Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken and Rice Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken and Rice Chowder

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on May 04, 2010

      This was good but for us it had too much thyme in it. Next time I would cut the thyme in half. I also added some cheddar to the soup to add more thickness and flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      This is a good soup that (in my opinion) needs to be just a bit richer. I added about 1 1/2 tbsp of butter and a 1/2 cup of sharp cheddar to get it how I liked it. The whole family really enjoyed it, and I'll definitely be making it again with those substitutions. It's a great way to use up leftovers. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      This soup is wonderful. It freezes beautifully (left out the milk until serving day). My children even asked for seconds. Very flavorful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      I prepared this soup differently, but it was still wonderful! I was a bit pushed for time, so I brought the broth & water to the boil, added frozen chicken tenderloins, and simmered, together with the seasonings & vegetables, until the chicken was tender. I then removed the chicken, and when it had cooled slightly, I shredded it and placed it back in the pot. I skipped step 2 altogether, but did add about a tablespoon of olive oil to the soup, as well as a culinary thickener. I then added the milk and rice, and simmered until the vegetables & rice were tender. We all enjoyed this soup, and I will definitely be making it again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      Sooooo, easy! The pan was licked clean..haha. The thyme is wonder ful in here!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      This is a must try. In the spirit of frugality, I used leftover turkey for chicken and one can of corn (drained) for the rice. The texture and taste were wonderful. I'm looking forward to trying it with chicken and rice next.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      Easy and delicious! All my picky eaters ate two bowls. I added a bit too much thyme so I was surprised the entire pot was wiped clean. This was great on a rainy day with some fresh bread, or if you're like me Pillsbury French loaf is quick and easy side. Thanks so much for posting. I will be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken and Rice Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (398 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 233.3
     
    Calories from Fat 46
    19%
    Total Fat 5.1 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 37.2 mg
    12%
    Sodium 659.6 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.9 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 21.5 g
    43%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes