Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken and Rice Casserole

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on January 25, 2003

      Simple to make, yummy and the BF liked it. All of the criteria for a 5 ***** review. I even tried it with cream of asparagus and it was great! I will make this many times,I am sure. Thanks for a great weeknight recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2014

      This is 5 star for pure ease! I was looking for something easy and this hit it! I did add more spices, some red pepper flakes and garlic powder, then I took a topping from a similar recipe and crumbled saltines and some crispy french onions on top for the uncovered 30 minutes. Thanks a ton for making my life easy tonight Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2011

      This was good! I think next time I make it I will cut up the chicken into cubes and mix it all together. The chicken was just a little too dry for me (I also used HUGE pieces of chicken..). But thanks for the recipe! We loved it. YUM

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      Thanks I needed a simple chicken and rice casserole. We enjoyed it the only thing we didn't have was onion soup mix I will try it w/ that next time. We doubled it and used 1 can cream of chicken and one can cream of mushroom and we added canned mushrooms and red pepper, celery and onions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      I am not sure if I did something wrong, but this didn't turn out too well. We don't care for mushrooms, so I omitted them. The rice did not cook thoroughly, and the dish was kind of dry. Perhaps the mushrooms add more liquid? Anyway, I added 15 more minutes and the rice was still hard, and the mixture was dry. I added 3/4 of a can of beef consume and stirred it into the rice and cooked for 20 minutes. This gave it more flavor and cooked the rice all the way through. That seemed to do the trick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2007

      This was good for a quick & easy week night supper. I thought it was a bit salty, which I suspect was due to the soup mix and not the cream of chicken . Next time, I'll use low sodium cream of chicken soup and/or cut down on the amount of soup mix that I use. Thanks for sharing, Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      This was different. I had never made a recipe that called for raw rice to be incorporated in the dish to be cooked. Was I pleasantly surprized. I grilled chicken drumsticks before placing on top of mixture of soups. I was out of mushroom but I substituted a can of mushroom soup. I served with spaghetti squash, and fresh garden beans. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2007

      This was very good. I used cream of muchroom soup because that's what I had on hand. I will make this many more times. It was so easy, yet yummy. Thanks, Barb, for shrong such a wonderful, easy dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2007

      This was a great recipe. The onion soup added a nice little kick. I had to double this so instead of using two cans of cream of chicken soup, I added one can of the chicken and a can of cream of mushroom with roasted garlic which was perfect because I didn't have any mushrooms on hand. I only used one package of the onion soup mix but it turned out great. And I used basmati rice. It was super easy to make and my kids ate it really fast. With some vegetables on the side and a salad it's a great comfort food type of meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2007

      I thought this was awesome. I ate a big giant plate of it and wanted more but my Dad ate it all up! I got to mix everything up and put it in the dish for cooking. I like the recipe because it is easy for me to make. One day I will make the whole thing myself for my family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2007

      Very easy and very good. I love the fact that you just throw everything together and toss it in the oven! Perfect for days you just do not want to cook! I added some leftover peas to ours and used boneless chicken thighs. I love the way it made the chicken taste! Great Recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2006

      Both my girls (2 and 4) loved this. I used two chicken thighs cut up small and a full packet of Maggi Onion Soup mix, 3/4 cup rice. The chicken soup was a smaller size, about 280g and instead of using water I used milk and a dash more than the tin size. Because I was cooking for my girls I skipped the mushrooms. This was devoured by both of them but I did manage to save half which I have frozen for a quick dinner to have on hand for them. Thanks for posting this will be used often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2006

      I followed the directions exactly as stated. The kids said they liked it, but my husband and I felt it was just too salty for our tastes. I will make it again using, reduced sodium soup. Also, after the 90 minutes some of the rice still wasn't cooked, so I had to add an additional 15 minutes to the cooking time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2005

      This was great! Very easy to make and absolutely delicious. I used Basmati rice and stirred in fresh sliced mushrooms and sliced celery for a little added texture. Definately a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2005

      This is a very tasty casserole. My DH usually does not like anything with rice in it but he really liked this. The flavors blended very well. I will be making this again soon. Rhanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2005

      Great recipe! Very simple to put together, and good for fussy kids. Next time I make it, I will add some seasonings to personal taste. This is a keeper for me, thank you for a wonderful recipe Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2005

      very good and very easy, my two favorite kinds of recipes. Both my kids loved it and that's not an easy result to achieve. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2004

      This was so good I even passed it on to my brother and his wife. They are what I would like to call "Chicken experts" They eat mostly chicken and white meat. They LOVED this recipe! Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2004

      I was going to submit this recipe, but this is very similar... my recipe calls for milk in place of water and mushroom soup in place of chicken...it is very tasty dish and easy to put together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken and Rice Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (423 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 504.8
     
    Calories from Fat 164
    32%
    Total Fat 18.3 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 5.2 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 98.9 mg
    32%
    Sodium 785.0 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.5 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 37.2 g
    74%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites