27 Reviews

This was an exception recipe. I did substitue cream of chicken for the mushrooms because I have kids who hate them (even little chunks). But I am sure it would have been delicious as is. I have a question for other posters however. Why give a recipe 3 stars when you don't make it like the Chef recommends? That doesn't seem right. If you change the recipe to the point that it is a completely different recipe, then just don't POST. That is just my opinion.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
burkehenry November 06, 2007

I had 3 chicken breasts I needed to use so I doubled the rest of the ingredients except the Soup Mix (still only used 1 packet) and added 2 small cans of sliced mushrooms. We liked the flavor of this a lot but the rice turned out kind of mushy...too soft for us. I don't know if I would like it a little better using long grain rice or if I could just turn my temp down to 350 and still cook for the 1 hour. We made broccoli on the side and next time will add chopped broccoli into the casserole itself. This was very fast to put together. My husband really liked it and he is not a big fan of chicken OR rice so that says something. We will make it again. Thanks for the recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catmaniacs October 21, 2009

This was really good and super easy to put together. I did not add the Lipton Recipe onion soup mix, as I was afraid it would overpower...(it usually does in other recipes I have tried).

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kewpiecyster September 21, 2009

wasn't a fan, the onion taste was to over powering

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
irish mommy 724 May 23, 2009

Loved it! Sooooo easy! The hubby loved it too. Great for an easy week night dinner. Some one said it was brown and not very appetizing. Its chicken, rice and soup, what color did you want it to be? Taste is what really matters and this ones a winner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Coffee Chick February 09, 2009

Cooked rice first. Cubed and sauteed chicken separately with Mrs dash and garlic salt. Doubled the recipe and combined with about 1/4 cup water, 2 cans cream of mushroom, 1 can cream of celery, leftovers from an 8 oz tub of cream cheese, a little milk, and then the soup mix and pepper. Turned out pretty good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MahnaMahna July 22, 2008

Yummy! Very easy and a nice crowd pleaser. Made just as the recipe stated. I will make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jdixon529 March 01, 2008

My 2 year old twins loved this. I did add 2 cups of frozen peas for color and to get another vegtable into our meal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
498414 September 10, 2007

I made this for dinner last night and was very pleased. It was very easy to put together and tasted good. I did add broccoli and some onion to it and used chicken broth in place of the water. I had some left-over rotissere chicken so I used that in place of the boneless, skinless chicken breasts. Thanks for posting such a quick and easy recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennifer.blake-somers March 29, 2007

Considering how easy this was, it was VERY good. To make it even easier, I used a 12 oz can of chicken. I also added a 16 oz bag of frozen broccoli and reduced the pepper. Will definitely make again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shana C February 26, 2007
Chicken and Rice Casserole