Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken and Rice Casserole

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on November 06, 2007

      This was an exception recipe. I did substitue cream of chicken for the mushrooms because I have kids who hate them (even little chunks). But I am sure it would have been delicious as is. I have a question for other posters however. Why give a recipe 3 stars when you don't make it like the Chef recommends? That doesn't seem right. If you change the recipe to the point that it is a completely different recipe, then just don't POST. That is just my opinion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2009

      I had 3 chicken breasts I needed to use so I doubled the rest of the ingredients except the Soup Mix (still only used 1 packet) and added 2 small cans of sliced mushrooms. We liked the flavor of this a lot but the rice turned out kind of mushy...too soft for us. I don't know if I would like it a little better using long grain rice or if I could just turn my temp down to 350 and still cook for the 1 hour. We made broccoli on the side and next time will add chopped broccoli into the casserole itself. This was very fast to put together. My husband really liked it and he is not a big fan of chicken OR rice so that says something. We will make it again. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      This was really good and super easy to put together. I did not add the Lipton Recipe onion soup mix, as I was afraid it would overpower...(it usually does in other recipes I have tried).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2009

      wasn't a fan, the onion taste was to over powering

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      Loved it! Sooooo easy! The hubby loved it too. Great for an easy week night dinner. Some one said it was brown and not very appetizing. Its chicken, rice and soup, what color did you want it to be? Taste is what really matters and this ones a winner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2008

      Cooked rice first. Cubed and sauteed chicken separately with Mrs dash and garlic salt. Doubled the recipe and combined with about 1/4 cup water, 2 cans cream of mushroom, 1 can cream of celery, leftovers from an 8 oz tub of cream cheese, a little milk, and then the soup mix and pepper. Turned out pretty good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2008

      Yummy! Very easy and a nice crowd pleaser. Made just as the recipe stated. I will make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2007

      My 2 year old twins loved this. I did add 2 cups of frozen peas for color and to get another vegtable into our meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2007

      I made this for dinner last night and was very pleased. It was very easy to put together and tasted good. I did add broccoli and some onion to it and used chicken broth in place of the water. I had some left-over rotissere chicken so I used that in place of the boneless, skinless chicken breasts. Thanks for posting such a quick and easy recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2007

      Considering how easy this was, it was VERY good. To make it even easier, I used a 12 oz can of chicken. I also added a 16 oz bag of frozen broccoli and reduced the pepper. Will definitely make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2007

      This recipe was excellent! The only changes I made were to add broccoli and omit the onion soup mix. It took very little time to throw together. This casserole came out very moist and melted in our mouth. This will definitely be added to our regular list of menu items! -Red Mom

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2003

      Monie I'm sorry to give your family favorite so few stars but we didn't love this dish. I made it as per the recipe, it was easy and economical to prepare and the end result is quite a large casserole. However I found the dish quite bland, I added some chopped spring onions and grated cheddar cheese to my plate which helped and if I was to make this dish again I would definately add a sauted onion, perhaps some capsicum (and broccoli as suggested)and maybe some hot sauce or other seasonings. I also wasn't crazy about the texture, which I found a bit gluggy. It was quite edible, and I imagine that if you have picky kids who don't like anything spicy - with a bit of cheese added before serving they would probably enjoy it. Thanks for taking the time to submit though Monie, and hopefully I'll have better luck with your Spanish Casserole which looks delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2011

      This was wonderful and full of flavor. My family loved it and asked when I was going to make again,
      tyvm for sharing with us :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2010

    • on October 08, 2009

      I have to agree with irish mommy, the onion flavor was very overpowering. My kids wouldn't touch this one. Next time I would probably use half o the lipton soup mix and add some additional veggies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      This was okay - not great. It was all the same color - brown - Not very appetizing. The flavor was okay, but nothing special. Not bad, but not a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      great recipe! i did just as the recipe said only i addded fresh sliced mushrooms the last 5 minutes i added mozzarella cheese it turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      I often post after making something even after just using as a base. It gives the chef some feedback & gives other users ideals on how to make it theirs. All recipes are meant to be used and most make it their own by using this method. With this recipe I would use canned chicken and rice out of my rice maker because minute rice is expensive.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      I love the ease and taste of this recipe. My only problem was that at the end of the baking period the rice was still very soupy. I followed the recipe to a T and had to bake it another 15 minutes. Since I seem to be the only one with this problem I'm wondering if I had the correct oven temperature. Will definitely try again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2007

      This is a easy recipe but I have made a similar dish by just making rice and adding chicken, soup, and cheese. I didn't have any onion soup so I used the power mix for ranch dressing which really gives it a kick. I will make this again but will probably wind up doing it the way I've done it before. You could also probably used canned chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken and Rice Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (196 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 291.2
     
    Calories from Fat 95
    32%
    Total Fat 10.6 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 43.8 mg
    14%
    Sodium 1139.6 mg
    47%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.2 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 17.4 g
    34%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Lipton Recipe Secrets onion soup mix

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes