Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken and Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken and Rice

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on March 02, 2008

      My husband said that he "love love loved the rice!" And I'll have to admit, the rice was pretty good, although I thought it was a bit lacking in flavor... I will be making this again, since the husband loved it so, but I might experiment a bit in adding a touch more flavor... Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2006

      Couldn't have been easier, I had all of the ingredients on hand. The chicken was so moist and tasted great. I doubled it and used 1 can of cream of chicken and 1 can of cream of mushroom because that's what I had. I also used chicken broth instead of water. I used chiken breasts and it cooked for about a hour and a 1/2. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2011

      The rice was really great! I thin the chicken needed a bit more flavor...next time I'd pan fry it w/some chicken seasoning before adding to casserole. We used 2 boneless skinless breasts cut into bite size pieces and cooked it for 45 minutes...turned out tender and juicy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2010

      Wow. This was so simple to make and was even tastier than I thought it would be. I mixed half the packet of soup mix in with the rice and sprinkled the other half over the chicken. I also used brown Minute rice and a can of cheddar cheese soup because that's all we had. I used three pieces of chicken and left in the oven for only 45 minutes. The chicken was moist, juicy, and done just right. My hubs isn't a fan of onion soup mix, but he loved this! Even my 15 month old couldn't get enough of the delicious rice!! Thanks for another "keeper" recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      This was SO delicious! Two little things I did differently: I sprinkled a little of the onion soup mix over the rice before putting my chicken over it and I also took off the foil the last 30 mins to brown the chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      We love this! We did a little variation with ideas from some similar recipes on here: We cut the chicken into little cubes and marinated them with a little olive oil, poultry seasoning, garlic and paprika and then browned them in the skillet before adding them to the casserole dish. I also made the rice ahead of time because I wanted to use a flavored rice. We used Trader Joe's wild and Basmati rice. We also added some frozen/thawed peas, carrots and corn. Then we sprinkled 1/2 of the onion soup inside and half on top, with a handful of French's crunchy onions. Didn't have to cook as long, since the chicken was partly cooked and the rice was fully cooked. This was so good. I went back for leftovers the next day, only to find that DH had eaten all of the leftovers as a midnight snack!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      My husband loves chicken and rice but I knew I couldn't make it like my grandmother used to. He loves this recipe and eats it all up. I've made it at least 10 times now, decided to finally post review. I think it's easy to assemble, just takes a while to bake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      We LOVE this in my house...its my husband's absolute favorite! I did adjust the cooking time though. I cook my chicken halfway in a skillet with a little butter and some chicken seasoning before adding it to the rest. Its less baking time and adds a little more flavor. I mix the onion soup mix into my casserole as well (if my husband knew it was in there he wouldn't eat it). Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2009

      Finally, a chicken and rice dish with flavor! I satuteed chicken breasts in olive oil and butter to brown up a bit and sear. They were very moist after baking. I used 1/2 envelope of onion soup mix (to keep the sodium content lower) and I baked less than 60 minutes. Bake time will depend on the thickness of our chicken breasts. Very good and a thumbs up from the kids! Thanks Jen! Originally reviewed 10/08 and revised 2/09.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      Just awful to eat - only DH could finish his. The chicken is incredibly salty due to the onion soup on top. The rice was texturally off, and the temp and time to cook are COMPLETELY wrong for boneless chicken breasts. I'd check the chicken at 40-45 minutes with an instant read thermometer to check for doneness. I purposely chose this recipe to cook in the time it takes me to pick DH up from work - 1 1/2 hours later and the chicken was beyond dry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2008

      good flavor, but, i must have used the wrong kind of rice or should have used more water - it didn't get fully cooked, and stayed semi-crunchy. i cooked it in my crock pot on high for about 4 or 5 hours. i also added a can of sliced mushrooms

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2008

      my family really enjoyed the tasty favior. ;0)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2007

      This was very good. I put it in the oven and then we went for a drive in the country. An hour and a half later, when we came home, dinner was waiting for us. I added canned sliced mushrooms. Thanks for sharing such an easy meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2006

      Is it supposed to be 2 hours baking time?? The rice was stuck to the bottom of the pan and the chicken was EXTREMELY dry! We barely could finish what was on our plates and threw away what was left. Next time, if there is one, I will lessen it to maybe 1 hr baking time

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2006

      This was absolutely delicious and I, like some of the other cooks, changed things a bit due to what we had on hand! I used regular long grain rice, I mixed one packet of onion soup mix in with the rice and I diced up the chicken and threw another packet of onion soup mix on top and it is out of this world!!! I have a 3 year old daughter who has multiple handicaps and she is a SUPER picky eater and she kept signing for MORE PLEASE!!! I am impressed... everything I make is made around Emma and if she will eat it or not!! Thank you for the great recipe and for taking the stress off of a single mom with a brain damaged 3 year old!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2006

      Very tasty and easy to make. I put half the onion soup mix in the rice and half on top and it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2006

      I think I would have liked it more had I seasoned the rice mixture with a packet of onion soup in addition to the onion soup that is poured over the chicken (that part was really really tasty). Unless I got a bite of rice with the onion seasoning from the chicken, I felt it was a bit on the bland and mushy side. I took heed to the other poster who mentioned the rice stuck to the bottom of the pan and I'm glad I did. I checked at 90 minutes and it was just starting to stick to the bottom. I cut open a piece of chicken chicken and it was done. I threw it in for another 10 minutes just in case the chicken wasn't really done (I'm freaky about that). I wish I had pulled it out at 90 minutes. The chicken breasts could have been more moist and I think that is b/c I stuck it in there for those extra 10 minutes. I used chicken breasts and boneless/skinless thighs and the thighs were perfect - juicy and tender. I also think I will make this with only thighs next time. Very easy meal and perfect with some tweaks! I also think I'll use regular rice as a few of the other posters did and increase the liquids. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2006

    • on March 26, 2006

      Thanks for the recipe, we really enjoyed it. I diced the chicken and mixed together with the rice and soup. Great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2006

      Surprisingly good! I must admit that despite all the wonderful reviews, I was weary as I don't usually like these types of dishes. But I seasoned the chicken and sprinkled like 1/4 of the onion soup mix on top and it was delish! Only recommendation is to add more rice. Wasn't enough rice for me! Thanks for the great easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken and Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (299 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 724.9
     
    Calories from Fat 380
    52%
    Total Fat 42.3 g
    65%
    Saturated Fat 12.1 g
    60%
    Cholesterol 193.6 mg
    64%
    Sodium 1498.3 mg
    62%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 50.9 g
    101%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites