32 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My husband said that he "love love loved the rice!" And I'll have to admit, the rice was pretty good, although I thought it was a bit lacking in flavor... I will be making this again, since the husband loved it so, but I might experiment a bit in adding a touch more flavor... Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Lumpy March 02, 2008

Couldn't have been easier, I had all of the ingredients on hand. The chicken was so moist and tasted great. I doubled it and used 1 can of cream of chicken and 1 can of cream of mushroom because that's what I had. I also used chicken broth instead of water. I used chiken breasts and it cooked for about a hour and a 1/2. Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeidiSue February 08, 2006

The rice was really great! I thin the chicken needed a bit more flavor...next time I'd pan fry it w/some chicken seasoning before adding to casserole. We used 2 boneless skinless breasts cut into bite size pieces and cooked it for 45 minutes...turned out tender and juicy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookingWahoo June 26, 2011

Wow. This was so simple to make and was even tastier than I thought it would be. I mixed half the packet of soup mix in with the rice and sprinkled the other half over the chicken. I also used brown Minute rice and a can of cheddar cheese soup because that's all we had. I used three pieces of chicken and left in the oven for only 45 minutes. The chicken was moist, juicy, and done just right. My hubs isn't a fan of onion soup mix, but he loved this! Even my 15 month old couldn't get enough of the delicious rice!! Thanks for another "keeper" recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whiskerlickens November 04, 2010

This was SO delicious! Two little things I did differently: I sprinkled a little of the onion soup mix over the rice before putting my chicken over it and I also took off the foil the last 30 mins to brown the chicken.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Classy Gal March 17, 2010

We love this! We did a little variation with ideas from some similar recipes on here: We cut the chicken into little cubes and marinated them with a little olive oil, poultry seasoning, garlic and paprika and then browned them in the skillet before adding them to the casserole dish. I also made the rice ahead of time because I wanted to use a flavored rice. We used Trader Joe's wild and Basmati rice. We also added some frozen/thawed peas, carrots and corn. Then we sprinkled 1/2 of the onion soup inside and half on top, with a handful of French's crunchy onions. Didn't have to cook as long, since the chicken was partly cooked and the rice was fully cooked. This was so good. I went back for leftovers the next day, only to find that DH had eaten all of the leftovers as a midnight snack!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MontereyMadi January 13, 2010

My husband loves chicken and rice but I knew I couldn't make it like my grandmother used to. He loves this recipe and eats it all up. I've made it at least 10 times now, decided to finally post review. I think it's easy to assemble, just takes a while to bake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jmaddoxnp December 30, 2009

We LOVE this in my house...its my husband's absolute favorite! I did adjust the cooking time though. I cook my chicken halfway in a skillet with a little butter and some chicken seasoning before adding it to the rest. Its less baking time and adds a little more flavor. I mix the onion soup mix into my casserole as well (if my husband knew it was in there he wouldn't eat it). Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJackson May 13, 2009

Finally, a chicken and rice dish with flavor! I satuteed chicken breasts in olive oil and butter to brown up a bit and sear. They were very moist after baking. I used 1/2 envelope of onion soup mix (to keep the sodium content lower) and I baked less than 60 minutes. Bake time will depend on the thickness of our chicken breasts. Very good and a thumbs up from the kids! Thanks Jen! Originally reviewed 10/08 and revised 2/09.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagoland Chef du Jour February 19, 2009

Just awful to eat - only DH could finish his. The chicken is incredibly salty due to the onion soup on top. The rice was texturally off, and the temp and time to cook are COMPLETELY wrong for boneless chicken breasts. I'd check the chicken at 40-45 minutes with an instant read thermometer to check for doneness. I purposely chose this recipe to cook in the time it takes me to pick DH up from work - 1 1/2 hours later and the chicken was beyond dry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Couperine October 28, 2008
Chicken and Rice