26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I intended on preparing this recipe, but forgot it was for the crock pot, so I made it on the stove when I got home from work. I used all the ingredients listed except for the salt, plus 2 additional cups of chicken broth since I figured it would boil down a bit on the stove. I used a 10 oz package of frozen Reames wide noodles, and broke 4 left over lasagne noodles in the mixture as well. I cooked it on the stove for about 40 minutes. Very nice comfort food dish; a bit salty. Next time I will use sodium free chicken brother in addtion,

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 May 26, 2009

This was a really good, comforting soup! I added a bay leaf, parsley, garlic powder, and black pepper to the broth to give it some extra flavor. I also added frozen mixed vegetables when I added the noodles. I really liked the addition of cream of chicken soup, it made the broth sligtly creamy and very delicious. My only complaint is that the noodles were a bit soggy, so next time I won't leave them in for the whole 30 minutes. Thanks for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnnetteM January 07, 2009

This was a good starting base, but it was pretty bland. I added a bay leaf, celery seed, onion powder, garlic powder and pepper. I also added some frozen peas and carrots the same time I added the noodles. Still needed something, probably would add some onion and celery next time and use fresh veggies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather M. September 09, 2013

Thank you for such a simle recipe. I volunteer at a center for life controlling addictions and I never know what food will be available to prepare when I walk in. Your recipe was a hit!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
map@tc December 04, 2011

I found this very bland, even after seasoning, and the noodles were very mushy after 30 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u May 26, 2011

I have done this recipe for years, I use a whole roasting chicken and put in broth the night before and next day when chicken done take out debone and put back in crockpot and when time to put noodles in I put a 1/2 to 1 tsp of yellow food coloring, reminds me of my Mom's homemake but I have had many requests for this as they think I took all day making these noodles, especially if you can find Mrs Kluski noodles as they are not so perfectly cut. But just great as everyone will love love them

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
clcoakley1 September 06, 2010

Yum!! I could eat this every day! All I add is frozen carrots, yum! Thank you for sharing this easy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hoosierthought April 27, 2010

We love this! It is definitely a staple in our family! I serve it with country style biscuts and honey. Awesome!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kamocean April 15, 2010

This was a pretty good recipe but I thought it was little bland. My crockpot doesn't bring liquids to a good boil on high so I had to to transfer the noodles to another pan and cook the noodles on the stove.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dbrenny@mchsi.com February 09, 2009

I made this with about 3 1/2 cups of leftover rotisserie chicken ( Garlic Butter flavor ) and about 3 TBSP of Butter, everything else was the same, and it turned out great. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoveToBake67 January 03, 2009
Chicken and Noodles (Crock Pot)